We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
See the most recent reviews
Showing 775: English reviews
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

+ clean, recently renovated and tastefully decorated rooms Complimentary Afternoon and evening snacks Centrally located with plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby Helpful staff - Single rooms are kind of small

Helpful?
Thank Alexander590
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, Thank you for your stay and the nice feedback! Welcome back again when in Oslo. Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General Manager More 

Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I stay in this hotel 15 something nights a year. I love the location, and beds are comfortable. Breakfast is great. Rooms are a bit dark to my taste. Ask for a room on the higher floors for more light. Complimentary supper which is nice.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hesyversen
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hello. Thank your choosing our hotel and your loyalty! We appreciate it and looking forward to meet you here soon again! Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General Manager More 

Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I am very disappointed with the laundry service of this hotel. To think it is not cheap (170NOK/trouser). I opted to have my 2 pairs of slacks laundered. I received them the night we were to leave, trusting that they did a good job, they went straight to one of my luggages. Upon arrival at Bergen, I got shocked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank udascoeye
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hello. It was very-very disappointing to read how lousy job the laundry company have accomplished. I am sorry for that and apologize deeply. Please contact me with more details and I will make sure your money is refunded! Hope to hear from you at naira.lalayan@choice.no Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General Manager More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Airr condition broken, no info in advance. No room changed offered. Lied to by night portier that room temp was centrally controlled, I was offered a fan (which was insisted by night portier) which confirms it was a known problem

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Icepush
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. It is a pity to hear that your room was too warm. I wish you were offered another room. There is no air-condition at our hotel and generally not in any other hotel in Oslo with some minor exceptions. Instead there is air ventilation/circulation system. We are experiencing some difficulties in some of... More 

East Midlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful hotel. Stayed for 2 nights for a long weekend and from check in to check out the experience has been wonderful. Lovely staff, great evening light buffet, fantastic breakfast, hot drinks that you can help yourself to in the lobby and a super room. The one and only thing I can fault is the WiFi which struggles to... More 

Helpful?
Thank James O
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Dear James. Thank you for the very nice review! Welcome back another time when in Oslo and have a great autumn. Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We booked this hotel based on its overall rating (#8) in Oslo, but it fell far short of that, which was unfortunate, because by comparison, we loved the Clarion that we stayed at in Stavanger. Anyways, the breakfast buffet was delicious and you are near the train station, but we learned very quickly that everything in the central part of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TedW67
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hi Ted. It a pity to learn that the hotel did not meet your demand in any way. I have a full respect and understanding for your comments, as style and decor is a matter of personal taste and preferences. I am sorry to read that the Wi-Fi was not good enough, and will invest all my efforts to get... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The hotel has a good location and the rooms are clean, though cozy. The breakfast buffet is probably the best I've had in Europe. The selection is huge and the quality is outstanding. Save room for several trips to the buffet line to get all the tasty choices.

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hi Mark. We loved reading your review! It inspires us to keep up the good work and even try harder. Hope to see you again. Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General Manager More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I stayed in Clarion hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is great. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is good and there is also a free dinner in a high standard (for a tourist in Oslo it saves money and effort). I strongly recommend the hotel!!

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank menachema2016
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hi. It was a pleasure to read your kind a very positive review! We appreciate it and wish a nice day! Hope to see you again. Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General Manager More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Just about average, layout of the room is wasted space. Queen size beds so you better be good friends or in love. Breakfast is decent, lack oatmeal though. Showers are nice sized and like the fact you got body lotions! The hotel offers snacks midday and evening- bit salty but okay. Not my favorite place in Oslo, but decent.

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
NairaLalayan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review

Hello Liz. We appreciate your feedback, although we believe that we offer a hotel much better than “average”. It is a matter of taste, of course. Glad to hear you have tried different hotels in Oslo and have a favorite one! Thanks for giving us a chance anyway and have a nice stay! Med vennlig hilsen/kind regards Naira Lalayan General... More 

972 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Room/Suite (125)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (193)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Signature Suite Bryllup Suiten (54)
Viewed
Signature Suite Operasjefens Kontor (60)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (56)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 90 in Oslo
1,865 reviews
The Thief
#2 of 90 in Oslo
1,340 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 90 in Oslo
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: RM724 - RM1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oslo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#4 Business Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
California
California
over a year ago
Detroit, Michigan
over a year ago
Worthing, Barbados
10 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might get a quieter room on an upper floor at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Outport, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floors with balconies (for smokers)”
 of 5 bubbles pavelp338, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go as high as possible (7th floor) to escape the construction outside.”
 of 5 bubbles dutchj, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Unaware of any good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles JennieJenJen, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“If you need to work, be careful on what room type you get. Single rooms have no working space.”
  • Small room with not working space
  • Small room with not working space
 of 5 bubbles marekz, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay