We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Praterstern

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Praterstern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Praterstern
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I have got a very small room, which only proper standard facility was the smart TV. Lacking of vacancies I had to book a room without bath or toilet, not assuming that the shared bathroom was on a different floor and the shared toilet had no ventilation and smelled awful (when Joseph Cotton was chasing Orson Welles at the canalisation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertopS4023NU
Barbara S, Owner at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Switzerland
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed two nights here. This hotel does not offer Glamour and Luxury. You get an easy link to the Airport via "S-Bahn", you have good connections to City Center, the garden is just lovely and peaceful. Breakfast is okay, and the rooms under the roof comfortable and large. Over all just a good choice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markus L
Barbara S, Owner at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Markus, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you liked the location of our hotel and our lovely garden. We are looking forward to welcome you in Vienna again. Best regards Family Sobotka & Team

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gideona448
Barbara S, Owner at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Vientiane, Laos
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

They don t accept any card, Internet is upon request, for 3 eur/day. I chose a room with shared bathroom, 3rd floor. The loo is just one for 3 rooms and the only shower is at the 1st floor. Ok, it s not expensive but in 2016 I expect more facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mpro1975
Barbara S, Manager at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Mauro, we are sorry that we could not full fill all your expectations. In our house you can choose after you needs and wishes between 3 types of single rooms: single room with running water (toilet and shower on the floor), single room with shower (toilet on the floor), single room with shower & toilet. We would be happy...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Great location, close to railway station, lots of restaurants and bars in the area but relatively peaceful and quiet too. Room was nice, clean and cosy, no complaints whatsoever. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria M
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear Maria, thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that we were able to inspire you with our location and the friendliness of our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna. Best regads Family Sobotka

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 228tanyaw
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Resita, Romania
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We chose for the second time Hotel Praterstern in Wien. The first time was in 2007 and was OK. But unfortunately now I had a bad experience. On arrival we had no where to park our car for unload our luggage, the hotel has no reserved seats for clients. I had to park on forbidden place on the street for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrei-Carol S
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very sorry that we could not full fill your expectation in total. You are right that we had some problems with fixing the broken sensor in the bathroom, but we have informed you about all steps of repairing. In Vienna we have a short parking zone, that means that you have to pay for the parking...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 31 January 2016

this hotel is very cute, it has excellent location for walking to the centre or public transport, shops, restaurants nearby. our rooms were on the 4th floor. the room was much more than I expected, very nice, clean, spacious. the breakfast room is quite small but we always found a spot. the staff was very helpful and pleasant, in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viaggare111
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards Family Sobotka

Kennewick, Washington
Reviewed 5 December 2015

This is definitely a budget hotel. It has very small rooms. The bed was comfortable. The TV worked. Pay for Wi-Fi. Very clean room. The room and hall had a bit of a musty smell on arrival which resolved with opening the window. Close to subway but get clearer directions--it is on narrow hard to see street with a just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Praterstern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We wish a good start in the new year. Best regards Family Sobotka & Hotel Praterstern

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#265 of 366 in Vienna
73 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#263 of 366 in Vienna
285 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#154 of 366 in Vienna
379 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Arthotel ANA Adlon
Arthotel ANA Adlon
#214 of 366 in Vienna
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We, family Sobotka, welcome our guests to a friendly and cosy amtosphere in our charming vienna city hotel. Whether you plan a trip with your family, alone or for business, we expect our guests between the Wiener Pater and St. Stephens Cathedral in hearty ambience. Enjoy your stay in our comfortable and bright furnished rooms. You can choose as desired form single rooms to large family-sized rooms. All our rooms have allergic linen, timber flooring and flat-tv, Telefon and wifi (small charge). For our guests with special needs we have our superior rooms in the top floor. Relax and enjoy refreshments or a small snack in our quiet garden courtyard in friendly amtosphere. Services: + buffet breakfast with Austrian products + 24 hours reception & Hotelbar + parking space (advance order) + bicycle rental + bicycle storage + dogs are welcome + laundry service We are looking forward to your visit. Family Sobotka & Team ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Praterstern

Address: Mayergasse 6 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: RM254 - RM493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Praterstern 1*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Praterstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praterstern Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Praterstern staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Praterstern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anywhere else in Vienna”
 of 5 bubbles 387martinb, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take the superior room!”
 of 5 bubbles 660markusl, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose at least a double room even if traveling alone, it's inexpensive enough and will give you more room hence more comfort.”
  • Clean, comfortable, very pleasant room
 of 5 bubbles W7033KNmariam, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the courtyard out back..”
 of 5 bubbles 228tanyaw, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“get toilet paper from home”
 of 5 bubbles andreicarols, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5