We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Karlstad City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Karlstad City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Karlstad City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 286kristofferk
Patras, Greece
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Scandic Karlstad City is a great option to stay while in Karlstad. It is well located in the city center, quite and value for money. The breakfast includes a lot of options and is served in a nice atmosphere. The stuff is very friendly and professional. Overall, I had a nice experience staying there for four nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgios_trip
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms, nice staff and roomy bar areas. Could easily have served breakfast at an earlier time than 07:30 am on sundays. Centraly located in the city centre. Went there for a sporting event, and since we booked several rooms we were given a discount.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William H
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Great location for walking to see the shops small grocery store and found great Beer, Wine, & Liquor store with a huge selection. Great shops on the same street that the hotels is on. Nice clean hotel with a great air conditioner unlike some of the hotels so far. Food average, service about the same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Stayed here with a tour group. The room was fairly spacious with a comfortable. I got a great night's sleep due to the comfortable bed and the quietness of the hotel. HOWEVER: This hotel features elevator hell. The elevators only hold 3 people!! Sometimes fewer depending upon whether other patrons packed the kitchen sink. Plus, you have to insert your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
LYON
Reviewed 11 March 2016

The Hotel is down town which is a good thing. It look's nice outside and also in the reception area. The breakfast was fine with a lot of choice. The bed room was nice and clean The bed mattress was ok. The guy at the bar was very friendly and hese cocktails were excellent. The diner was fine and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank levoyageur69
Stockholm
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We stayed,a family of four, in a family room. The room was spacious, but a bit worn down. Staff was very friendly, but simple routines did not seem to work.In our room two lights were broken,one with the plug broken. And no one had noticed. We got a replacement, but so weak that the entire sitting area was left in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonas P
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for writing about your stay with us. Sorry to hear everything was not as expected. Hope to see you soon again so that we can show that we can do better.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We had booked family room for 4 persons. First of all beds was not made for 4 - there was only bedding for 3 persons. Room has a lot noise so we had to get new room. Cleaning on hallway and rooms were very poor. Drinking glasses in room was dirty. Arrived Sunday afternoon and was told that restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your visit wasn´t as expected. We always aim to have a clean hotel and rooms. Our restaurant and bar is closed on Sundays, sorry you didn´t get that information. I hope you can consider staying with us again if visiting Karlstad , so that we can show that we can do better. Happy new year!

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Second ime at this hotel. Last time here was in march 2015. Does not feel like the same hotel. Staff still friendly and lobby looks nice. Quick check in as last time. Did not use the overpriced indoor garage this time, plenty of parkingplaces way cheaper around the corner. Scandic city surprised us this time with a runed down look....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mranderz
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. That helps us to get better. Sorry to hear your stay wasn´t as expected. We always aim to have a clean hotel. We will of course look into what went wrong. We do hope you come see us again. Happy new year!

Sundsvall
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Second time stay here, nice location. Quite place. Decent gym, sauna and jacuzzi. Plenty of place to chat with friends if do not want to stay in room. Omelet on Wednesday breakfast is great. A little bit old decoration in room but ok in my mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duanran
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your thoughts about our hotel. Come see us soon again! Have a lovely day.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.4 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.4 km away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
535 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
286 reviews
0.4 km away
Good Morning Karlstad City
Good Morning Karlstad City
#10 of 18 in Karlstad
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Swedish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Scandic Karlstad City

Address: 4 Drottninggatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Price Range: RM500 - RM952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Karlstad City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karlstad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Karlstad City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor was quite room view average”
 of 5 bubbles 54dougm, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“One on a lower floor in case you have to take the stairs”
  • Sink area of bathroom for single room
  • Shower in bathroom
  • View of room from near entry door, showing windows, desk area, side table and extra chair.
  • Interior of single room showing bed and entry door, with small closet to left.
 of 5 bubbles 14rond, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose 3rd or 4th floor if you really must stay in this bad place.”
 of 5 bubbles 671peterr, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Not a lot of difference in the rooms”
  • Excellent Shower
  • Basic Rooms
 of 5 bubbles TJA950, 10 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Select a room away from the main road for more peace & quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Panditashok7, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5