Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa

Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa

Passeo De Illetas 30, 07181 Ses Illetes, Calvia, Majorca Spain
Bon Sol bay area
Traveller (755)
Room & Suite (185)
Pool & Beach (175)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 6 hotels in Ses Illetes
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
In Illetas, only 8 km (5 miles) from central Palma, the clifftop Bon Sol nestles be amid pine trees, its moorish tower lofting from luxurian gardens and dominating the picturesque Palma bay. The Bon Sol is a family-owned and managed hotel, proud of its reputation for the very personal attention.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Squash
Tennis court
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Water park offsite
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Steam room
Waxing services
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more

Location

Passeo De Illetas 30, 07181 Ses Illetes, Calvia, Majorca Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Palma Mallorca Airport
12.4 km
See all flights
1,195Review85Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 965
  • 153
  • 58
  • 19
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul N wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a “tower block” style hotel with busy pools and loud music this is not the hotel for you.
The hotel is spilt over various levels with 2 roads running between the levels, the hotel is connected by elevators and tunnels which are under the road, which is unusual but fits in rather well with quaint charm that the hotel offers.
We booked the hotel on the back off the photos and location, and we were not disappointed.
Our original booking was for a twin room as this was the only room available to book at the time. Which wasn’t ideal for a honeymoon but we booked it anyway. Following booking the room I sent the hotel a direct email explaining that it was our honeymoon and if there would be any chance of making it a double room.
Upon our arrival we were greeted by happy friendly staff who helped us with our luggage from the moment we step out of our transfer to the moment we entered our room.
While checking in the owner of the the hotel came to greet us and my wife explained that we were on our honeymoon to which he replied he knew and wanted to congratulate us.
He also had upgraded our stay to a beach villa suite which was stunning not only did we get an upgraded room but we were met with a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of Cava to start our honeymoon off.
Throughout our stay all the staff were accommodating and friendly and after just one day knew who we were and which room we were staying in giving the whole experience a personal touch.
The food that was on offer was very good we booked half board and missed the breakfasts couple of times to which we were supprised that we could still order a continental to our room up to an hour after breakfast had finished all included in what we had already paid for. We were also pleasantly surprised that we could change our evening meal to a lunch meal at no extra cost so we could venture out at night and still get our money’s worth from the half board that we booked.
The facilities that the hotel offer have all the essentials that you would expect from a 4+ * hotel along with 3 pools, 2 restaurants 2 bars, table tennis, volleyball, boules, and adult only terrace, mini golf and it’s own cove with a beach and sea access.
On our day of departure we had to check out at noon and our flight was not till 9pm that night, we asked if it was possible for a late checkout which that could not do as they need our room for another booking, what they did do was give us another room to chill in and shower and we still had use of all the facilities until will left later that evening.
Overall we loved our stay at the hotel it’s has an old style colonial charm with the service and luxury expected in a modern era.
We will be back again probably for many anniversaries.
The Nolan’s
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John S wrote a review Oct 2022
Sunderland, United Kingdom54 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent a wonderful relaxing two weeks here towards the end of September.

We had a twin room overlooking the pool on the breakfast room terrace with a view of the bay of Palma with its yachts, pleasure boats,cruise ships and ferries. Our room had just been refurbished and the walk-in shower with a view was a unexpected facility.

Our room was cleaned & re towelled every day to a high standard.

The hotel is built on four levels and is full of art & curios and boasts 4 grand pianos.

We were full board and my fears were justified at my next weight watchers weighin; 15 lbs + in two weeks.....worth every hour of future time on exercise bike and increased diet on return.

There are not very many " restaurants " in the neighbourhood so our full board option was ok for us.

All the food was very delicious. At dinner, in the main silver service restaurant, the music is provided on most nights by a violinist or pianist. There are two menus; a 4 course gourmet or a 4 course house menu.The menus change every day and if you do not like the main course on the house menu you can choose any cut of steak at no extra cost.

If you want a less formal dinner then book your table at the terrace restaurant overlooking the beach (if you like cheese at the end of your meal dine here as self serve and very good selection;main course is waiter service).

The staff are very helpful.Restaurant staff can be very busy and somehow they manage to get through a very busy service without us having to wait long for the next course. 

So,well done them!

There is an extensive wine list to suit all pockets and most wines are in my opinion reasonably priced.

