We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stobo Castle

Overview
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveller rating
903
202
110
43
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
903
202
110
43
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my mum spa area fitness classes full body massage drawing room health spa hydro pool spa reception relaxation room main building total relaxation dining rooms spa facilities are excellent first class an overnight stay spa break classic room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Been back a few weeks from our stay and still raving about it. I have to say this place is amazing. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to when we left. We stayed in the Lennox Room which was...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Claire M
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your Stobo experience. Your kind comments are hugely appreciated and we'll certainly keep a closer eye on the breakfast buffet to ensure it meets our high standards at all times. Delighted to hear how much...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

I stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast including access to the excellent spa. Many points about my stay from the good food during lunch and dinner to the spa were thoroughly enjoyable. However, the cost did not quite match the experience. The hot...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank georgejeffray
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Huge thanks for posting a very balanced review of your recent stay at Stobo and also for your high praise of our team of staff. However, I was sorry to hear of your disappointment at breakfast and your comments will be passed on...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay as a Christmas treat for my mum. I took her last year for her 60th and we booked the cashmere suite, unfortunately she developed a bit of a taste for getting treated like the queen for...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank lmccar19
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for such a fantastic review! We were all thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your most recent stay in The Cashmere Suite and Jimmy, Ryan, Mari, Kirsty, Craig & Carlos will all be delighted to read your very kind...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I booked a one night stay to getaway before Christmas, going with a foodie I was a bit concerned that as it was an set menu etc we may have been disappointed...we were not. We were in one of the modern rooms in the annex...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank missma87
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we particularly enjoyed reading your kind comments regarding the Stobo staff and cuisine. I'll certainly double check the temperature of the Drawing Room and yes, please make sure you visit...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was lucky enough to go to Stobo Castle staying in the Cashmere Suite for two nights to celebrate my birthday and retirement. This was a present from my wonderful wife. We arrived on Friday and were not disappointed. A smooth professional check in being...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank bigal632018
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Happy retirement and belated Happy Birthday!! We're so pleased your wife booked The Cashmere Suite to celebrate these special occasions and delighted to hear everything matched, or hopefully exceeded, your expectations, particularly with respect to the Stobo cuisine and the high standard of...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Adult pool
Concierge
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
52
Price range
US$138 - US$365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo
,
Castle Stobo
,
Stobo Castle Peebles
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Stobo
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
52
Price range
US$138 - US$365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo
,
Castle Stobo
,
Stobo Castle Peebles
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Stobo
Photos
Traveller (544)
Room & Suite (117)
Pool & Beach (26)
Dining (16)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1,133 reviews
8.73 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
294 reviews
8.91 km away
Green Tree Hotel
116 reviews
8.96 km away
The Park
541 reviews
9.01 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Laurel Bank
153 reviews
6.07 km away
Coltman's Delicatessen & Kitchen
647 reviews
8.65 km away
The Crown Hotel Restaurant
695 reviews
8.73 km away
Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe
333 reviews
8.62 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
Stobo Castle Health Spa
527 reviews
.01 km away
Stobo Japanese Water Garden
48 reviews
.28 km away
Dawyck Botanic Garden
284 reviews
1.62 km away
Neidpath Castle
42 reviews
7.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Silv895
16 July 2018|
Answer
Response from ClaireTEdinburgh | Reviewed this property |
They never used to but worth calling them
0
Votes
Trigger2bunny
13 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PollyAbderdeenshire | Reviewed this property |
Hi, wifi reception was prettty consistent but phone reception was a different matter. I am on EE and couldn't get reception in our room - not Stobo' fault . Fab place to stay though .... leave the technology behind
1
Vote
Maree A
26 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from goosie0 | Reviewed this property |
yes. Everyone very helpful
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask if it is in the roof space - In second floor. If it is you might want to request another room choice"
georgejeffray
4 days ago
Read review
"pay extra and book the Park Lodge if you are going in a group"
karen5millar
2 Oct 2018
Read review
"Good for spa but not for foodie"
66scotland67
15 Sep 2018
Read review
"Go for a room in the castle"
LeighJ1975
11 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing