We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Capital-Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Capital-Inn
The Capital-Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of The Capital-Inn
 Click to rate
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Very unwelcoming, rude and prepotent receptionists. Especially te black haired one with a blazer (unluckily for me and luckily for him I didnt get his name). Very irresponsible with the laundry service, its never ready when the say it will be, and when you ask they just give excuses. The blond recptionist is not that rude but he doesnt have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisco B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

i didn't realise this was a place i would have to share the bathroom with other guests... it is more of a hostel type place. I couldn't bring myself to wash whilst there because of this so i was so happy to get home to have a bath. I was horrified to see this is one of the hotels that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayleylolita
Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very helpful stuff and the breakfast is awesome. Not far from the city and the airport. no elevator and noisy if you stay at the room near road. the bathroom is outside and whole floor share 2 bathroom, but overall still good and cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yv P
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was extremely nice and made us feel comfortable at all times. When we arrive we both only had 2/3 hours of sleep. We arrived 3 hours before check in time (we were dropped by the bus from the airport), they let us sit at the restaurant and asked the cleaner to get our room ready earlier. 30 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquel S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic rooms, very noisy on the side facing the 40 road and all feeling rather dated. Poor choice at breakfast and we had to ask for coffee, hot water, margerine to be re-filled. Not particularly convenient for anything we wanted to see in Reykjavic. Wish we'd gone for one of the youth hostels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa U
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been booked into the hotel as part of our package deal, the hotel has different types of accommodation there is the main hotel where we stayed where we had an ensuite room and then there is like a hostel where you get a room but have share the other facilities. The room are clean and basic but all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelEatsOfficial
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the apartment, Shower pressure is good! Toilet very spacious, towels are provided. There's a TV in the room, kitchen fully equipped! Bed comfy, good place to rest and relax, heater is in good working conditions. Free wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugeneho24
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room basic but what needed - only moan is they never refreshed towels or toilet roll during the 4 night stay. Had to ask 😳 Breakfast was very poor - if you don't like muesli your knackered - was bread, cheese and ham. Is about 45 min walk from town centre and taxis cost £25 - no buses. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
Manager-Capital-Inn, Receptionist at The Capital-Inn, responded to this review

There is bus no 18 pretty close (7-10 min walking) or no 1. Takes you down town in 15 min.

Huby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

good, clean hotel, 40 min from city centre walking, bus stop and taxi's available. We were apprehensive after reading mixed reviews, the language barrier could for some make the staff seem short or rude, but they were genuinely very nice and just didn't have the softness of the language. The water does smell eggy, thats because its mainly naturally heated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim H
Manager-Capital-Inn, Receptionist at The Capital-Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this true review. here is something more about water https://grapevine.is/mag/articles/2014/07/01/something-in-the-water/ Regards

Glasgow
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The capital inn is a great budget hotel. The location is so close to the city centre by car and walkable to some attractions. The staff were helpful and gave you handy travel tips when checking in. The kitchen and common area is very convienient especially for self catering as this country is extremely expensive. Shared bathroom facilities were surprisingly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexandra S
Manager-Capital-Inn, Manager at The Capital-Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review! We were really happy to have you as guests! Please visit us soon!

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (13)
Viewed
Ladies WC (10)
Viewed
Mens WC (11)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Triple Family Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
2.5 km away
4th Floor Hotel
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
365 reviews
2.4 km away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
1,056 reviews
2.2 km away
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#33 of 100 in Reykjavik
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#10 of 100 in Reykjavik
304 reviews
3.7 km away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
433 reviews
3.3 km away
Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Capital-Inn is ideally positioned for you to experience all that the vibrant city of Reykjavik has to offer. You are within easy walking distance to great restaurants and cafés and impressive shopping at the ,,Kringlan"shopping mall. The ,,Perlan" is just up the street from us, the city centre and the geothermal beach are also just minutes away.The Capital-Inn offers accommodation in spacious budget rooms with shared or private facilities. The guest-house also offers hostel beds on its ground floor with shared facilities. The guest-house offers guests in private rooms a complimentary breakfast, the guests staying in the hostel beds have usage of a large kitchen and a walk-in fridge. The guest-house offers bicycle rental, it also has a new pool table and a seating area where there is a small section with books for guests to borrow while they are staying here. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available in the whole building as well as free parking. Situated near the airport, in Reykjavik, this guesthouse is close to Reykjavik University, Hallgrimskirkja, and Perlan. Also nearby are Kringlan Shopping Mall and Kopavogur Art Museum.Hotel restaurant. In addition to a restaurant, The Capital-Inn features ski storage. Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry service. Premium satellite Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Guest rooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, desks, and clock radios. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Capital-Inn

Address: Sudurhlid 35d, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: RM131 - RM818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Capital-Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Capital-Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Capital-Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in 210 - which was quiet but the walls are thin in general.”
hayleylolita, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one of the rooms in the apartments building”
raquelsH7953MU, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the main road if possible”
teresau233, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“301 is near the road, we didn't mind the traffic noise but some may.”
X6023MZkimh, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose private room, not a dorm room as there is no locker in the rooms.”
alexandrasF67VM, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5