We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 385: English reviews
Toulouse, France
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Near all the locations to visit, sleeping on a boat was one of the top items of our stay in Stockholm. The room is a boat cabin so it is not the largest, but it is part of the magic. The breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaerned
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Knowing nothing about this area of Stockholm and on my first solo trip to Stockholm, I trusted Trip Advisor and they did not disappoint. The service is outstanding, the atmosphere unique and genuine. Details mean quite a bit to those who travel often, and this group manages them well. Within an easy walk to Central Station as well as Gamla...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaBStockholm1
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel- a solid 3 Star Hotel. The cabins are clean, the furniture is a bit old, but that makes it more quaint. The bathroom is newly renovated and very clean and modern, although you cannot control the water temperature. Don’t let kids shower here as the water can be freezing cold and scalding hot without touching the dial. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KHambright
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location top. Very friendly staff. Nice food but I prefer a more various menu. Good and plentiful breakfast. Near to all services and good start point to view all the city. Too expensive wine and vodka...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bfabiob
Malardrottningen, Receptionschef at Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time and writing to us here. We are happy to hear that your stay was on the whole positive. It is a shame that we cannot do anything about the Gamla Stan wine prices but hopefully you had a chance to explore the rest of beautiful Stockholm. Best wishes, -The Mälardrottningen Crew

Toronto
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Stockholm, and is about a 10-minute walk from the Central Station. Hotel check-in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly. We stayed in a room with a sea view. We had two large windows facing out to the water which was lovely. The room was small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesbeaches88
Malardrottningen, Receptionschef at Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, First of all, thank you very much for your wonderful and insightful feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and those are some ace tips regarding how to best deal with our somewhat compact bathrooms. To be honest, we should really consider just putting flip flops in all the bathrooms for...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very close to the city centre and Gamla Stan. Very friendly staffs. Lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was nothing special, but it was nice to eat on the ship. My room was small but enough comfortable. Good VFM.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marusakia
Malardrottningen, Receptionschef at Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time sending us your honest and positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Best wishes, -The Mälardrottningen Crew

Valladolid, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you don't mind the narrowness of a ship cabin, this is a really good place to stay in the center of Stockholm. I was worry about cold in the middle of January. But the room was adequately provided to be warm and pleasant. Nice atmosphere. Good breakfast. Extremely helpful staff. The wooden floors creak a little when people walks....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank art927
Malardrottningen, Receptionschef at Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, First of all, thank you very much for your positive and insightful feedback. We appreciate you taking your time writing to us and we are very happy to hear that your stay was such a pleasant one. We are aware that the ship does make a lot of noise, even when quiet but we would liek to think that...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a converted yacht with smallish state rooms, a great restaurant and awesome location. It is anchored on a small island off the old city island of Gamlan Stan. Easy walking distance to the royal palace, and the shops, restaurants and museums of the old city. Breakfast upstairs in the restaurant is about as good as such things get,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry B
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I visited Malardrottningen for 1 night, together with a friend of mine. The location of the ship is good and also just a 5 minute walk to the next metro station. The rooms are also okay, very small but clean. If you have one big luggage it is already hard to manage it without looking your way. The toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Franziska W
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I stayed here on a solo trip in November. At first , I thought there were a few quirks that might put me off to the hotel. Being a converted cruise ship, the berths are a bit narrow . I had the bunk bed setup which was suprisingl VERY comfortable. The room windows did not fully seal but upon speaking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markessak

835 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (646)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (147)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (284)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Single Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Bunk Room (13)
Viewed
Twin Bunk Room Seaview (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
1,661 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 158 in Stockholm
607 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#90 of 158 in Stockholm
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#84 of 158 in Stockholm
212 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
514 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 158 in Stockholm
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen

Neighbourhood Profile
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Gamla Stan is Stockholm’s historic old town and home to the Swedish Royal Palace. It’s the most central island of Stockholm and accompanied by the small island of Riddarholmen, mainly known for its famous Riddarholm Church. Gamla Stan tends to be a bit touristy at times but is definitely worth visiting: take a stroll past the well-preserved buildings and through the small (and also Sweden’s narrowest) alleys, which will make you feel like you’ve travelled back in time. This neighborhood offers a great combination of historical buildings and traditional Swedish restaurants.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Price Range: RM379 - RM664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid bow state rooms, very small.”
 of 5 bubbles hallsoncape, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best views of old Stockholm,”
 of 5 bubbles veresskatalin, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great novelty hotel. Don't stay here if you want to hang out in your room though, the rooms are much too small unless you get a big suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Spidermonkeyfx, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a cabin facing the water, not Gamla Stan.”
  • Porthole view side facing away from Gamla Stan
 of 5 bubbles meimm3, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose water side view.”
 of 5 bubbles NewJerseyHannah, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5