We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mondschein

Booking.comUS$118*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$134*
US$118*
Great Deal
US$120*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Mondschein
Hotel Mondschein
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 403: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mondschein
 Click to rate
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We had a superior room on the front of the hotel with a spectacular view of the old town, river, and mountains. Our son had a single room in the back. Both rooms were clean, had ensuite bathrooms, and were well-furnished and tidy. The heating/ventilation system worked poorly so rooms were a bit stuffy and hot. Breakfast served daily was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky089
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with a friend for a week. We paid extra for a room at the front and had a wonderful view of the River Inn, the old town and snow capped Alps. Whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast! Plenty of variety, including English breakfast tea for me. My friend stuck with the cappuccino. Staff very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LSargant
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for two nights, in a Deluxe Room for 2-4 persons (we like space!), and were not disappointed. The room is very large and comfortable, with a good bathroom and separate WC. It was absolutely silent, although it faced the street, and although it was located across from the elevator, because it has very sturdy doors. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIA CRISTINA G
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really wanted to stay here...but just couldn't. Traveling with another couple who had very little European travel experience, I decided to forego a known entity (Hilton) in favour of a more authentic and quaint hotel in Innsbruck. Darn, it didn't work. Rooms were small, no tiny. Entire hotel smelled of smoke. Furniture was just cheap and old, not quaint....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAP1216
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are very sorry to hear about your bad experience. Unfortunately you did not like the style of our hotel, which is a 600 years old historical building with mainly hand made furniture. Smoking is forbidden in our hotel. We hope you had a better stay at Hilton.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Excellent localisation - cross the river and enter the Innsbruck`s old town. That`s it. The hotel claims to have been renovated. I would not like have visited it before. Beautifull photos on the hotel web page do not tell much about how it really looks like. Small rooms, old doors, transparent to any neighbour noise. To be honest - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maciej U
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are very sorry about your critics. We do not claim 4 stars, the stars are given by the Austrian Hotel Association. We are a small, traditional hotel in a historical building, over 600 years old, most people choose our hotel for this!

Essex, UK
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3 day Christmas market visit here but had a bit of an issue upon check in when we were given a room out the back with views of brick walls, little natural light grim decor. We returned to the reception and said this was not the deluxe room we had booked saying we expected views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyandClive
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for staying with us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! As you came early to check in, we gave you the only available deluxe room at that time, when you did not like the room, we had to ask you to wait until the other room was ready.We are sorry...

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

This was such a charming little hotel. On the outside it looks a bit old, but that is to be expected with the historic architecture of the building. The rooms were very up to date! Everything looked new, was well layed out, and was very clean; the beds were also surprisingly comfortable. (Its not always a given in this price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank austria12345
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and come back one day, we would be very pleased!

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We were in this hotel for a week and had a great time. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is very good, with a great variety of quality bread, cheese... They also have a room where you can keep your gear (ski/snowboarding/bikes).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana Paula Z
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we are happy that you had such a good time with us!

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stayed for 4 nights on a city visit at the end of February the hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are slightly dated but the decoration is in good order and the bathrooms are modern with good facilities. Breakfast is a buffet layout with scrambled and boiled eggs and a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Thank you so much, dear Peter, we will let Patrick know! All of us send you our very best regards!

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and nice. Special thanks for the cleaners. Liked the breakfast a lot coffee was so good. Staff was polite and helpfull. The hotels location is very good too. We liked everything in this hotel :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni H
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review

Thank you so much, dear guests!

557 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (296)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Deluxe Room for 3-4 People (27)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Double Room Classic (23)
Viewed
Double Room with Oriel (23)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Single Room Classic (22)
Viewed
Small Twin Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Room Classic (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.1 km away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,236 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 75 in Innsbruck
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
501 reviews
0.4 km away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#2 of 75 in Innsbruck
621 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 75 in Innsbruck
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Mondschein is set in a great location, just across the river from the Old Town and close to the myriad attractions, restaurants and shopping facilities. The hotel has 31 rooms in different room categories, including family rooms and 1 family suite. All rooms are comfortably furnished and provide all amenities needed to make your stay a pleasant one. All guests can enjoy the complimentary breakfast buffet served each morning or relax in the welcoming bar for after-dinner drinks. Attentive service and a friendly, family atmosphere characterize the style of the house and guarantee your well-being! The main train station and the airport (INN) are only a few kilometers away from the hotel. Garage parking is available 100 meters behind the hotel, for an additional fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Address: Mariahilfstrasse 6 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Price Range: RM461 - RM979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondschein
Best Western Innsbruck
Innsbruck Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#8 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mondschein staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mondschein staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth paying extra for a room at the front. View spectacular!”
LSargant, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the river: it is so beautiful!”
646mariacristinag, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the back of the hotel and it was quiet.”
111JCM111, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room with a view. Our view was of a room opposite :(”
ichii_feet, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room over looking the river is best,”
P2844GJchrisg, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$118* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$120
Hotwire.comUS$120
HotelQuicklyUS$134
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates