We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,073 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Europa Gothenburg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2014

The location is good, but the hotel is not. My room was a decent size, but it felt dirty. The toilet seemed like it hadn't been cleaned in a while and the rooms trash bucket was filled with rust. The walls were also quite thin. It reminded me of being in a college dorm, sadly my college days are over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Geoff M Thank you very much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. Clearly we have faulted in our preparations and for this i am truly sorry. It is also unfortunate that you left Gothenburg with a negative impression about Scandic Europa, we will look into this and sharpen our routines. Nevertheless, i hope that we will be able...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 September 2014 via mobile

I like the location of this hotel, the friendly staff at the front desk and the smallish but new rooms. I cannot, however, accept that the corridors are very dirty and that nobody does anything about it. I complained last time I stayed and the time before that and even last night. They do nothing about it. It is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sjurontour
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Sjurontour Tahnk you very much for your feedback. It is not uplifting to read that we have not managed to meet your expectations, nor have we managed to meet our standards. However, it is great to receive such crisp feedback which will enable us to look into our routines and improve. I hope that you will return to Scandic...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Scandic Europe in July this year and having read several negative reviews prior to our stay the hotel we had a good experience. The hotel was undergoing some renovation around the reception but we booked in quickly without problem, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Andy P Thank you very much for staying with us and for your time taken to share your thoughts on tripadvisor. It is great for us to receive such positive feedback and we will bring it with us for the future. We hope that you and your wife will come visit us again once the refusbishment is completed mid...

Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Good location, center of the town, just to the central station and almost inside the shopping mall :-) Sauna and pool. but pool is bit small and pretty cold. These days there are renovation works but ends in October. Rooms are nice, clean, but view is not so nice, looking into others windows. I think it would be nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igor K
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Igor K Thank you for your great feedback, it is great for all of us to know we are on the right track. We will certainly take your views with us for the future and hope that you will return to Scandic Europa after the refurbishment is completed mid october. Kind regards.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Very disappointing room when compared to similar rated accommodation elsewhere in the world. Small room, no view, no fridge, no outdoor area. Very difficult to find a positive comment ,- maybe location. Room safe not working and not corrected during our stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Madeleine G
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Madeleine G Thank you very much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. It is disapointing to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations, fot hat i sincerely apologize, we will discuss these points in order to work out a way forward. I hope that you will be able to come visit us again once the refurbishment...

Parma, Italy
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Although Scandic is a hotel chain, this was the first time I stayed in one. Based on my experience, I would say that they are a good budget hotel that is located near the train station. The room was very basic but suited our purpose and the wifi in the room worked perfectly. The hotel chain seems to pride themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A J
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello A J Thank you very much for taking time to let us know about your impressions from your stay at Scandic Europa. It is very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours and we carry it with us for future improvements. We hope that, when returning to Gothenburg, you will come see us again once the refurbishment is completed...

Atvidaberg, Sweden
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel has an very good and central location, other than that I would say it´s a medium class hotel. The breakfast was good and the room was ok. There was same constuktion worm at the time for my stay but only at daytime so I did not have any problem with that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brillo67
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Brillo67 Tahnk you very much for telling us about your experience at Scandic Europa. We are very grateful that you have shared your views about your impressions and we hope to be able to welcome you back once the refurbishment is finished in the middle of october. Kind regards

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in a "family room" which was modern and reasonably clean with a great panorama window overseeing Gothenburg. The room was quite small though. The hotel is located in Central Gotheburg with trams and buses across the street, Breakfast was ok, but it was packed and full of small children that kept the ambient noise up.... I suspect this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joakimlundberg
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Joakimlundberg Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great that we met your demands and that you enoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will be able to come visit us once the refurbishment is finished mid october. Kind regards.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The only upside with this hotel is its location, apart from that I wouldn't recommend it. The cleanliness was not up to standards and the general feel of the room was dated. The room had broken baseboards, a worn chair, black markings on the wall and it didn't feel clean. Considering the pricetag and that there are lots of other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarina L
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello Katarina L Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences from your last stay with us. It is of great importance for us to leanr what our guests think of our service and the qality of Scandic Europa. I apologize that we did not manage to meet your expectations, however, i hope that we will be able...

edinburgh, scotland
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 10am after an early morning flight from Stockholm, we asked to leave our bags in the left luggage area but to our surprise the receptionist said we could check in early for free! This was a welcome treat and not one you come across often. The room itself was a good size and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Nic P Thank you very much for your time taken to share your experiences at Scandic Europa. It is fantastic to learn that we exceeded your expectations and we hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future so you may experience the final result once the refurbishment is finished in october. I wish you a...

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Pool and Sauna (27)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 68 in Gothenburg
840 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.0 km away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#32 of 68 in Gothenburg
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
2,701 reviews
0.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
208 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eggers
Hotel Eggers
#36 of 68 in Gothenburg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: RM508 - RM882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Europa Gothenburg staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Europa Gothenburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“422 a bit far but quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Sorfer, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get an upper level room - did so and we had a bit of view to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles danielrC9594ZZ, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are well kept and maintained.”
 of 5 bubbles Marlyn_Deleon, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Mid - High floor facing facing the front and not backing onto the offices.”
 of 5 bubbles 696JOHNTHOMAS, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at another hotel ;)”
  • Who doesn't like dirty grease and earlier guest's hair in their bathroom?
  • Nice spots like these were found on all shiny surfaces in the bathroom.
  • No light for you! NEXT!
  • Where's the mini bar?
 of 5 bubbles mindinconflict, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5