We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2015

I only paid £49 for a double room with breakfast so I did not know what to expect. There was plenty of parking. A good bar area was drinks available. Friendly staff. Good sized rooms with good showers. Breakfast was reasonable and went on to 10.30 on a Saturday. We did not eat there. Wifi was free but not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THEBALDMANOFKENT
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad that you liked our accommodation facilities, parking and most importantly our valued staff. Thank you for staying and we hope to see you again here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Regards Malith Jayathilake Operations Manager

east sussex
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We found this hotel very comfortable, friendly,and clean.we spent a very pleasant Christmas there. We were'nt looking for a Hi-De-Hi sort of time and we were not disappointed. the staff made us feel very welcome. Food. was very good and plentiful. There wasn't much in the way ofChristmas entertainment . it would have been nice to have had some carol...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flossiegoa
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 weeks ago and it was something of a mixed bag. Rooms were lovely, spacious and clean with comfortable bed and everything you would expect from a budget stay. Very impressed. Reception staff were also swift and efficient at check in and very pleasant. Be aware, phone signal here is dodgy due to location but hotel is aware...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amelia D
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Amelia D, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you had a great check-in experience and found our room accommodations highly commendable. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for the condition and cleanliness of our breakfast bar. Please know that this is not reflective of our daily high standards. Your...

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2014

nice and warm hotel with very adequate facilities and an excellent shower. staff friendly . food perfectly acceptable especially as breakfast was included with everything except bacon! the only slight drawback is that its a couple of miles out of canterbury.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheila B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We stayed here with our family of four, two adults and two children under 4. The actual hotel is literally off the side of the highway and there's no other way to access it, only from the highway. When we arrived we were told we had actually been booked in 5 days previously, and marked as a no-show, despite having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kuddlebug
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We are happy to see you liked the comfortableness of the bed mattress and the power shower. Please accept our apologies if you had any inconvenience due to the room lay out and the size. As a Holiday Inn Express Hotel we do not have different...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Computers in lobby both not working and staff unhelpful - breakfast was pretty awful Room was clean and comfortable - but miserly 2 coffee sachets for 2 people [2 decaf but don't drink those] overall - disappointing and wont be back OR use HInn again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SueMarkH
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable...

Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Visiting family in the area, well used to this brand. All the facilities were there- Clean everywhere, welcoming staff, cosy bar, good bed, shower, wifi, breakfast selection, easy check out (bit of a rarity these days!) Everything one expects of a better than average budget hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmelle747
Ipswich
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Have stayed here a few times in the last couple of years and have been very impressed with this hotel compared to other Holiday Inns Express I've stayed at. The staff have always been courteous, helpful and efficient. There is a restaurant which offers a small but excellent menu and the food has been excellent too. My dietary requirements were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V S
England
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We used this hotel for a one night stop making sure we got the special offer per night. The room is simple, clean and comfortable– for the price don't expect luxury. The breakfast was more than expected but it does end early so be there well before 9am. (That's something they didn't mention anywhere.) It's right off a major highway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRREngland
london
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Hotel was clean quiet and comfortable, and the manangement and staff could not have been more helpful . I had more professionalism and care for guests needs than at the many far more expensive hotels I've stayed at. Took taxi into town, just a few minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenuLondon

312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Accessible Room (42)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
5.7 km away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
1,038 reviews
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
4.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,754 reviews
3.6 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
377 reviews
4.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range: RM276 - RM640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
unitedkingdom
over a year ago
10 months ago
over a year ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor to the rear was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Yanmi19, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles 641rod002, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If problems with stairs say so as no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles 455Douglas1948, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floor, less noise from above!”
 of 5 bubbles jacquit293, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are more likely to be shielded from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneS550, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5