We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

First Hotel Marin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
First Hotel Marin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Marin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 712: English reviews
Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is near the cable car up the mountain. By foot it is a 3 minutes walk to the fish market and 5 - 7 minutes to city center. The hotel is acceptable but could use sooner than later a refurbishing touch if they want to have guests coming. It had been our 2nd stay with the hotel. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helmut W
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Helmut W, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I appreciate very much that you took the time to evaluate us. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have further comments to your stay or to help us improve our product. We look forward to wish you welcome back to...

Naples, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decent hotel to get you through your stay. No frills of any kind and not the type of hotel room you'd want to necessarily hang out in. I'd say it's very average. Very small rooms. Breakfast served only from 6:30am to 10:00am, so be careful if you're fighting jet lag.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingyankee2016
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear travelingyankee2016, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I appreciate very much that you took the time to evaluate us. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have further comments to your stay or to help us improve our product. We look forward to wish you welcome back to First...

Dorset
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fantastic stay with staff willing to go out of their way to help. This hotel is in the perfect location in the heart of Bergen, offers extremely comfortable rooms, a superb hearty breakfast but what sets it apart is the customer service. On our arrival the front desk guy went out of his way to assist us to ensure...

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieGoia
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear SusieGoia, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome back...

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

rooms need repair. Location is wonderful, in the heart of center. 3 minutes walk to Brugge. Beds and breakfast good. But truly rooms are too old for 4 stars hotel. And also must be free parking for 4 stars hotel.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariiam7
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear mariiam7, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I appreciate very much that you took the time to evaluate us. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have further comments to your stay or to help us improve our product. We look forward to wish you welcome back to First...

Alghero, Italy
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Well, this was a great disappointment as the title suggests. When arrived we came to reception, the boy at the reception called Arron did not say hello, anyway when we introduced ourselves he checked us in, that's it. He did not explain anything about the hotel or welcome us. We had to ask when breakfast is which we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoopiterJupiter
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear RoopiterJupiter, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines based on your comments. I will bring up the issues regarding the Front Office staff with the...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Stayed for two nights, Saturday and Sunday, in December. Wonderful location, friendly staff, very good facilities, good breakfast, comfortable rooms with reasonable space and good wi-fi and coffee making facility, although beds were less comfortable. Unfortunately, our room, at the front, was opposite a bar and the street was very noisy on both nights through to early morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyDays333
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear HappyDays333, Thank you very much for your positve feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. We do offer quiet rooms towards the back yard, and we would be happy to assign you one of these on your next visit. We look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Bjørghild Fjellestad General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This hotel had a perfect location in the centre of Bergen. Very central but we were not disturbed by noise in the town centre. I was however extremely disappointed to find that there was no tea and coffee in the room. We were on one of the upper level floors so whilst we had a nice view, I had to...

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susangN6115AO
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear susangN6115AO, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin! I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us. We offer free coffee and tea in all room categories from superior and above, and would be happy to assign you one of these rooms on your next visit. We...

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

so big and confortable room. i feel this is my home; lovely city and hotel. free Coffee at downstairs, good breakfast, so clean and have realy big bathroom. i hope i will come back again. everything was perfect i had good memories thanks a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nergis M
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Nergis M, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Bjørghild Fjellestad General Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Great central location, good breakfast & helpful staff, but a disco somewhere near went on until 1.00 am and the shouting and screaming outside continued until 3.00am. Easy to catch the airport bus from the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulaK5075CT
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear paulaK5075CT, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. We do offer quiet rooms towards the back yard, and we would be happy to assign you one of these on your next visit. We look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Bjørghild Fjellestad General Manager

Trondheim
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Quiet comfortable room with beds that could be adjusted to your preference. Breakfast was typically Norwegian with a good selection of cold and hot choices available. great location close to the main square and fish market.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 799stuartg
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear 799stuartg, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Bjørghild Fjellestad General Manager

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 45 in Bergen
405 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#7 of 45 in Bergen
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hanseatic Hotel
#6 of 45 in Bergen
550 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 45 in Bergen
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: RM481 - RM908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Marin staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Marin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good luck with this one”
 of 5 bubbles nolam2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is luxurious but we got it at mid range price. Free parking in street but had to rush before 8:00 am to put coins in the meter.”
 of 5 bubbles 393avip, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a SmartBed room if you like a firm mattress. Check accessibility - our rooms all had a step up to the bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles brookeo700, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room high up.”
 of 5 bubbles 469larryw, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles boydw373, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay