We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stobo Castle

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Stobo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stobo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stobo Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,053: English reviews
Start your review of Stobo Castle
 Click to rate
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I make frequent visits to Peebles (4 or 5 time a year). As a treat decided to spend a day at Stobo. A wonderfully relaxing experience. Unfortunately due to an ongoing back problem I was unable to have one of my treatments but was immediately offered an upgrade on another treatment, which I declined purely by personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retiredmike2915
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Another fantastic stay @ Stobo! Our deluxe room was fantastic with beautiful views and a lovely plate with fresh fruit and great choice of teas and coffees. The staff were friendly and very helpful!! Just seems to get better each time I visit. Can't wait to return and make an effort to use the huge choice of facilities on offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzied908
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Fantastic heading - thank you!! Your high praise of Stobo and continued custom are very much appreciated and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes,

Glasgow
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stobo was a trip my mum and I did once a year! Unfortunately my mum has now passed away and my friend who is a regular came with me! We had a fantastic time and I enjoyed being back! I love how they are always improving things and can't wait for the new drawing room! We got a free bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trace072
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was sorry to hear your sad news - it must have been a difficult decision to return to Stobo but I'm so glad you enjoyed the experience with your friend and appreciated all the recent improvements we have been making. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the castle in December. Kind regards,

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a high-tea with friends, left really disappointed. Firstly thought the high-tea would be of a higher standard due to Stobo Castle's reputation, but that high-tea was just basic. Been for high-tea's closer to home, with homemade cakes, and they were much better and cheaper too. We got asked to choose a filling each for our sandwiches - and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CritiC901
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your thoughts on your recent afternoon tea at Stobo. I certainly take your point that not everybody likes dark chocolate - your comment will be passed on to our chef with a view to using a wider variety of flavours, and please accept my sincere apologies for using dirty crockery. In closing, your positive...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having now stayed twice at Stobo the 2nd time being a complimentary stay due to disappointment during our first visit. Unfortunately our second visit was even more disappointing. Having checked in we visited the coffee shop for cocktails which was overly busy we sat at a table which was over flowing with dirty dishes. We gave our order but table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey H
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, In a very pleasant exchange of emails with our Managing Director, you stated "I found it very humbling that you took the time to go out of your way to allow us to return." In addition, to quote from the 5 star review your companion posted on our Facebook page "The building, service and facilities left me speechless....

Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love this place. Super relaxing and perfect for a treat. Friendly staff, beautiful food and fantastic facilities. Last time I visited I was pregnant and indulged in a mum to be massage and it was bliss. Gym facilities are excellent and always quiet. My favourite room is the Japanese style relaxation rooms. The views from the pool are breathtakingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoemccarty
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your most recent trip to Stobo. We all enjoyed reading your lovely comments and do hope we will have the distinct pleasure of your company again on a future occasion. Best wishes,

Whalley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After umpteen trips to Gleneagles we decided to prise ourselves away and try Stobo for a change so we had 3 nights in a deluxe room. To entice us back as regular guests happy to pay £390 upwards per night more attention is needed in these areas which are the reasons I haven't awarded 5 stars. 1) Breakfast disappointing -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart s
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, may I thank you for the very constructive and balanced nature of your valued feedback, following your recent stay at Stobo. I would like to assure you that all the issues you have raised will receive our consideration as you have brought up some very valid points, particularly with regard to breakfast. Immediate plans are in place...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been to Stobo Castle 4 times in the last couple of years and it is truly wonderful. Pool, sauna, steam rooms are all pure luxury. I particularly love the new relaxation room which is totally chilled out. I always take advantage of the fitness classes available and they are always brilliant. The food is always one of my favourite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weesmiler
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm hugely grateful to you for posting your very balanced comments regarding your recent Stobo visit on Tripadvisor. I fully take on board your feedback regarding the recent changes we have made - the new, larger dining room does allow a more leisurely experience at mealtimes (no more waiting for a table!) and although the new drawing room...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a few hard months of getting our new home together we used some of our honeymoon pot for an evening at Stobo castle... The spa area was so gorgeously designed it was visually an absolute treat! The pool area was lovely, the outdoor hot tubs were fantastic... It wasn't too busy either .. We had a really good time!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevtierney
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Stobo on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read all your positive comments - I hope you'll agree that there's plenty of spa facilities for couples to enjoy together and, in truth, there's only a couple of extra steam rooms in the ladies health suite...

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with a friend on the two night package. So relaxing and staff very friendly and helpful. The full body massage and facial were great, the facilities were excellent and food was amazing. The ambiance was just right and we left feeling refreshed and pampered. This was my third visit and am still impressed with the high standards. Can't wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beatree
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Huge thanks for joining us again and for taking the time to review your latest Stobo experience. Delighted to hear everything was up to our usual high standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on a future occasion. Kind regards,

315 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stobo
9.6 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,838 reviews
10.0 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
723 reviews
8.7 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
35.5 km away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
9.0 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stobo Castle

Address: Stobo Castle Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Stobo
Price Range: RM609 - RM1,616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo
Castle Stobo
Stobo Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stobo Castle staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
UK
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe room is well worth the extra cost!”
Suzied908, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Spencer, above the spa reception. Nice room but no view. Handy for the pool etc. WOuldn't mind staying there again.”
weesmiler, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are inside the castle.”
beatree, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are beautiful”
arlenemcclymont, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“None ... all was perfect xx”
GailC158, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5