We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
New York City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed from Nov 24-27. We arrived early in the morning and were greeted with a smile. Our room of-course was not ready at that hour but they took our bags. We went out had brunch and did sight seeing for several hours. Got back to the hotel and were tired and cold. The person behind the counter saw us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manhattan_Guys
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a 3 day holiday booked with Thomsons. We had no complaints about the hotel at all. The rooms were of good size and stylish decor. Very comfortable and warm. The r is a small bar just off reception which also serves light meals. The breakfast room was fairly basic but had a good selection of food every day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChristineTyler
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Entrance Nice clean and comfy Restaurant food fantastic, fresh and healthy. Breakfast great and lot if choyce. Behind restaurant is a hiddaway where you can enjoy your glass of wine or quietly Can read a book.

Helpful?
Thank BW E
Management response:

Hello BW E, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Hótel Ísland. The hotel Bistro is a cosy place for guests to enjoy a quite meal after a long day of excursions, delighted to hear that you were able to use the corner nook to have some private quite time to relax... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. It was a nice hotel with nice rooms and a good restaurant/bar at the ground floor (we tried the food here the first night and thought it was very good). The breakfast was great and had anything you could wish for. It is a short walk (25-30 minutes) to the main street... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlexLarsson
Management response:

Hello AlexLarsson, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with Hótel Ísland. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that our location suited your schedule and itinerary. We prioritise the check-out/ arrival rooms before 14:00 thus allowing the in-house guests to stay and relax in their rooms longer. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a room on the ground floor of Hotel Island. The room was fantastic and very spacious; including sofa, coffee table, chair, large wardrobe, safe, fridge, large modern shower and tv with British channels. Only down side the wife mentioned no plug near a mirror for getting ready - although a plus for me as it took less time... More 

Helpful?
Thank WarewolfofLondon
Management response:

Hello WarewolfofLondon, Thank you for this brilliant review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us despite the initial hiccup. We take pride of our fantastic hotel staff who go on the extra mile to assist our guests. Laufey is a great asset to our Front Desk team and I'm happy to hear that you've received superb... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was not as central as I was led to believe as in it took 25 mins to walk to the center and taxis are not cheap well nothing is cheap in Iceland. The hotel was sufficient for our needs. It was clean and warm. The food in the evening was good. Breakfast was the usual with a good selection... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie H
Management response:

Hello Marie H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your recent stay with Hótel Ísland. I do apologise if you felt ignored by our front desk staff on duty as generally our Front Office team are very professional, friendly and helpful. Hope to welcome you again and give you a better experience on your next... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated about 2 Km from the town centre this is a reasonable hotel although our room on the 4th floor was a little dated but clean and tidy. Views from the windows away from the street were over the sea to the mountains so pretty good. No coffee making facilities in the room but we asked for them at reception... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John G
Management response:

Hello John G, Thank you for taking time to write a great review. Our staff always tries to be helpful so we appreciate the positive comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again on your next visit. Best regards, Melissa Aþena More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Although the staff were friendly, the hotel room was a little grubby for the price. The shower cubicle was a little grubby. The pillows were poor (just flat). More like a budget hotel. The breakfast was just average but does the trick of satisfying your hunger. We had dinner here one night and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suganya S
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a short trip to Iceland were we stayed at the Island Hotel, which we found to be Excellent the room was of a good size, with a great view towards the Mountain's on the other side of the bay, For Breakfast there was a very good Choice of cooked and continental food available. We did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mitchcrees
Management response:

Hello Mitchcrees, I am pleased to hear that you fantastic stay with us and enjoyed the best of what we offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will pass your compliments to the staff. Hótel Ísland is located near the Laugardal district in Reykjavik, a 20 min walk towards the beginning of the shopping... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The old saying you pay for what you get is true for this hotel. The basic room is just that with beds and shower. In our room there was no kettle or tea or coffee making facilities. Breakfast on the other hand was very good and saved the rating. Buffet style but very adequate to get the day going.

Helpful?
Thank Jon G
Management response:

Dear Jon G, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. Currently only our Superior and Suites are supplied with kettles and coffee/ tea making facilities. We are currently slowly replacing the old and broken kettles in the rooms and replacements and extras can always be requested at the desk. Thank you for your comments.... More 

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (427)
Viewed
Amenities (84)
Viewed
Family Room Junior Suite Room (55)
Viewed
Mini Suite (49)
Viewed
New Standard Double (36)
Viewed
New Superior Double (41)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#28 of 59 in Reykjavik
1,342 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#53 of 59 in Reykjavik
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 59 in Reykjavik
382 reviews
Hotel Smari
#1 of 1 in Kopavogur
79 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#14 of 59 in Reykjavik
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the new business district & within walking distance to the picturesque city centre; near Kringlan mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Island

Address: Armuli 9, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Price Range: RM527 - RM920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Island Reykjavik Hotel
Park Inn Reykjavík
Reykjavík Park Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Island staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one at the back and request a kettle.”
 of 5 bubbles johngF9910DI, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we were 427 and had a lovely view over the mountains and the bay”
 of 5 bubbles 594micheleg, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double bed and a double quilt - some nights the room was cold and the thin quilt wasn't good enough. Also ask for more pillows. ”
 of 5 bubbles florao707, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A bit out of the way but OK”
 of 5 bubbles 728triciaw, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No AC so higher floors were hotter.”
 of 5 bubbles brendab148, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay