We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,066: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night break and had a brilliant stay! Staff were all extremely helpful, always friendly and seen with a smile. Arrived around 2000 and check in was very quick, room was modern and had plenty room for 2 adults. We added breakfast on each day at roughly £20 and it was worth it, lots of choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay1989
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsay1989, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. I do really appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back when you return to Reykjavik. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I have stayed at a few Radisson Blu Hotels and I can safely say this was one of my best stays - Staff were always polite and helpful, rooms were clean with all amenities catered for. The breakfast had most things on offer, cold an hot buffet at around £20 Location could not be bettered - in the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Deanmcc007, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is wonderful that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We of course wouldlove to welcome you back here at the hotel whenever you return to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week, it was our first visit to Reykjavik and was excited to explore. Let's go through the positives - the hotel is a great location, close to great restaurants, shops and tourists places. The breakfast had a wide selection with friendly and efficient staff. Especially two guys called Daniel and Paulo who had the Yes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TMN H
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Tracy H, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding Daniel and Paulo which I will certainly pass on. I appreciate your feedback on your stay that...

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel is ideal for restaurants and shopping. We upgraded to a deluxe room as we wanted twin beds so got complimentary robes and slippers which was nice. The room was very clean and the beds comfy. Lovely walk in shower, tea and coffee facilities and a fridge. I wouldn't recommend having anything from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomsha
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Tomsha, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. I really appreciate your recommendation. Whenever you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you back here at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel. With...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I did not stay in the Radisson Blu Hotel, however I went there twice for breakfast and I loved it! My son has issues with multiple allergies, which include eggs, seafood and all types of nuts so I asked for information about the food in the reception. I talked with a man named Daniel whom was very helpful and polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevaShantili72
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear devaShantili72, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast with your son. Moreover it is wonderful to hear that Daniel and Paulo could you assist and put you at ease. I will certainly pass on your kind words. If you you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Most conveniently situated in the Old Town, near shops, restaurants and museums. Quiet & warm bedroom, comfortable bed with large bath/shower (but why don't hotels put safety grab handles around the shower to stop one slipping?). Unlike other contributors there was no noise around Room 336 and but agree that the towels need upgrading!. Very helpful and pleasant staff, would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foria
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear foria, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you very much fro your constructive feedback and your suggestions that will help to improve our operation and your experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased that you allowed us to be part of your Icelandic experience. Thank you very...

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Great hotel for being in centre. However that's where it ends. Staff stern no niceties. Was not greeted or welcomed on check in. Don't opt for breakfast. They will not do other eggs apart from scrambled. When I asked for poached or omelette. I was advised they don't have equipment. Pan etc behind them. So obviously just could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shirleyoco
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear shirelyoco, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet all your expectations in us. Thank you for constructive feedback that will help me to address the issues you have encountered. Please let me apologize for your experience and assure you that this is not the service we like to and usual provide....

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

So this hotel is great in many ways: the location was great for walking around the city, the breakfast was a good selection of food, nice workers and good service. The only problem is no one really warns you for just how noisy downtown gets at night. It's mentioned just briefly here and there but let me tell you it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KTeel90
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear kTeel90, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. My sincere apologies fro the street noises you have experienced on your last stay. It is great to read your comment about the services and hospitality you received from our team members. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Hotel was excellent great vicinity close to central city ,walking distance to all areas .Breakfast was outstanding facilitated for all .Rooms were good for an old hotel and lovely and warm .Staff friendly and helpful in particular the night desk and the concierge .The bar staff were really friendly and helpful and would stop what they doing to help you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Joe B, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. I am very pleased about you comments regarding our team members and I will certainly pass them on. Whenever you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you back here at the 1919. Thank you very...

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Just home to Scotland after 3 nights in Reykjavik. Had a great weekend and we were very comfortable in the hotel. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars however is the noise level from the street below by the hot dog stand. On 2 nights running (Fri and Sat) there was shouting, lots of cars, loud music, a fight...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ScotTraveller15
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear ScotTraveller15, Thank you for sharing your experience and I am glad to hear that you have arrived safely back in Scotland. Thank you for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. My sincere apologies fro the street noise you have experienced during your stay. Thank you as well for your constructive feedback on your stay which will...

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (257)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Business Class Room (33)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 53 in Reykjavik
349 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,049 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
Cuisines: European, International, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Price Range: RM1,030 - RM2,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an inside room - not a great view but the Icelanders like to party on weekends and they are noisy! join in”
joelikestraveling, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a business class room,332 I think. Generally quiet apart from when the bars emptied.”
debs542016, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 336 is nice and quiet.”
foria, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor & not looking out over the hot dog stand!”
O6875BHelena, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Its very noisy at the weekend in the streets as Reykjavik is lively. suggest you try to get a room higher up.”
terry4800, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5