After dinner on some nights there is entertainment in the lounge bar but having been well fed & watered at dinner we did not attend.

One night visited a two nearby hotels for pre dinner drinks and found these to be more " Style over Substance " and we were pleased to return to the Bon Sol.

Congratulations and thanks to the management and staff for their standards particularly after a torrid two years of covid and the inevitable strain on finance, staffing,& resources.

Palma old town with its shady streets and pleasant sea breezes is a short bus ride away and well worth the vist.The beach at Illetas is a 15 min walk from the hotel with excellent facilities but can be very busy at weekends.

Finally I left my mobile phone in the foyer when departing for UK. The hotel arranged for my phone to be carried back to the UK by a visiting family member;who then securely packed it & posted it ,registered, to my home address.

We have have in the past stayed at family run hotels with private beaches in different parts of the world and this hotel was a favourable alternative and did not dissapoint.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear guest, thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination, for your lovely words and the generous and detailed review regarding the Hotel BonSol Resort & SPA. We are very happy that your experience with us was a memorable one and that you were pleased with the resort. The aim of the Xamena family and the BonSol team is for you to enjoy the best of holidays and create the loveliest of memories, so much so as to see you come back year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful afternoon! Sunny regards, Your BonSol Family and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackybullen wrote a review May 2022
36 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A travel agent recommended this hotel to my husband and I several years ago, when we were looking for a quiet break in the sun. What a perfect choice. I’ve just returned to the UK from a week’s holiday here with my daughter (it was my fourth stay at this hotel and her second). There is always a very warm welcome from Martin, the proprietor, who is utterly charming.

This is a beautifully quirky hotel with lots of character. The bedrooms are bright, airy, air-conditioned and spotlessly clean, with a beautiful view from the balcony. It is also superbly situated halfway between Palma and Puerto Portals, which is perfect for easy access to the bars, restaurants and nightlife there.

There are several pools at the hotel; my favourite is situated by the beach bar, which is surrounded by a natural environment of palm trees and tropical plants. Plenty of sun loungers and lots of good quality beach towels are available.

There are good services to be had at the spa. Additionally, there is a very good choice of varied cuisine on offer in both the formal restaurant and at the beach restaurant (which also has an open air terrace). The paella on offer at lunchtime was a treat. Choosing the half board option allows you to interchange between lunch and dinner if you want to venture out and try other restaurants.

The entire team were super efficient, very friendly and really accommodating, with excellent service from everyone (especially Paula and Azziza in the beach restaurant and Michael in the formal restaurant). The hotel offers quiet, peaceful sophistication leaving you feeling refreshed and rested. It also offers many extra touches that are usually reserved for five star hotels, such as slippers and bathrobes in the bedrooms.

The anti-Covid measures throughout the hotel were very reassuring, and the staff at reception even arrange for your return PCR test to be taken at the hotel for added convenience.

