We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aurora Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aurora Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aurora Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This guesthouse is in a great location in Reykjavik. It is walking distance to biggest church in Iceland, the main landmark in Reykjavik and also near to other tourist attractions.. The guesthouse is also very near the center where various shops and restaurants are located. The room was decent, adequate enough for our needs. The bed is nice and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eperstu
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is great and the price is not bad. The room was okay but the cat had walked on our sheets... (I understand because I have cats of my own but still...) The breakfast was okay though. Not so clean as it could be but suitable for a night or two.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tiia M
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Reykjavik is beautiful though expensive and accommodation is no exception. The Aurora is near the beautiful Hallgrimskirkja and the city centre attractions are an easy walk away. The staff at the Aurora are very friendly. My single room was small though perfectly adequate. The room shared a bathroom with 5 other rooms, access was a problem on my first morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveoftheways
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Reykjavik is beautiful if expensive as a holiday destination. I added 3 nights onto my American holiday without any extra cost thanks to Icelandair. The Aurora is near the impressive Hallgrimskirkja and ideally located for the city centre as it is less than 1 km from all the city centre attractions. The staff at the Aurora are very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManofFewWords
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Next time I'll stay anywhere else but there. Recommend to Avoid it because: 1.) You would need to cross the street in the cold to get to the Breakfast Area. 2.) Entrance Door to Breakfast Area was broken, hence a draft of cold Air from the outside tends to sweep around that place and would then potentially chill your neck...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irina K
Sigurdur H, Owner at Aurora Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Irina, We are so sorry you feel disapointed. 1) To get to the breakfast area from the across street rooms is only a 30 seconds walk. 2) Handle from the main door it´s already fixed, sometimes things broke but we try to do our best and fix it as fast as we can.We fixed 1 day later when we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. Guesthouse is in great location just 2 minutes walk from the church and shops/restaurants. We had a 4 bed room (2 singles and 1 bunk bed) with shared toilet/bathroom facilities in the main building on the 2nd floor. Room basic but very clean and never a queued for the bathroom. Shower had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank orange1920
Oxford, England
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We booked a transfer from the airport with Flybus (they seemed to give a return ticket price which was much cheaper than the 2 singles the other company offered).The bus was just outside the airport building but check which company's bus you are getting on. Once in the bus terminal (about 45 minutes travel) you have to change to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibrowse
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The location of the Aurora, as other reviewers have commented, is excellent. It is near the city centre and is easily accessible and has ample free parking nearby. We were due to stay in a 4 bed room with a shared bathroom, however were upgraded to a studio apartment, just round the corner, which included an en suite bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasfew
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

this place was perfect for me as i spent most of the time outside the city exploring Iceland. it was nice to get back in the evenings, leave the car next to the hotel and walk to town for drinks and dinner. breakfast was ok and i staff are quite friendly. dont expect a lot of comfort and you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio G
Macroom, Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Very basic room. Clean and tidy. There are no frills here. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.You can get drinks in reception. The bathroom light is on a timer so when your having a shower it goes off and you have to get out to open the door again. We were only there for 3 days and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare N

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 105 in Reykjavik
431 reviews
Miõborg
Loki 101 Guesthouse
Loki 101 Guesthouse
#27 of 105 in Reykjavik
89 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#6 of 105 in Reykjavik
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Igdlo Guesthouse
#12 of 105 in Reykjavik
184 reviews
Alba Guesthouse
#35 of 105 in Reykjavik
128 reviews
Flying Viking Guesthouse
#21 of 105 in Reykjavik
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Aurora Guesthouse

Address: Freyjugata, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Price Range: RM461 - RM1,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aurora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aurora Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Aurora Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room away from the road, it's more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles eperstu, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a spare pillow. Also a towel as not in room.”
 of 5 bubbles steveoftheways, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for towel on arrival if needed.”
 of 5 bubbles ManofFewWords, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No Internet on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be in the green building next door to the main building, it is much quieter than the building that houses the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Carlena1986, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5