We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Kuopio

Show Prices
#1 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Kuopio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Kuopio
 Click to rate
Turtola, Finland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic pan fried "siika" on dinner menu (choose nice wine to it and you are just to congratulate). Location at the Kallavesi lake with fantastic view made the trip perfect. Gym is is fairly well equipped compared with other Scandic hotels.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keijoe2017
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The main reason for choosing this hotel amongst the plenty others was the fact that it has a swimming pool. But the pool was freeeeezing! It was impossible for children to have a swim there unfortunately. Everyone ended up in the jaccuzi as a result. However, everything else was above expectations: sauna was lovely, breakfast tasty and plentiful, TV in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matkaja34
Mikko M, General Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Dear Didem34, Thank you for choosing Scandic Kuopio for your visit in Kuopio with your family. I´m really happy that you have enjoyed your time with us and you enjoyed your room and breakfast. I´m sorry that the pool experience was not ideal. On October the weather might be quite challenging, but for sure the summer is much warmer and...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 132petrik
Mikko M, Johtaja at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is by the lake but still just walking distance away from city center. Hotel is clean, airquality was good and sauna in hotel room was better than average. Bed was good. Breakfast was better than average. Nice choice in the city, where are no luxury hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pekka M
ScaKu, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Hello Pekka, Thank you so much for your visit and the review. It is nice to hear that you liked the bed, sauna and breakfast. Welcome again! Best regards, Juha N Front Office Manager Scandic Kuopio

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Medium range pricewise hotel but very good. Can't always stay in 5 stars. Rooms are very clean, sevice is very friendly, rooms are nice what else can you ask for? Rooms are quiet, scenery farom tahe rooms is nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yochi23
ScaKu, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Hello Yochl23, Thank you for your visit and this nice summary. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our service and rooms. We hope we will se you soon again! Best regards, Juha N Front Office Manager Scandic Kuopio

Kouvola, Finland
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic. It is situated almost in the city centre, between the harbor and Väinölänniemi Park. You have excellent opportunities for many activities. In winter there are skating tracks (1-12.5 kilometers) on the lake ice of Lake Kallavesi next to the hotel. You can rent skates from the harbor. In summer there are several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JariJK
ScaKu, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Hello Jari JK, Thank you so much for you visit, positive review and nice summary. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope it will be possible to arrange more lockers in saunas dressing rooms in the future. We have changed now new information folders to every room. Thank you for your feedback and welcome again!...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Now, in town like this you dont have too many options for lodging. So that is why we had to stay here, althought we knew it is not going to be great. Room was normal plain Scandic style, some people like that but it is something else than most other hotels prefer. Room was clean and staff friendly, no complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jari S
Mikko M, General Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Dear Jari S, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience of your stay. I´m happy to hear you enjoyed our cleanliness, team members friendliness and breakfast. We always try to do our best for guests comfort, but unfortunately this time we didn`t succeed in every way. I´m really sorry about the noise caused by the other guests....

Jumalanseläntakana
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TT8385
ScaKu, Duty Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 895kirillp
ScaKu, Duty Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Swimming pool, beautiful situation. Staff welcomes you every time you come and makes sure that everything is fine. Food of good quality, rooms beautiful and the view to the lake just wonderful. I would never choose another hotel in Kuopio.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marj0riittah
ScaKu, Duty Manager at Scandic Kuopio, responded to this review

Dear marj0riittah, Thank you for your review and choosing us every time you visit Kuopio. I couldn´t be more proud of our staff, I´m very happy we made you feel welcome and cared. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Miia R. / Duty Manager

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuopio hotels
0.5 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Puijonsarvi
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Savonia
0.5 km away
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
Kuopio-Hotel Jahtihovi
#9 of 10 in Kuopio
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
Cumulus Kuopio Hotel
#8 of 10 in Kuopio
70 reviews
3.3 km away
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
Rauhalahti Spa Hotel
#6 of 10 in Kuopio
85 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Isovalkeinen
Hotel Isovalkeinen
#7 of 10 in Kuopio
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently renovated and modern hotel located right in the centre of Kuopio beside the beautiful lake of Kallavesi, making it an excellent starting point for seeing the sights of the city. The Kuopio passenger harbour and beach are located right next to our hotel, and you can find the best souvenirs from the Kuopio market place. Hotel has good Scandinavian restaurant and 8 flexible and spacious meeting rooms up to 400 persons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Kuopio

Address: Satamakatu 1, Kuopio 70100, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Savonia > Kuopio
Price Range: RM453 - RM797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kuopio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kuopio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Kuopio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Kuopio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have lake views.”
Matkaja34, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a room with a lake view and avoid rooms near the lift”
  • Our Superior room
  • We had a Superior room
  • We had connected rooms
  • A view to Lake Kallavesi and Väinölänniemi Park
  • The Superior room
  • A Superior room of Scandic Kuopio
JariJK, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms with veiw are about 20 euros more per night but is worth it. Including a balcony”
Panyale, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“definitely lake view”
Timokj, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If there are rooms with a view to the lake, I recommend those”
tiinykky, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5