We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,328: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Stayed here overnight as a surprise for my Wife’s Birthday – totally disappointed and underwhelmed by the stay and eventually personally insulted by the GM! Overall I’d describe our actual stay as ‘average’, the low scoring is purely down to the treatment we’ve since received from the “GM & Owner” at Barony Castle (Vytautas Šyvys) The stay: Checked in by...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank BoogStar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Took drive down for day to see hotel b4 deciding to stay .glad we did as website looked lovely when we arrived.went in and had tea and coffee again nice restaurant seating area .we asked if we could be shown the bedrooms. That's were it fell apart going to the rooms we were shown the corridor was scabby frayed carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grumpybusman
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grumpybusman, thank you for your review. We would appreciate if you could stop wasting our time posting fake reviews on Trip Advisor. We hope that you will refrain from similar questionable activities in future. Vytautas Syvys General Manager

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Spent New year at the Barony Castle, very reasonably priced stay for a 2 night package. Food was lovely and took advantage of the spa facilities as a treat. Good entertainment including pipers to bring in the new year. Drinks/ wine as expected from a hotel, food menu appeared a little overpriced however our food was included so this was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janette W
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janette W, thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I was happy to hear it was truly enjoyable and hassle-free. I will share your feedback with the rest of the team. I am sure they will be delighted. As you correctly noted, the age of the building is starting to show its signs, but on a...

Lanarkshire
Reviewed 9 January 2017

After booking a party night and birthday celebrations with overnight accommodation with my husband and some friends i checked the website to have a look at the rooms etc all looked good couldnt wait to get there. On arrival the lady on reception spoke to us like children that we were an hour early checking in when there website clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HeatherLanarkshire
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HeatherLanarkshire, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Barony Castle Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As a Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights here from the 3rd of January, we have stayed here before and did enjoy it. We found all the staff to be friendly. The hotel and grounds on approach are stunning and the car parking is plentiful. The hotel corridors are clearly in need of a refurb as they are "tatty" at best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccus
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mccus, thank you for taking time to review your recent visit. I am happy to hear that apart from a few issues you have enjoyed it. As you correctly noted, the Hotel is undergoing planned refurbishment. We are trying to prioritise our work in a way which has a minimal impact to our guests. We do understand the need...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I've had a look through some of the reviews and Im confused!? When I stay in a hotel I want it to be clean and comfortable and this hotel ticked both the boxes..I don't know about other people but I HATE getting a double room and the "double" bed is 2 singles pushed together with an awful seem/dip that digs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I will share your feedback with my team who will feel encouraged I am sure. Our philosophy is based on for aspects: cleanliness, comfort, food and staff friendliness. Whilst we cannot compete with newly renovated Hotels, we do...

glasgow, scotland
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Spent two nights here for my partner's birthday having used a 5pm voucher. We had a lovely room on the second floor which was spotless. The room had tea making facilities and the bathroom had complimentary toiletries along with a hairdryer. The deal we had included a meal on the first night and a breakfast both mornings. The evening meals...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolthomson
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol Thomson, thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear you have used one of our deals and decided to stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team, I am sure they will be delighted. Nothing makes us feel better than a happy guest. It is a real...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Not far from Edinburgh, near Peebles (lovely Scottish borders town) and surrounded by the lovely nature. Hotel interior is in desperate need of uplift. Everyone from staff was very friendly and helpful, no fault there at all. Pool smelled of chlorine which wasn't there before, during our last visit. Also they removed the drinking water fountain, which was missed greatly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M L
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M L, thank you for taking time to review your recent visit. I have noted down your comments and will share it with the rest of the management team. I wanted to add that as part of the Mercure standard we provide buffet breakfast, however, we do offer a breakfast menu as well. The is a variety of choices...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here to break up our journey home - wished we had just carried on home, or stayed in a premier inn and saved ourselves some serious cash! Looks lovely (if a little tired) from the outside but that's about all that's lovely.. Reception was ok at best, superior room was tiny and lacked anything 'superior'. The pool was full...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

scotland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Over all we had a pleasant stay, room was fine, could have had a bit more attention to the housekeeping, breakfast was very good as were the staff, dinner was not great, too many issues to list here, however the lady who looked after us was very pleasant, I am certain no rosettes will be heading to this restaurant any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevokelly
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stevokelly, thank you for reviewing your stay. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I have noted down your comments and will distribute it to the relevant departments. I agree the business should be customer oriented. The effort we put in is indeed focused around the quality of the services we provide. It...

418 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (383)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,833 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.8 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
391 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
875 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: RM277 - RM686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware of ventilation noises in and around room 125”
245DaveG, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have walking problems get a room near the lift or stairs as the corridors are very long”
victor351, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“well away from the reception area”
andymU5351GD, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely think about upgrading to one of the suites!”
Californiasoul_x, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay”
alanmcintyre2016, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5