We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Klubben

Save
Share
Nedre Langgate 49, Tonsberg 3126 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
US$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$148
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)

About

#3 of 7 hotels in Tonsberg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Klubben is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Tonsberg, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. A 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. In addition, Hotel Klubben offers free breakfast, which will help make your Tonsberg trip additionally gratifying. If you are driving to Hotel Klubben, parking is available. Close to some of Tonsberg's most popular landmarks, such as Oseberghaugen Royal Mound (0.5 mi) and St. Olav's Church (0.6 mi), Hotel Klubben is a great destination for tourists. Enjoy your stay in Tonsberg!
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle tours
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Danish, Norwegian
415Reviews3Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 123
  • 119
  • 92
  • 48
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
krasnoarmeiskaya wrote a review Aug 2021
Tokyo3 contributions2 helpful votes
If you are travelling with kids: Avoid like this place like plague! The side tables have covers made of glass and are taller than the bed. When my daughter made an inaccurate move, she received a deep cut and nearly lost her eye. There was a lot of blood. We had to go to an emergency room and she had stiches put on the wound. The doctors told us the cut is so deep and wide she will have a scar there for the rest for her life. If you look at the pictures, there is another table along the wall with an artificial stone surface, which is exactly at child eye-level. On the picture it does not look too intrusive, but it is actually in a narrow hallway and easy to bump into on unsteady child legs. Told two staff members but I doubt there'll be changes, it's a non-chain, privately owned place that feasts on nostalgia of the old people that seem to favor it. Really wish it was the US and I could sue them, but alas! Norway is different. Crisis management skills: ZERO. Presented with a scared bleeding child, the receptionist reacted by giving her a towel to wipe the blood. I have to admit I was flabbergasted I had to specify we needed chlorhexidine and a first-aid kit. She then called the emergency room and you'd image they'd offer at least to call a taxi to get there. Nope. We were just left to our own devices. Kiddo didn’t get as much as a toffee for her suffering. The only reason the place get a two star instead of one is thanks to their East European breakfast chef. Home-baked liver pâté, blini, sautéed organic veggies, best scrambled eggs ever, home-marinated salmon, outrageous fruit selection. I stayed in a lot of good hotels and have to admit that the creativity and talent in that breakfast is among the best. Especially for Norway a very rare sight. He could have saved the experience if only the negligence of the management was not so devastating. Still, the faults of the management should not tarnish the individual talents of the staff, so I have to give him credit to be fair. If anyone knows his name, please leave a comment. I would love to follow him and know if he moves on to a different place. Surcharges: We arrived at 13:00 instead of 15:00 only to be told it's 100 kr (€10) per hr for early check-in. Kinda petty since I travel a lot and usually if the rooms are available/cleaned it's not a problem, it's not like we arrived in the morning. Cleanness: There was huge spit snot in the drain shower that was uncleaned that my family member saw too late when already standing in the shower. You kind of don't expect these things. Sadly, they didn't tell me until after we left seeing how distressed I was about the injury to my daughter. Security: if you arrive early, your luggage will be stored in an unlocked broom room. Amenities: no public coffee machines but the superior rooms at least have a kettle and instant coffee. Stayed one night in August 2021, superior room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Brede wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Great hotel at the senter of Tønsberg, slept like a baby in the fluffy bed, breakfast and the service from the staff was amazing! I would recommend using this hotel and I will be staying here again :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Torgeir Birkeland, Daglig leder at Hotel Klubben
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Dear Brede Thank you for your feedback and your kind words. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to see you again.
Read more
Dreamer796494 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
It not for me to tell what others should do, but I will never use this hotel again. Old , tired, even dirty in places. Outdated and totally overpriced. Reminds me of hotels i stayed in when i worked in Easter Europe many years ago. Positives..........hmmm, Tønsberg is nice!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Torgeir Birkeland, Daglig leder at Hotel Klubben
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the stay did not live up to your expectations. We are constantly working to improve, and as you noticed, the hotel is under renovation. We apologize again for your bad experience.
Read more
cocochanel75 wrote a review Jul 2020
Eastern Norway, Norway20 contributions24 helpful votes
This is my very first terrible review. Which is not a great feeling, however things need to be shared. The only positive about Hotel Klubben is it is in a great location. I stayed here two nights, that was more than enough. First things upon arrival, another person infront of me was complaining that there room had no towels or toilet roll. So not a great first impression. The receptionist was pleasant enough. However, I needed to pay before not a problem and used my husband card to pay so he can accu points. The machine said godkjent, which Means payment accepted. The receptionist said it did not go through. Strange I thought, so okay I used my card. The receptionist charged me for One night when We we were staying for two. Another odd moment. So then receptionist said We can pay the other night at check out. Something rumbled in my stomach. So i asked my husband to check his account, low and behold monies had be taken from his account. So We paid for two nights already. Check out should be interesting. The room. Another question I asked the receptionist was is there an iron? She said she was not sure, then said Yes on the 5th floor. When entering the room guess what an iron!! The room was clean enough, with a TV that did not work. No plug sockets by the bed. The positive. Great view The bathroom. I do not understand why people still design 1980’s bath with a shower in it. So there was the most ugly puttyseal around the bathroom that has begun to grow mold. The ceiling was not fixed properly and random holes in the tile walls. A bad hairdryer, and very thin towels. The shower doors was also not fitted at the bottom. So kinda swung a bit. Though a positive find for the ladies, a magnifying mirror. Check out time! So they had taken money from my husband account. So the receptionist was adamant we had to pay for One extra night. So we showed her that We had already paid for the two nights. She had taken money from both of us. She was confused like us and not happy like us. We left leaving our contact Details. So to conclude, If this is a three star Hotel services need to improve. Upon arrival not just the payment issue, she did not acknowledge We were staying for two nights. No information about the breakfast times. No info that the gym is closed due to Corona times. No drinking water in the rooms, or any tea /coffee. My husband asked for the TV to be fixed. The remote controll probably needed new batteries. Yet was not fixed. No cleaning was done in our room during our stay. This could be told to us before, so We Know not to expect this During breakfast provide trays, i saw some people balancing glasses and plates. Actually could be a hazard if glasses/ plates break. So do stay here If there are no other options. The location is awesome. Just do not expect a 3 star service. I was lucky enough to bring an extension lead which shocked my husband. As lack of sockets in the bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Torgeir Birkeland, Daglig leder at Hotel Klubben
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the stay did not live up to your expectations. We are constantly working to improve, and as you noticed, the hotel is under renovation. We apologize again for your bad experience.
Read more
Swixpat wrote a review Jul 2020
Oslo, Norway28 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed two nights in the middle of the Norwegian summer holidays. Despite being placed in one of the “newly renovated” rooms, we found the interior dated. The beds were uncomfortable and the sofa was worn to the point that there was hardly any upholstery left. Upon booking we had been promised a balcony, but the “balcony” turned out to be merely a firescape that one could not enter due to windows being security windows that do not open more than two centimeters. These same windows constituted also the only means of ventilation in the room. Construction work was ongoing on our floor, for which we had received no prior notice/warning. Nobody came to make up the room or empty bins during our stay. There was quite a lot of traffic noise at night. In short - this former “grande dame” of Tønsberg may be so far gone that no matter what investments are put into its rehabilitation, it’s hard to picture its former glory restored. A positive mention goes to the ample breakfast and very nice breakfast staff, which went some way towards redeeming an otherwise disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Torgeir Birkeland, Daglig leder at Hotel Klubben
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the stay did not live up to your expectations. We are constantly working to improve, and as you noticed, the hotel is under renovation. We apologize again for your bad experience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn tønsberg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel Klubben
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayVestfoldTonsberg MunicipalityTonsberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Klubben
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Klubben?
Nearby attractions include Brygga i Toensberg (0.2 km), Castle Rock Tower (0.4 km), and Saga Oseberg (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Klubben?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Klubben?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Klubben?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Klubben?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kverneriet Tonsberg, Bombay Tandoori, and Havariet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Klubben?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Klubben located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Tonsberg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Klubben?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Klubben?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Klubben offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Klubben?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Danish, and Norwegian.