We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fosshotel Baron

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Fosshotel Baron
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fosshotel Baron
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,245: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, warm and great location. Staff are very helpful and attentive going out of their way to assist you with trips or advice on restaurants or things to do. Breakfast has a good selection of food and opened early for people with early transfers to the airport.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Hotel is well located, easy walk to restaurants, bars, shops, cathedral, bay, etc. It is also one of the first few drops offs after returning from tours. Friendly and knowledgeable staff which always helps when trying to organise things with late notice. We quite liked the hotel bar which has happy hour between 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh K
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very happy with all aspects of this hotel, it met all my expectations for convenience and amenity. The breakfast buffet offered a large selection of options. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. My shower stall was a bit smaller then I would have preferred, but the shower had very good pressure and plenty of hot water to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill J
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was arranged by tour agent. Noted that it is a 3 star hotel, we have managed our expectations. It felt like a youth hostel more than a hotel. The worst was the toilet which flooded with one showered and the water couldn't be drained properly makes it pretty disgusting to stay inside the toilet. However, besides the room, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank FinT77
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made 2 bookings in Nov. The 1st reservation was cancellable and was made using its official web. As I feel sick and changed my journey, I have to cancel it. I first phone them just before the free cancellation deadline but the receptionist asked me to send email. When I then sent email, the hotel replied me a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank 65432b
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went to Reykjavik Iceland to see Northern Lights and The golden Circle. The hotel was 3 star with breakfast include,check in was rapid and staff was friendly.The Golden Circle tour was very good and The Northern Lights tour was cancelled two nights on the trot because of bad weather so we were a bit disappointed not to see it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ksu322
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking at previous reviews I think we got the short straw. The room was dirty, the communal areas were dirty , holes in the carpets that hadn't been hovered for weeks. Staff not that friendly. Room was small . We stayed there 5 minutes and booked in to another hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, I am sorry that you were so disappointed with the hotel. In the end of October we started renovations on the first and 2nd floor of the hotel. Within a few days the carpet on the stairs got very torn and got holes because of this. Even though we vacuumed the area many times per day, it got... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November. We stayed in a standard room on the 3rd floor overlooking an apartment block. It was very quiet despite being in the city centre & we were never woken by any noise. The room was very basic & ready for updating, but it was clean &... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola L
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Fossbaron Hotel, very handy for shopping, museums etc. Only a 3* so the rooms were small and with very little storage space. A table with one drawer, small wardrobe and space for 2 suitcases. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom small and small shower with stained tray, but otherwise clean. Hotel staff receptionist staff were good, with the evening staff,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Average quality but great location. It was walking distance to the main shopping and eating street. Decent breakfast buffet. Staff could have been a bit friendlier but rooms were not bad. Had to get used to the geothermal water. I wanted them to fix my bedside light. Someone came to check but it was never fixed. So customer service needs... More 

Helpful?
Thank busytraveller5659

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (402)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 59 in Reykjavik
771 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#24 of 59 in Reykjavik
886 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#40 of 59 in Reykjavik
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 59 in Reykjavik
1,896 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 59 in Reykjavik
382 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#6 of 59 in Reykjavik
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: RM507 - RM1,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fosshotel Baron staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Fosshotel Baron staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't know a good room existed !”
 of 5 bubbles 408carolc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I have no idea”
 of 5 bubbles 280AnnB, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“harbour views rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ksu322, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a suite with a sea view..or don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles X2638CZnicolab, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms quiet, ask for room on the front to see the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles susancN7972SX, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay