We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakhill Inn

Hotels.comUS$107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakhill Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oakhill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Lynton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Arrived on a Monday evening for a three night stay. We wanted a few days away following a bereavement. Booked online and one of the questions on the booking form was estimated time of arrival, to which I replied 15.30. We arrived at approximately that time and found the door was locked. Pub closes between 15.00 and 17.00. We knocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
OakhillManager, General Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear the many good points regarding your stay and on the whole you and your husband enjoyed the stay. I am however disappointed to hear so many negatives. I can only apologies that your room was not serviced for your arrival...

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

From our arrival to the end of our stay the staff worked to ensure we had a great stay. Providing fresh milk for the tea service in the room and bringing mulled wine to our room as my hands were full were thoughtful and we very much appreciated given you don't get this in most big hotels! Food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elm_ukuk
OakhillManager, General Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Dear Elm_ukuk Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is always very pleasing to hear when our guests have had such an enjoyable stay. I have passed your kind comments on to my team. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Kind regards Wayne Britten General Manager

London
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My wife and I arrived on the dot of 1:30pm last Friday and were bluntly told that lunch service had finished by a sour faced gorgon who barely looked up. Clearly one understands that country inns have shorter lunch serving times, but 1:30pm on a Friday seems a bit abrupt, especially as some diners in view were only just starting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alexash
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Just popped in here for a quick lunch on the way home & were delighted with the food...so tasty, home made & their home made BBQ sauce is to die for!!! Will definitely be going back soon, so friendly too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison B
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a night away here and it was fab. Our room was stunning and had a beautiful roll top bath which was very romantic. The shower was amazing aswell. The bar area is cosy with a log fire where we enjoyed a drink before dinner. Our dinner was great- one of the best steaks I've ever had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vikki H
Somerset
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We visited the Oakhill Inn for a dinner party of 8 on a busy Saturday, so plenty of opportunity for things to go wrong, but nothing did! The food was excellent, an appetising menu with lots of appeal, well presented and beautifully cooked. Service was first class, friendly and helpful - our young waiter, Joel, was a real star. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claret_til_i_die
OakhillManager, Owner at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words and so glad that you enjoyed the food. We'll pass your compliment to Joel also! We look forward to seeing you again soon !

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Rambling roadside inn with character, presenting a number of different areas to chill in and enjoy the great beer and food that is in offer. Food was very good but a bit pricey and the service was friendly and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable, and they overlook the garden at the rear rather than the road at the front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 342SteveO
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We work hard to make our pub a friendly and relaxing place so it's always so pleasing to hear when customers have had this experience! See you soon we hope!

Delgany, Ireland
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Very comfortable, terrifically friendly and accommodating staff. Hearty breakfast in the morning (although slightly later on the option on breakfast would have been better). Pub dinner lovely as well with a lovely friendly atmosphere in the the pub itself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquiC68
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Delighted with your review, thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast request taken on board! See you soon.

Pilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Just eaten lunch at Oakhill Inn. I must have driven past it 100 times, now I wish I had stopped earlier. Great food ( we had burger and fish and chips). The portions were big. The menu was not massive, but just the job. Surely it is better to offer a few things done very well than loads of stuff....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCPL1972
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We're so pleased you finally made the stop. See you again soon.

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Staying locally in Farrington Gurney we were recommended to try the Oakhill Inn. From start to finish the staff were very attentive and provided excellent service. Food was very good with an excellent range of beers and lagers. The low lighting and rustic charm of the pub completed a really nice night out without breaking the bank.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhill
6.9 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
6.9 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
651 reviews
23.7 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
945 reviews
4.2 km away
The Holcombe Inn
The Holcombe Inn
#1 of 2 in Holcombe
414 reviews
11.1 km away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional English country inn with five, 4 star, en suite rooms. Comfy sofas and roaring log fires in the winter and a beautifully sunny walled garden in the summer. The bar is a show case of well kept real ales, local ciders and excellent wines. Menus are full of fresh seasonal produce from local suppliers and served throughout the pub or in the dining room. Rooms are comfortably furnished with particular attention paid to the bedding and showers.This is a family run inn and the welcome guests receive is genuine and warm. An excellent base from which to explore all that Bath and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakhill Inn

Address: Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Oakhill
Price Range: RM465 - RM656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Oakhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oakhill Hotel Oakhill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakhill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beds are super comfy, we were in a twin room room 3.”
Luxuryseeker1, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 was a big and airy room with a large en suite bathroom”
342SteveO, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The larger rooms are to be preferred, but not very noicy in any of them”
rolfl1, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 was large and comfy but you could hear the traffic from the A road on weekdays”
perkyb, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Just ask, They are very accomodating”
Blacksheeep, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$107
Booking.comUS$107
PricelineUS$107
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates