We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is very close to Karlaplan metro station which makes it easy to get around and adjacent to a small shopping mall of about 30 shops. The hotel looks quite grand with steps up the front, no idea what you do if you cannot manage steps? The reception staff were typically friendly Swedish and very helpful. Ok, the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulbH7583FB
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for a well-written review! I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and that the staff were friendly. However I apologize for the lack of storage in some of the rooms. We will look into this and try to find a solution for clothes that doesn't take that much of space. Even though you wrote that...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice hotel for tourists if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room. It's very reasonably priced and it's in a nice area of Stockholm. By "nice," I mean, a really good, upscale neighborhood. It's right up the street from Karlavagen which I'd compare to Park Avenue in New York City. It's not...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taj280
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a well-written review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that the breakfast exceeded your expectations. Just as you wrote we have different room categories and offer larger rooms. I am very glad to read that you would stay with us again, you are most welcome back to Stockholm and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stockholm at Christmas is a joy to behold! Soft white lighted candles and stars in every window, classy evergreen decorations and snow underfoot glittering like a million diamonds. Tall, monumental, historic brick buildings lining the wide streets of Oestermalm of which The Best Western Karlaplan is a wonderful example. Up the red carpet covered steps into the brilliantly lit lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane d
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Jane, It is an absolute joy to read your review! Besides being well-written it is informative and fun to read. Thank you so much for this excellent review and star rating to us, we appreciate it a lot. I wish you a Happy New year and hope you will come back to us next Christmas and enjoy Stockholm once...

Caserta, Italy
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I stayed at this hotel for business trip. Position: very good! 3 minutes from the metro station! Rooms: Just the space to move around the bed... Breakfast: good! Reception: very available and helpful. WiFi Connection: free and good quality!! Cleaning: Perfect in the toilette, a bit less in the room!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank darksasy83
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a well-written review about your stay with us! Welcome back to us again! Regards, Patrick Hotel Manager

Reviewed 26 November 2016

I have never encountered such dirty room. Hair all over the bathroom and impossible to miss for the housekeeping staff. I booked a quite cheap room and for that price i dont except much but clean with a comfy bed was my expectation..... the bed was outdated and probably the worst i have slept in at a hotel.... How this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rickard E
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Rickard, Thank you for your review! Once again I am very sorry that your room was lacking cleaning. That is of course not acceptable for us and that is why we offered you an upgraded room with 50 % discount. I am glad that you are willing to give us another chance and hope you will enjoy your new...

Paris, France
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I still cannot belive that I have paid the equivalent of more than 200 Euros for this small depressing, ugly bedroom with very basic facilities. This hotel clearly does not deserve its 4 stars. This so called "superior" room not only had the worst taste furniture, but also not even any drawer or board for cloth, Bathrooms amenities were 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 26jeanlouis
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about your stay. I am very sorry that you feel your stay was overpriced. As we work with dynamic pricing (like most hotels do) the prices can vary a lot depending on day of the week and demand in Stockholm. You was unfortunate to stay on a day when the demand was...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I like these hotels which has a odd floor-plan and where can assume all rooms are different. The winding corridor to the room even has odd steps up and down... I got a small room in the basement with really high ceiling and windows high up on the wall facing inwards. A big plus was the window opened, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psjofors
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you for a well-written review. We appreciate your feedback as it makes us better. Regarding the power sockets we are actually looking into installing more sockets in the rooms and this project should be done within the next month. Welcome back! Regards, Patrick Hotel Manager

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bj_rnm329
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Single room 1 night. The pros: Location, situated near Karlaplan subway station, the hotel is located in a back street of one of Stockholm's more upmarket inner city suburbs Östermalm. As such you can have a quiet nights sleep and still be within walking distance of the crowds. The room itself was neat and tidy adhering to a boutique style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilt m
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing such a well written review. I appreciate your comments as they are important in my work. I am glad you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable sleep. Regarding toothpaste and toothbrush that is available at the front desk but I can understand why someone would want the little bottles. Your analys...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were helpful and assisted us throughout the day and night. There is a kettle, hairdryer and television in the (a bit small) but nice rooms. There wasn't a wardrobe in our room but there was space to hang clothes. Breakfast was lovely. There was a range of cooked food, pancakes, pastries, breads and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary L
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you very much for your lovely review and nice words. Me and my staff really appreciate your comments. Welcome back to us any time soon! Warm Regards, Patrick Hotel Manager

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Norrmalm
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
#86 of 159 in Stockholm
472 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#43 of 159 in Stockholm
278 reviews
Norrmalm
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Royal Star
#91 of 159 in Stockholm
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ostermalm

Neighbourhood Profile
Ostermalm
With its high-end shopping facilities and Michelin-starred restaurants, Östermalm is definitely the poshest part of central Stockholm. Here you will find Stockholm’s most majestic residential buildings, a beautiful market hall from 1888 displaying gourmet foods from around the world and the Swedish Royal Dramatic Theatre with its awe-inspiring architecture. At night, legendary nightclubs make the perfect location to observe the natives (and those aspiring to become natives of this exclusive neighborhood) in their natural habitat and to enjoy the latest produce of the Swedish house music scene.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Address: Skeppargatan 82, Stockholm S-114 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Price Range: RM357 - RM1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hotel Karlaplan staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Autofill
Newcastle Upon Tyne
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hotel Karlaplan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware of the storage problems that I mention in the description,”
 of 5 bubbles paulbH7583FB, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are inevitably quieter. Incidentally the beds are blissfully comfortable but if you want soft pillows you need to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room in the basement states without window bit actually it has a window but unreachable but still you can sed something outside”
 of 5 bubbles rockysanpedro, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are tiny, request a large room with windows”
 of 5 bubbles Plumesie, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with openable windows (i.e. not the "economy" basement room)”
 of 5 bubbles emmacgordon, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay