We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thon Hotel Astoria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Astoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

954 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 440: English reviews
Start your review of Thon Hotel Astoria
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is conveniently situated. However it was a real shock after staying at the Thon Hotel in Kirkenes. We were expecting the same level of hotel so it was a big disappointment to discover it is a budget hotel that is undergoing some renovation. The reception was very friendly and the breakfast was good. The room was tiny, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frandb17
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your review. I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Thon Hotel Astoria. We appreciate for taking the time to give us this feedback. This is the only way we can improve ourselves,...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very near to central station. Good breakfast. Possible to get early breakfast pack if you are leaving early morning which is really nice gesture. Rooms are clean, staffs are friendly. Recommended for leisure or business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Galaxy
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you, and that the staff took good care of you under your stay with us. Welcome back for your next stay! Best Regards Cathrine Bergan General Manager

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last march'15. The location is good due to a nearby train station, walkable to most of the tourist attractions, the room was quite congested and a small sized bathroom. Five stars for the tidiness and soundproofing. Breakfast was good and a youth friendly, welcoming reception team ~

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Albert D
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear David Albert, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. Thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast and our receptionist team. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it. We warmly welcome you back to us for your next stay! Best Regards...

Corralejo, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great room.Would have liked more light in the TV room.The heated floor in the bath room was great..The breakfast was plentyfull,and they have glutenfree. The staff was wonderfull. And the location is perfect.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mali580322
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you. Thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast and staff. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We warmly...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon entering the lobby, it was apparent this was a very budget hotel. A door held together with gaffa tape and seedy feel made me feel depressed about what awaited me upstairs. The rooms were better than expected - nice comfortable bed, modern clean (but tiny) bathroom. Curtains were torn, wifi worked at night but not in the morning. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyCar245
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations upon your check in due to our renovation. I am although glad you had a good experience with us. Welcome back at Thon Hotels! Best regards Cathrine Bergan General Manager

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great place for a short or long vacation,convenient location. Delicious and a great choice of food.Neat hotel room, a small disadvantage, because there is no place cached hygiene supplies. The friendly and helful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amberrg
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience. I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you. Thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We warmly welcome you...

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

So let's be clear right from the start. This is a budget hotel, so if you are looking for a luxury place to stay, or a hotel with lots of facilities, this is not the place for you. You will only be disappointed and write a scathing review. But if you need a place for a short stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheAviator0765
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. It is so wonderful for us to see that you got a good value for money as our guest. I am also glad to see that our location was a good match for you. We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you...

Norway
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

If you are after the location well this place is for you as it is located in dronningsgate and very near at Karl Johan where all the shopping and activities takes place. We had a family room since we are 3. My mother , my husband and me the room was ok we had a double bed and 2 more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NurseAllen18
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking your time to leave your review of your stay with us. It is great to hear you did enjoy your stay here with us and that the staff took good care of you under your stay. I am also glad you enjoyed our central location. We warmly welcome you back! Best regards Cathrine Bergan...

Reviewed 6 February 2017

I'm staying at the hotel right now and already after half a day I'm ready to move. When I checked in the whole hotel including the room smelled of fried bacon. Now I returned in the evening after a long day, just to find out that the internet that is offered is EXTREMELY slow and also only for a limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin R
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Kerstin, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your review. I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Thon Hotel Astoria. We appreciate for taking the time to give us this feedback. This is the only way we can improve ourselves,...

Reviewed 27 January 2017

Lets start with the negatives first, after all, you always want the bad news first, right? This hotel is localized very centrally in Oslo, and that is what this hotel really has going for it. More diasappointing is it that the hotel has a very shabby and wore-down look, it kind of feels like the hotel has given up pretending,...

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odd-Einar S
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your review. I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Thon Hotel Astoria. We appreciate for taking the time to give us this feedback. This is the only way we can improve ourselves,...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
590 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#20 of 100 in Oslo
770 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Price Range: RM512 - RM799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Astoria staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Westerville, Ohio

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Astoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles kerstinr644, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Like in most city hotels: Choose a room as high up as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles sigmundm, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“(no indication of differences)”
 of 5 bubbles JulieStoneybrook, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Interior courtyard if street noise bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles 007Katie007, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You might want to get an inner room away from street noises.”
 of 5 bubbles M1294IWsteveng, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5