If you are looking for a break in the sun with a short flight, then don’t hesitate to try it out for yourself. There was only one problem… I didn’t book for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Sept 2022
Dear guest, first of all thank you for choosing us again this year as your holiday destination, thank you as well for your wonderful words and the generous review regarding the Hotel BonSol Resort & SPA. We are very happy that your experience with us was as memorable as you describe. As you know aim of the Xamena family and the BonSol team is for you to enjoy the best of holidays and create the loveliest of memories, so much so as to see you come back year after year. We are happy that you were pleased to see Mr Xamena and the team again, we were all delighted to welcome you back to the property. As you know the family is particularly involved in the business to help maintain the tradition, level of customer care and authenticity we are known for, the BonSol team as well is trying very hard to help us in this task. We will surely let Aziza, Paula and Miguel know about your lovely words regarding their service, and they will surely be delighted to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful afternoon! Sunny regards, Your BonSol Family and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cruisemore352 wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom22 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has suffered dramatic loss of experienced staffing levels after the pandemic and has not recovered the loss quickly enough to address the gaps. The hotel has made subtle cost cutting changes and alas their attention to detail has suffered. The hotel no longer provide the,luxury chocolates in your room, nor do they have the individual hand soaps, hand creams and body lotions in the bedrooms instead you get the generic liquid hand wash and shampoo (which doesn't sound too drastic but it's those small changes which make all the difference to the feeling of luxury which you are paying for but not getting!) Entertainment was not provided every night as advertised and some nights the bar area was empty by 10.00pm. The food was very hit and miss, it was either luke warm when it eventually arrived or had to be sent back ( on more than one occasion) because it was not what I had ordered. This return was then questioned by the owners son Alejandro (more confrontational than questioned). The hotel used to pride itself on their cleanliness, my bathroom floor had not been cleaned prior to my occupation and nor was it cleaned during occupation.Bathroom bins were not emptied for days on end, eventually to get it emptied I had to take the inner bin out of the container and leave it on top of the bin not really what you expect to be doing. There were grubby tide marks around the shower tray and tiles had not been wiped clean (splash marks around the toilet floor and walls from previous occupant) ,this did not fill you with confidence that Covid compliant cleaning regulations were being observed. The heated pool near the winter gardens breakfast room was dirty, the Jacuzzi was broken, the pool filters and grab rail were stained with green algae,there were tide marks around the tiles so it was obvious that it had not been cleaned, there tissues blocking floor filters, needless to say it wasn't very inviting. There was also a huge wasps nest which had taken up residence in the walkway, and this resulted a couple of the guests being stung. The reception desk said the nest had been sprayed, I was staying at the hotel for 7 nights and this nest had been reported by other guests several days before I arrived. There are no longer any padded cushions for the sun beds so you are lying on really uncomfortable sun beds not great for relaxing in the sun.All in all I am very sad to report that the Bon Sol has had it's day and has really gone downhill. So it is with a very heavy heart that after many years of wonderful holidays at this hotel I will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Sir / Madam, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a great deal of constructive feedback, we have taken good note of everything and we will do our outmost to avoid anyone else encountering such unease throughout their holiday. You are right, this year staffing is a great challenge for all hotels throughout the Balearics, we used to operate on an 80% “old” employee basis against a 20% “new”, and this year we are facing a 30% “old” employee basis against a 70% “new”. Due to this huge operational change there is clearly a great deal of employees that are learning the BonSol ways. It will take them surely a while, but they are trying very hard, as so is the old team trying very hard to help train the new. The BonSol ways, are no standard ways, and they take time to be absorbed and come out naturally. The different family members are aware of this and during all shifts they are around all different hotel departments trying to make sure everything goes as smoothly as possible and that clients are happy at all times. I am sorry your happiness and satisfaction escaped our radar this time. Moreover, we are pleased and proud to inform you that this year, thanks to the excellent occupancy previsions, is not a year we have gone down the cost cutting slope, and it’s something that after COVID, makes us very happy. We have higher employee numbers than ever, 125 employees for 150 hotel rooms, we have notably increased the number of employees per room, because of the lack of experience of many, this way less pressure is put on them all. In the rooms, due to an environmentally friendly law, that cannot be escaped unless we wish to face very high fines, (all hotels in the Balearics have to implement the same changes, should you have any doubt we could send over the detailed law that states this new obligation) we have had to remove ALL single use products, so no more amenities for the clients allowed, all amenities have to be refillable, and hopefully you noticed that we have maintained the same almond smell since we have remained with the same provider, only change is the bottle, instead of a daily waste of hundreds of plastic bottles into the environment, now there are none. The body lotion, has been missing because the provider has had production problems, since they are locally produced and provided products they sold more than they could produce and although they were ordered in February they still have not served us with the cream, and we are hoping it will be served to us soon, they from what they have shared with us are as well having serious staffing and distribution issues. Same problem with the luxury chocolates in the room, the wrapping is considered waste and a single use product as well… we considered serving them without the packaging, but due to the heat and hygiene complications we decided it was better to remove the chocolates all in all, and serve the Cava and the fresh fruit, considering that was enough of a treat for our return guests as they arrived to the room, we see now that for you it was not and we excuse ourselves for the inconvenience. In addition, we are sorry you weren’t pleased with the entertainment at the bar and we will review what has happened, because the entertainment menu that appears at the entrance of the bar is signed with each artist at the beginning of the season, and unless they have had an emergency they provide the entertainment on their respective weekday without fault. I am sorry that you had to face wrong orders, lukewarm diners and that you didn’t like the manner Alejandro Xamena dealt with whichever situation you encountered. It was surely a misunderstanding since no one wishes to satisfy the BonSol clients quite like the Xamena family does and particularly him. Maybe on a busy evening he might have sounded a little more abrupt, but nothing further from his intentions. He, like the other members of the family and team are trying daily very hard to make sure your BonSol experience is up to our usual standards. The kitchen chef and team is one of the only ones that remains with the “old” team practically untouched, and since the family eats breakfast, lunch and dinner daily at the property, there’s a constant quality control applied, nevertheless, we will be paying closer attention after your helpful review. We are terribly sorry the cleanliness of your room was so disappointing, we just wish you would have shared this with us throughout your stay here so we could have solved the matter immediately and not have you make the effort to write it all post-holiday, where no amends can be made because it’s too late. The reason a member of the family walks about at each service, is for you to be able to directly share these matters with them and have them solved on the spot, shame you did not feel comfortable enough with the family to do so, after so many visits you must surely know how approachable, ready to listen and help we all are. Regarding the pools, these are all cleaned daily, though it is true that these past weeks we had a few rain showers of dust water (holding desert sand) and pools got a little foggier. We excuse ourselves for that. As well, although cleaned daily, twice, the large amounts of sun lotion, leave a yellow film after each day that must be cleaned thoroughly, we will take a closer look into this to make sure it is done more accurately. Regarding the Jacuzzi, the button is broken and ordered since before opening, but as you probably know, because it’s a worldwide problem, the providers can’t get technical pieces from Asia, they just don’t arrive… so we are patiently waiting for that to be solved for us too. We terribly excuse ourselves for this other inconvenience. As well we excuse ourselves for the wasp nest, but we still haven’t learned to control nature. A company was called and they treated the nest for several nights (for safety, this was only done at night) until it was safe to be removed. We are sorry the top pool sunbeds are not comfortable for you, again, should you have shared this matter with us throughout your stay, we would have provided you with mattresses personally since in the beach area there are hundreds. Finally we are very sorry you will not be visiting the hotel in the future, and though we respect you thinking the hotel has had its day, let us share with you, that after a pandemic, with the terrible and uncertain times we had, being privately owned, managed and financed we honestly couldn’t be prouder nor happier for still being here, with a family and team standing together trying our best daily to keep on shining and making our guests happy. After COVID we all went downhill, but what gives us hope is that we are daily a little higher up that slope, and will be there at the very top, soon, for all of those who will want to witness. After a huge event like COVID, it will just take a little time and thanks to kind guests like you, that take their time to help us improve our mistakes through their comments we will get there faster. Thank you again and we sincerely hope you will find your “BonSol” soon elsewhere, otherwise THE BONSOL will be happy to welcome you back in the future. Kindest Regards, Your Xamena Family and BonSol Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smudge0 wrote a review May 2022
Douglas, United Kingdom67 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time I’ve stayed in this delightful hotel. From the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel so very welcome and valued.

The rooms are spacious with good air conditioning, the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, there is a fridge, TV, hairdryer and very comfortable seating plus a coffee table with a bowl of fruit for you and bottles of water

The bar staff are attentive and no one waits long to be served plus the bar men make an excellent cocktail

In the restaurant for dinner there is an a la carte menu and waiter service which in this day and age of buffets for every meal is a very welcome addition to an already super hotel.

There is plenty of space to sit both inside and outside where you can be alone or with people as you wish, there is a decent size swimming pool with a bar and a small private beach us a beach restaurant

The only downside is there are a lot of steps down to the swimming pool, bar, restaurant and beach, the main restaurant and bar are fine with only a few steps down into the main restaurant.

I will certainly go back to this hotel many times in the years to come
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle S wrote a review Jul 2022
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom122 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I have recently returned from a 5 day break at the Bon Sol.
Whilst it is not the same vibe as a more recently built Spa resort it makes up for it with top quality customer service, authenticity and good value for money.

Almost every other resident that we chatted to had been to stay there on a regular basis for many years - that speaks volumes.

It was my daughter's (20 something) birthday whilst we were there and I had asked them if they would make her a birthday cake for breakfast on her actual birthday. They went FAR beyond that, they gave her the best seat in the beach facing restaurant, a bottle of cava and flowers. None of which I got billed for. Such a lovely touch.

Whilst we were only on B&B as we like to go into Palma for dinner we always had a drink in the bar, the prices are reasonable and the pourings were (a little too) liberal! The bar was always busy with a lovely vibe.

It is not a hotel and location for young people and partying but if you appreciate lovely flora and forna, a little beach, the sound of the sea, short distance from Palma and Puerta Portals along with great service and comfortable rooms then it is to be recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Madam, First of all thank you for the lovely words and review about the Hotel BonSol resort & SPA. It makes us so happy to read your experience with us was positive and that you were please with the quality of the service. It is surely what we strive for, happy happy guests with many wonderful memories to remember. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Your BonSol team 🌞
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chris d wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived at the Bon Sol hotel our room was not ready so reception offered us a coupon foe the bar for a courtesy free drink.( i had a beer and my wife had a lemonade. We thought that was a nice welcome to the hotel

our room was 102 inside it had a very big balcony i estimated to be approx. 10ft square as we had 2 sunbeds,2 chairs and a table. The view from the balcony was stunning as we had an excellent view of Palma bay.

inside the room was 2 double beds joined together,2 seater sofa a 1 single chai.40 inch tv.fridge,kettle,and a safe
the bathroom consisted of a bath.seperate shower and 2 basins and a wc
on the table inside the room the was a bottle of bubbly a bottle of water and a plate of fruit. This was all complimentary of the hotel

the room was immaculately clean with no defects whatsoever

the hotel site consists of 3 pools which 1 in heated,1 very small beach very good for swimming

the breakfast had a very good choice of food
If you go half board.in the evening this hotel treats you to a four course meal.in the dining room in the evening they have a pianist which is very nice
The food is excellent.

Martin the owner can usually be found in the dining room at night eating with his friends. He also likes to chat with his guest to make sure they are happy and if there are any problems he makes sure that they are sorted out.

i could go on and on about the good things about this hotel. If you do decide to book with this hotel you will not be disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Sept 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful words and the generous review regarding the Hotel BonSol Resort & SPA. We are very happy that your experience with us was a pleasurable one. The aim of the Xamena family and the BonSol team is for you to enjoy the best of holidays and create the loveliest of memories, so much so as to see you come back year after year. We are happy that you were pleased with Mr. Xamena's presence at the dining room, quality control at its finest ;-) Jokes aside, the Xamena family is particularly involved in the business to help maintain the tradition, level of customer care and authenticity we are known for, and we are glad you appreciated it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful afternoon! Sunny regards, Your BonSol Family and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne A wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have just had a return visit to the Hotel BonSol and once again it did not disappoint. We were welcomed back with genuine affection by the family and the BonSol team.

Our suite was well appointed, decorated beautifully and contained everything we could possibly need. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in and the bedlinens, bathroom towels and beach towels were all of the highest quality. The attention to detail is what makes this family owned hotel stand out from others, they have really thought about their guests requirements. One point in particular is many of the chains will not allow the mini bar / fridge to contain the guests own drinks, only those purchased at vastly inflated prices from the hotel. The 70th Anniversary cava in the room on arrival, together with the stopper to keep the bubbles fizzing was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

