We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Basic Hotel Bergen

Hotels.comUS$98*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$175*
US$98*
US$100*
US$175*
US$98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Basic Hotel Bergen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Basic Hotel Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Near to most attractions, many eateries and supermarkets nearby. Walking to bus and train station takes about 15 mins. Room is quite spacious. Love the big pillows, good sleep. Though stay at 2nd floor, not noisy as most review mentioned. Maybe did not stay on weekends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtay2016
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear dtay2016, It is lovely to hear about your positive experience at Basic Hotel Bergen, and we thank you for this nice review. We are delighted to hear that you found the room specious, the location convenient, and that you loved the big pillows. We hope to offer you a pleasant stay again, thank you! Kindly regards Susanne and the...

Reviewed 6 November 2016

We stayed here for one night and we checked in at late hours (21:00) because of train delay from Oslo. The lock provided in the box was not working and we had to call to security guard services. They assisted us in providing another room over the call. Overall it was a pleasant location near to Airport Shuttle bus stop....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chanukya k
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear chanukya k, We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for this review. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We do however apologize for the lock box, and we are glad everything worked out in the end. We wish you the best, and hope to welcome you back to Basic Hotel Bergen

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 6 November 2016

A nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was spaceous and clean. A little bit strange to have to walk to a cafe for breakfast, but once there it was å fine cafe and the breakfast deal from the hotel was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank guest476
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear guest476, we kindly thank you for this nice review, your feedback is highly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and that you though our staff was friendly. We are also glad that you liked the bakery-deal we offer. We hope to offer you a pleasant stay again in the future. Kindly regards Susanne and...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Great location just a short walk and I was in the middle of Bergen. Loved the easy check-in and check-out. Everything I needed was there, they even provided free earplugs on the night table since there is a cool bar nearby which plays some music at night on the weekends. Great price and comfy accommodations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Jana M, Thank you for this nice review. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and fond Basic Hotel Bergen to be everything you needed. We hope to welcome you back again for a low-price, comfy stay. Kindly regards Susanne and everyone at Basic Hotel Bergen

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Too noisy outside at night, even in 4 Floor, music until 3, screaming until 5 at night, in the middle of the week. Never more! The bed was ok. Smoke comes in through the ventilation? Ok bed. Too expensive for the standard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfolvi_128758
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear kfolvi_128758, Thank you for taking your time writing a review, your opinion is highly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with a pleasant stay, and you have our deepest sympathies for being bothered by the nearby locations. We will work even harder to improve. We wish you the best in future travels. Best regards...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed two nights in Bergen while on vacation. We arrived late at night, so the reception was not staffed (only daytime). We got thorough information on how to get inside by SMS and mail, though, and were happy to see the quality of the room on the 5th floor. Although the floor in the room was not very clean,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jansen795
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Jansen795, We really appreciate this great review, and kindly thank you for the feedback. It warms our hearts to hear that the were pleased with the room in 5th floor, and the room facilities. We are glad to hear that you would recommend our hotel for both shorter and longer stays. We will work further to improve, especially on...

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 1 November 2016

As the name suggests, the hotel is very "basic" and doesn't include many extra amenities that travelers may take for granted, but the website is very clear about what exactly is/isn't included. The hotel is located very close to the city center and it's a short walk to Bryggen, as well as many other major attractions. The Wi-Fi was fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily V
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Emily V, Thank you for writing this review, your opinion is highly appreciated! We are glad that Basic Hotel Bergen was everything you needed in a hotel. It is also great to hear that you found the location and WiFi-connection convenient. We sincerely apologize for the situation with the neighbouring location. Regarding the bathroom, we will take the matter...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Very central location - all places of interest within a walking distance. Plenty of shops / bars / around. Good base for jogging/walking lovers - you can have a nice scenery evening/morning run alongside the Bergen bay Vagen. Big comfortable bed, TV with plenty of English programs. The room was not soundproof though - you can hear the music from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darkusso D
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Darkusso D, Thank you for writing this review, your feedback is highly appreciated. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed the location, and the overall experience of our hotel. It is indeed a great place to start your jogging/walking session. We are keeping in contact with the nearby locations to install further insulation, and will continuously work...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

As the name said, it was basic. No hot water facilities in the room. Coffee/tea only on 2nd floor and it costs 10kr. Not very clean: furnitures were dusty, floors were sandy. Noisy from bar next door into the early hours, even on a weeknight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FluffyGoingPlaces
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear FluffyGoingPlaces, Thank you for writing this reveiw, we really appreciate your opinion. We sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations. We work hard everyday to ensure a pleasant stay, and will take your feedback into consideration. We always want to improve, and will continue to work to improve. We wish you all the best in future travels....

Reviewed 21 October 2016

I had my luggage delayed when I moved in to the hotel. The staff was very helpful by assisiting me to contact the relevant person. He was polite and patient and really gave me great comfort in that situation. The hotel is clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chan F
Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Chan F, We really appreciate this top score review, thank you very much. It warms our hearts to hear that you were pleased with our staff, and to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of Basic Hotel Bergen. We hope we can welcome you back again, Kindly regards Susanne and all the staff at Basic Hotel Bergen.

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
656 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#10 of 47 in Bergen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: RM409 - RM964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Basic Hotel Bergen staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
1 month ago
singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Basic Hotel Bergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms at the front of the hotel are bigger ones. 4th/5th floor slight view at front!! To avoid noise go to back of hotel”
naomi-a, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Fourth floor was a great location”
kiwilois, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face the street.”
emilyv321, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper - ask to be as high up as possible away from the bar and street.”
newlueh_la, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room facing away from the street. There is nothing to see there anyway, and it can be quite noisy.”
davidlG4637CE, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$100
TripAdvisorUS$98
Hostelworld.comUS$175
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates