We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Keilir

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Keilir
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Keilir
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Not sure how others scored an early check in as we were turned away. Of course if we paid for an extra day they would check us in early. Room was clean and beds were comfortable which is really all you need if staying for a short time. We stayed 4 nights and were out of the room for most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan2867
Bedford
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This great little hotel is owner-managed, and very well run. The location is fantastic, close to many restaurants and just a few minutes drive to the airport. There is plenty of parking available. Probably best to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmw7Bedford
Perth
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Good value for money compared to a lot of other places in Iceland. Facilities were good, rooms were nice and clean. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, they were willing to help with any questions we had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B-dog88
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We arrived at night for a stopover while awaiting a morning flight. The rooms were clean, basic, and perfect for what was needed. One room faced the ocean and the other the street. Both rooms were first floor. One of the rooms were handicapped accessible, as requested. Beds were comfy. TV was older style, but we didn't use it anyway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stopover in Iceland and needed an overnight stay. Got a room at the Hotel Keilir. The room was very sparse furnished with three beds, of which only one was made-up. I was alone and should not spend more than a night, but a little odd that the other two just stood in the room without being prepared. In the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReenFri
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel was perfectly located for what we needed. It's close to the KEF airport and it's right on the water. If you get a view on the ocean it's a plus! The rooms are small but perfect for a short stay. The breakfast consists of hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, bread, cereal and yogurts. Basic but good. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissWorldTravel
Big Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 September 2016

This is a charming hotel right in the middle of Keflavik. It is very close to the airport and lots of good places to eat. Bryndis, who runs the hotel is very helpful with all kinds of information. We had a beautiful room facing the ocean. It was very quiet and the breakfast in the morning was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue S
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The rooms are comfortable for a short stay of a day or so and include bathrooms. The rooms during the summer months are hot and a bit noisy when adjacent to the road. However, the rates are low per night and the breakfast is fairly decent. Some staff members are fairly helpful and depends on whom you get. The walkway...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 110sss
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I called and booked through email but the room was not reserved when we got there. They were fully booked. After a night of travelling, we were left stranded. I was treated with disrespect and complete defensiveness. The front desk staff wouldn't listen, talked over me, said they had "too much work to do" and weren't very accommodating. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessicaleebell
stinnson, Front Office Manager at Hotel Keilir, responded to this review

Dear Jessicaleebell, we are very sad to hear your experience. No matter what you say it is clear that you stayed here and we were not fully booked. The rest of your review explain its self very well since we always respect everybody equally. Have a nice day !

Lisburn
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I heard negative things about this hotel. don't listen to the ones who moan, we are still here we go home on Wednesday, The Staff are very friendly and reception can't do enough for you, they will help with your day outs and where to go what to see etc, The room was very clean fresh towels each day, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dobbo1947

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
738 reviews
3.2 km away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#5 of 9 in Keflavik
27 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#4 of 9 in Keflavik
32 reviews
3.7 km away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
0.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Keilir is a Family run hotel in the heart of Keflavik / Reykjanesbaer . Located on the city's main street, Hafnargata, shopping and other amenities are within easy walking distance and Keflavik International Airport is just a 5-minute drive away. Hotel Keilir is a fantastic place to serve as your base of exploration for Iceland, especially for passengers looking to make the most of a shorter stopover in Iceland. The view from Hotel Keilir is unique both from the street and oceanside. There are a number of quality restaurants in the vicinity and the Blue Lagoon spa and resort is just 15 minutes away. Reykjavik is 40 minutes by bus or car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Keilir

Address: Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Price Range: RM522 - RM1,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keilir 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keilir Hotel Keflavík
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Keilir staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Keilir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the water for a quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 1987porsche944, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get oceanview room”
 of 5 bubbles 619wilsonl, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a waterfront view as it's perfect for watching the Northern Lights.”
  • View from room on second floor
 of 5 bubbles Sheridan2867, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing ocean and on first floor since no elevator present.”
 of 5 bubbles nancypD5313KI, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Oceanside has beautiful views of the water”
 of 5 bubbles O3382YVsues, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay