We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
247 St Paul St, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1215 Malta
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$218
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$216
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$201
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Hotels.comUS$216
TravelocityUS$216
Official SiteUS$269
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (165)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 23 hotels in Valletta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Rooftop pool
Free breakfast
Rooftop terrace
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Rooftop bar
Show more
Room features
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Boutique
115Reviews4Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
diverUsa wrote a review 25 Sep
USA151 contributions123 helpful votes
First the good: the front desk staff is lovely and tries their best to fix any quirks. Jennifer became a housekeeper, receptionist concierge and repair woman. Breakfast was excellent and one of the best all inclusive ones we’ve had on our travels. The rooftop pool is tiny but with a great view. The hotel is a converted palazzo. We had significant issues specific to the room. We requested a room for three, preferably with a view. We did have a room for three, that felt like a bunker as it was on the first floor with a window facing the dining room, no view. We also had air conditioning malfunction throughout the stay, with one night we spent under fans as the AC did not turn on and we just cooked. Even after the fix, the breakers kept on having to switch on. Opening the window was simply not an option as it was facing a muggy inner courtyard/thoroughfare Also, half the ports/ outlets in the room did not work. No compensation was offered, despite us having told the desk none of us slept at all for at least one night…. When you have so few days in Valletta while jet lagged, this is a big deal. Overall a cute boutique hotel with lovely staff, and our experience was room/ mechanics specific.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not get bottom floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KatW wrote a review 25 Sep
Wallingford, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful hotel excellent staff and location. Breakfast was lovely just enough to fill you up for the day. Spotless room and immaculate throughout. Access to all of Valletta’s attractions in easy walking distance
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ruth13reading wrote a review 14 Sep
Calcot, United Kingdom149 contributions46 helpful votes
Central boutique Valletta hotel, I think 45 rooms, with an awesome view of the grand harbour from the rooftop. Well maintained roof top swimming pool with jets and fantastic quality sun beds. Always found somewhere to sit and although not very well advertised there is Lunch and drinks service. Sitting with a cocktail watching the fireworks was magical. We had room 109 at the rear of the hotel. None of the rooms have a view of the grand harbour. The balcony rooms face the street. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and really quiet effective aircon. The whole hotel was immaculate, not a spec of dirt. One window to the courtyard. Tiny didn’t likes were the odd storage, aesthetically pleasing but not very practical and the mat that moved needed a heavier backing. Yes that’s how good this hotel is to be that picky! Best breakfast service I have ever had and we have travelled extensively. All the staff were really helpful and friendly, thanks to Amber for sorting out our transfer and Alison at breakfast and on the rooftop bar. Perfectly located to experience Valletta. Highly recommend, book it you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LisaRobJ wrote a review 13 Sep
Upminster, United Kingdom15 contributions32 helpful votes
Very very fortunate to come across this absolute gem last minute after having arrived in a different resort and absolutely hating it. Ideally located in the heart of Valletta. Gomerino is a relatively small, newly renovated hotel. As booked last minute (half hour before we arrived) we didn’t get a choice of rooms so we were on the ground floor. Nothing wrong with that! The room was perfect. Beds were comfy, decor was beautiful and the bathroom was great. We were also situated opposite the restaurant, separated by a stairwell which runs through the heart of the hotel. Breakfast itself was fantastic. We were given a very varied choice of breakfasts from the menu every morning. There is a small buffet too but we really looked forward to our breakfasts, both savoury and sweet. The staff on reception (and throughout to be fair) couldn’t do enough for us. They were so helpful with restaurants and bookings and places of interest. The absolute star of this hotel is the rooftop pool and terrace. It is small, I would describe the pool as a plunge pool and you won’t always get a bed but the views are amazing!!! You can see across to the 3 cities and the cruise ships in the port and it is breathtaking. Malta is a small island and there is so much to see. We only had a week, I wish it had been more. Our routine was up early, breakfast. Then out to our city/venue of choice for sightseeing, swimming etc. But always always back by 4 for some R&R on the rooftop. Then a leisurely stroll and meal in the evening (spoilt for choice for restaurants). Malta and the Gomerino Hotel is my one of my favourite ever holidays. It started so badly. Turns out, it was the best thing that could’ve happened to us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lovestotravel123456 wrote a review 6 Sep
Broadstone, United Kingdom3 contributions
+1
My husband and I have just returned home today following a 4 day break at The Gomerino Hotel and we were both so incredibly sad to have to leave! I honestly can’t fault this lovely hotel. I chose it specifically as it has a rooftop pool - as having been to Valletta at this time of year before, know how hot it is! This proved to be an excellent choice! The rooms are lovely, the breakfast was fresh and delicious, the aforementioned pool (and rooftop bar!) are gorgeous - with fabulous views over the harbour - and the staff are absolutely superb. Every single member of staff we encountered couldn’t have been more welcoming, accommodating, polite, helpful and charming. We enjoyed our stay so much we will absolutely return - hopefully next year, once the flight schedule is released! We cannot recommend this hotel enough and hope any future travellers reading this will enjoy their stay as much as we did ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ives wrote a review 3 Sep
2 contributions
