We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Villa Trapp

15/06/2017 16/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Trapp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Trapp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

A lovely house to stay in. Peaceful out of city but only short drive in. Staff friendly helpful but discreet. Check out the photos of the house. If you like The Sound of Music this house is a must. If, like me, you have never seen the film and don't intend to its a real opportunity to find out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth180548
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Children loved references to the movie at the hotel. The edelweiss room is huge and is great for a overnight stay. We absolutly liked it. Two stores nearby, railway station as well. Parking on the grounds. If you are not a fan of the movie Sound of music, it would be just another villa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D0B1
Germany
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We were charged for our hotel stay at the Villa Trap even though we cancelled within the policy of the hotel. We needed to modify our reservation. We could only stay one night rather than two. They did not want to work with us, and figure out the new price. The hotel wanted to charge us the full amount for...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank PMEK
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Hello You may call it a terrible customer service, I say, this are the terms and conditions. A booking is a contract, both sides have to agree and stick to the letter of it. You simply did not cancel within the cancellation time! The Villa Trapp is always available via phone or email.

Colchester
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We booked this hotel online using Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The suite we had had 2 bedrooms and a sitting room. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. It is a little way out of the centre of the city but the bus service is good and the taxi back to the hotel at the end of the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidColchester
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

This place offers so much more than a regular hotel would. The history is literally displayed everywhere and guests are more than welcome to peruse the walls and displays of the actual Von Trapp family. My friend and I were treated wonderfully by staff and had an incredible pleasant stay. Breakfast itself was marvelous. The check-in times are between 7am-7pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderer519
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

What more could I say than, thank you, thank you, thank you!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Beautiful old house in Salzburg. It was nice to come and experience Villa Trapp and see first hand where the actual family lived. We arrived on the train from Vienna and it is about a 10-15 minute cab ride away. We arrived before checkin time at 3 and were happy to wait for someone to arrive to check us in,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peteonholiday
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I booked this hotel for the experience to stay at the actual house of the Von Trapp family. The house is beautiful, and you can see all the pictures of the family and a brief story about the room you stay in. Our room (Junior Suite) was nice, but my parents rooms (a double room) was not, instead of a...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Nancy M
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Dear Nancy M Thank you very much for your review, I am glad you liked the Junior Suite you had and the arrangement for your late arrival was perfect. You might even have ordered food and beverages in advance, or we could make a reservation in one of our excellent restaurants nearby. I am sure you were aware of the...

Reviewed 5 April 2015

We checked in and checked out after 10 minutes when we were informed by the one member of staff that the hotel seems to have , that from 7pm - 7 am a total of 12 hours there are no staff on the premises !! If for some unforseen reason there is an emergency the lobby phone has an emergency...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jet1215
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Dear Amy Fulcher Thank you for taking special trouble and register at Trip Advisor. We appreciate every review, even those who try to put us down, because we are happy to learn more about people. You must have been very upset, when writing this review. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, but you certainly read...

Spangdahlem, Germany
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We loved seeing and staying in the actual home of the von Trapp family. The family memorabilia and photographs throughout the villa were fun to look at as well as to read about the various family members on the plaques by the doors. Since we had a car it wasn't a problem getting to the villa which is located in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark B
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We booked two rooms well in advance but unfortunately when we arrived we found out they had double booked us... It was very annoying as we were travelling with 2 young children, one aged 5 and one 4 months. The manager blamed one of the staff for the error. After getting over this the rooms given to us were large...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank RJBTokyo
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Let me again apologise for the duoble booking of one room you booked. I am glad we could offer our biggest suite as a compensation to you. You could even change the booking you made for the second room, to a much bigger suite. So even if a mistake occurred, you had better...

370 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (358)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (164)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
519 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
419 reviews
3.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
991 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,389 reviews
3.1 km away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Trapp

Address: Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Price Range: RM445 - RM1,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Trapp 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa Trapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trapp Hotel Salzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Trapp staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Trapp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms have views and are quieter.”
Mange245, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The family suite is perfect for couples travelling with more than one child.”
mrsannaclose, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A must of any lovers of The Sound of Music”
Melb_buddy, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quite rooms, hard to get WiFi”
924AnneL924, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If your not staying here because of the Sound of Music find a different hotel, you'll be dissappointed.”
leejohn11, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
getaroom.com
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates