We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Franzenshof

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Franzenshof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Franzenshof
See the most recent reviews
Showing 22: English reviews
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not close from most monuments and places to visit, but close to transports. Warm and friendly staff, and good service! The buffet breakfast was enough, and they had a wide variety of information leaflets in the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isa L
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Isa, thank your very much for your feedback. Beste regards Family Sobotak & Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 May 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heraldohiggens
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Lielvarde, Latvia
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is good place to stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet street, close to Taborstrasse tube and Praterstern railway station (direct route to VIE airport). City center is within walking distance. The staff in reception was very friendly. One slight issue is that there is no shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainars B
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ainars B, thank your very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards from Vienna Famliy Sobotka & Team

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It was hard to find smth cheap during winter holidays, and likely enough we found this hotel. Hotel Franzenshof is pretty close to the ferries wheel (15 min walking) and 30 minutes from the center (we really enjoyed the walk, you will see pretty much all your sights in those 30 min). also located right next to the U2 metro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keesya_face
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear keesya_face, thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna. Best regards Familiy Sobotka & Team

Gold Coast
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night and found the hotel to be nice and clean. The location is quite good with a quick five minute walk to the station with three stops right into the city. If you are doing a quick stay then this is perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon D
franzenshof, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Rhiannon D, thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna. Best regards Family Sobotka & Team

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hi, There is no connection between the photos on the webiste/booking.com and what you are really offered. We had the smallest room ever (not even 8m2), no garbage bin, no soap/shampoo/shower gel. Only a very small room and a very rude and sarcastic receptionist. For 70 eur/night it was really dissponting. Thank God we didn't stay there for more than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank camelia c
franzenshof, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Camelia, thank your very much for your feedback. We are sorry, that you did not feel comfortable during you stay. It is right that we have smaller and bigger rooms due to the fact that our house was built in 1911.With regular remodelling and renovations we want to enable our guest a recreational and relaxing stay in Vienna. All...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Excellent stay. This is very good value place to stay - one of the cheaper places to stay in vienna. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet street. It is about 50 m from the Taborstrasse tube and it takes about 5-10 minutes to get to the city center. I would stay again. One...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jerrywesterby
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We rented the "apartment", with two bedrooms and a little dining area. Two of us slept in one bed (it's the twins that are pushed together), one slept in the other bed and one in a fold out foam couch thing (probably more suited for a child but okay for a small adult). The apartment was spotless, the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissMissouriPeaks
Aarschot, Belgium
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Location is great, not to far off from center. Easy connection to metro. For people interested, the congress center is also not to far off and easy reachable. Price is great, but you get what you pay for. They also ask you to pay in cash and do not like credit card which is a bit weird. Rooms are rather...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stijn112233
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room was fine with a decent ensuite and cleaned everyday. It was a small size but perfectly adequate. The hotel has good links to a few of the metro lines so is a good base for visiting the centre. However we found the hotel itself to be a bit creepy, it was like stepping back in time in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaM88_12

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#260 of 366 in Vienna
279 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
#215 of 366 in Vienna
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#155 of 366 in Vienna
1,421 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#222 of 366 in Vienna
216 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#24 of 366 in Vienna
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We welcome our guest to a friendly and cosy atmosphere in our charming City Hotel. Enjoy your stay in our bright and friendly furnished rooms. Relax after an exciting day and make you feel at home.Whether you travel with your Family, or arrive for a business-trip, just on your own - we offer a wide range of accomodation, from single rooms to spacious four-bed rooms among you can choose as desired.Our rooms have shower/toilet, timber flooring and allergic linen. Furthermore in all our rooms we have Sat-TV, telephone and WiFi.After a comfortable night we offer you a full and balanced breakfast buffet with tasty and fresh Austrian products. Family Sobotka is looking forward to your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Franzenshof

Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 19, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: RM147 - RM218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Franzenshof 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Franzenshof staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Franzenshof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never visit this one! ”
 of 5 bubbles loupvovk, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Bring a double plug if you want to anything else plugged in next to the bed in addition to the lamp provided!”
 of 5 bubbles Emmadoesit, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“maybe an extra blanket although Im sure they have them down stairs if needed”
 of 5 bubbles heraldohiggens, 19 May 2014 | Read review
“great economy choice”
 of 5 bubbles keesya_face, 5 Jan 2014 | Read review
4 of 4