The hotel was brand new, renovated and had all amenities. It’s also located strategically in the heart of Valletta where the Upper, Lower Gardens and St John Co Cathedral are all a very short walk. Hotel was near restaurants and not far from the harbor boats. Additionally hotel staff was helpful and resourceful and the Spa and service were fantastic. Lastly, the hotel pool overlooking the harbor was great. Highly recommend all around.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kristin d wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions4 helpful votes
My daughter and I stayed at The Gomerino for 5 days to celebrate her obtaining her Masters degree. The hotel was immaculately kept up. We were so pleasantly surprised with the rooms, the beautiful pool on the rooftop not to mention the amazing breakfasts. My daughter has celiacs and they were able to accommodate her need for gluten free items. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A big shout out to Amber and Liezel as well as the young gentleman that brought us fresh squeezed orange juice every morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from steven hyzler, General Manager at The Gomerino Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kristin d, We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Gomerino Hotel and that you found our hotel and restaurant team to be exceptional as well as the staffs knowledge and willingness to please to be the best service you ever had. We all work towards achieving the best experience for all our guests and reading your positive comments and words of praise make us feel fully appreciated. We are truly happy that your stay at The Gomerino was memorable and we will be more than happy to welcome you once again. Best regards Steven Hyzler Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David L wrote a review Aug 2022
Perth, Australia320 contributions159 helpful votes
+1
This hotel really is outstanding. The decor, facilities , ambiance and staff are top notch. It has so much character too , keeping homage to the period building style. Location couldnt be better , very central but with amazing views from the roof top terrace and pool. Really couldnt fault anything about the hotel at all . Only minor issue we had was with the hotel's recommended car hire company "Butterly rentals" who were awful, but not the hotels fault. We would defnateky return. Anna at breakfast was amazing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 409 has amazing grand harbour view from window
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabien Sant Fournier, Other at The Gomerino Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dear DavLyle, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Gomerino Hotel! We are really pleased that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction, and found Anna to be so helpful. We are, however, sorry to hear about your diisappointment with the car rental company. This feedback is very important to us. We will explore other options we can recommend to our vlaued guests. Regards, Fabien Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate H wrote a review Aug 2022
34 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
We cannot recommend this hotel enough, it's centrally located and has everything you need. The room was airy and spotless with immaculate cleaning and turn downs in the rooms by the hospitality team, and the eco friendly refilled shower gel and shampoo smelt lovely. The bath was just the right size to really relax in after a long day's walking, but you're spoilt for water choices in the hotel. The rooftop pool has incredible views and is great for reading a book and having a cocktail in, with plenty of loungers. And the spa pool was great for a quiet relaxation nap on the futons. I had a massage from the spa masseuse, who really worked out my shoulder muscles for me, the options for hardness were wide and I wish I'd had more time to have a relaxing massage and another firm one too! The breakfast was great with cooked options and a spread of cold buffet choices, even with mini doughnuts. If we were to return to Valletta we would definitely like to return to The Gomerino.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabien Sant Fournier, Other at The Gomerino Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dear E2748GFkateh. Thank you for your positive and elaborate review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Particularly, that you made good use of our spa facilites and fully apprecialed the skill of our masseuse. We also pleased that you notice our environmentally friendly efforts such as the soap dispensers and water caraffes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you revisit Valletta. Regards, Fabien Asistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valeria P wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed 4 nights at the Gomerino Hotel and it was great. Proper boutique style hotel with very friendly and helpful staff who made some great recommendations for what restaurants and sites to visit. Room was a little dark with not much natural lighting, but it wasn't an issue for us. Bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've come across in hotels and air con works very well which was essential in July heat. Best thing about the hotel was the rooftop pool and facilities - we were always able to find a lounging spot; cocktails made on the rooftop pool were also excellent. Breakfast was great - I would highly recommend eggs Benedict and the savoury french toast. It was our first time in Valletta and if we came back I would definitely considered staying at the Gomerino again - location is great and it was so easy to get everywhere. There is big covered food market just opposite the hotel which has a shop and lots of options for lunch. We also tried the Gomerino special massage, and my Partner got the Gomerino aromatherapy massage and we were very happy with both.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$147 - US$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaValletta
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gomerino Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Gomerino Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. John's Co-Cathedral (0.2 km), Lascaris War Rooms (0.2 km), and War HQ Tunnel (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gomerino Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Gomerino Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Gomerino Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Sotto, Aki, and Papannis Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Gomerino Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Gomerino Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.