Mainly we ate at the beach restaurant in the evenings, which offered an excellent and varied choice of food, whilst we were serenaded by the ocean and the very charismatic guitar playing singer. On Saturday 9 September we dined in the main restaurant for one of the 70th Anniversary Gala Dinners; the food was outstanding and we had entertainment from a father and daughter pianist and soprano. The applause confirmed everyone enjoyed the wonderful performance as much as we did. Well done Family Xamena and the BonSol Team, we will definitely return again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a bus stop very close to the hotel providing a regular bus service to Palma or Portal...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Sunny greetings, Your BonSol Family and Team Dear guest, thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination, for your wonderful words and for your generous review about Hotel BonSol Resort & SPA. We are very happy that your experience with us was pleasant and that you were satisfied with the resort. The goal of the Xamena family and the BonSol team is for you to enjoy the best vacations and create the best memories so that you will return year after year. This year, as you know, has been more special than any other as we have celebrated our 70th anniversary and of course we didn't want anyone to miss it! We are very grateful for all the trust you have placed in us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and wish you a wonderful evening. Sunny greetings, Your BonSol family and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alungs wrote a review Sept 2022
Los Angeles, California6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes! We regret so much that we didn’t find this resort many years ago. We went to few different hotels and resorts on Mallorca, but three years ago we discovered Bonsol and we never will go again to any other place on this island. It’s hard to describe what is good there because everything is excellent. I have to warn if person is handicapped or very old, consider many steps from the beach to most of rooms. I would highly recommend room with a balcony and the sea view. There is no need to describe the food because you want to eat everything on the display either it’s breakfast or lunch. Dinners are beautiful either by the sea or in the old European style dining room which is gorgeous. The water in that little bay calmer then in surrounding areas with practically no waves. I would highly recommend to have water shoes because there are few small rocks. The main asset of this resort is a family which owns the hotel. They have this business already for 70 years and it goes from one generation to another. Wherever you go almost always you see one of family members either Martin or his lovely wife Lorraine, or son Alejandro, or daughter Natalie and they always watching like a hawk that everything is in good condition and everyone is happy and satisfied. Any of our friends who we bring with us there, always come back next year.
AAA+++
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Elena Xamena Starkey, Marketing at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Responded 27 Sept 2022
Dear guest, first of all thank you for your choosing us again this year as your holiday destination, thank you as well for your wonderful words and the generous review regarding the Hotel BonSol Resort & SPA. We are very happy that your experience with us was as memorable as you describe. As you know aim of the Xamena family and the BonSol team is for you to enjoy the best of holidays and create the loveliest of memories, so much so as to see you come back year after year. We are happy that you were pleased to see the Xamena family and team again, we were all delighted to welcome you back to the property. As you know the family is particularly involved in the business to help maintain the tradition, level of customer care and authenticity we are known for, the BonSol team as well is trying very hard to help us in this task. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and wish you a wonderful afternoon! Sunny regards, Your BonSol Family and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kiron W wrote a review Aug 2021
12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Xamena family continue to run this hotel through the generations. The artefacts, furniture and paintings are beautifully presented for guests to enjoy and the family members are proud of their legacy. The family is kind and attentive towards guests, making everyone feel valued within this special hotel.
The dining areas are very pleasant and scrupulously clean. Dining at the beach restaurant is always a delightful experience and stunning location, with the swash of sea waves resounding. Staff were extremely attentive. The food was excellent and varied, the chef is superb.
All the rooms are pleasing and the hosts are keen to ensure everyone’s happiness. We had many family members joining and everyone was welcomed.The family was keen to provide a special celebration to mark birthdays, there is a talented singer within the staff!
Occasionally, there were muddles but the whole family rallied round and swept into action to resolve matters! We appreciated the inclusion of our youngest family members into the tennis and football training provided.
The Bon Sol is superbly situated; we have visited a few times over a quarter of a century and hope to continue to do so.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are good, even with a partial sea view, not much difference between a suite and a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Christopher F
Reading, United Kingdom57 contributions34 helpful votes
We arrived very late at night and they arranged for us to go to the main restaurant for a full meal. Their service is amazing, Enjoy,
Answer from Alexandra B
Belgrade, Serbia324 contributions43 helpful votes
We had a junior suite. 1 queen bed where slept my daughter and her little daughter(3) and 1 single bed appart for me the grandma. All was very good. Nice balcony too.
allyheed asked a question Jul 2023
Coatbridge, United Kingdom101 contributions55 helpful votes
Just booked for a week in October. Looks simply stunning. Will hubby be OK with start shorts for dinner. Thanks
Answer from Sally McGhee
Ilkley, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
No not in the restaurant. It’s smart cas. Trousers and shirt.
Sightseer203451 wrote a tip 13 Jun
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check on food options if you are vegetarian. There is a vegetarian menu but had to be pre-booked. "
Read full review
thomosplace wrote a tip 3 Jun
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid term time breaks"
Read full review
Debbie B wrote a tip May 2024
United Kingdom13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take Jelly shoes to get in and out of the Sea, as it’s Rough under foot. You don’t need to pack Beach Towels or Toiletries such as Shampoo"
Read full review
Malgorzata B wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Will recommend to stay at Bon Sol. You will not be disappointed."
Read full review
Karen H wrote a tip May 2024
6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"April was a great month to visit - not too hot or crowded!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ses Illetes area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 1,537 - RM 2,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel bonsol illetas, hotel bonsol resort and spa, hotel bon sol
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaCalviaSes Illetes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BONSOL RESORT & SPA: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,288 Photos (Ses Illetes, Spain) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Platja d'Illetes (0.2 km), Cala Comtesa (0.6 km), and The rose mallow (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Corazon Helado, Bottega Bay Rocks and Stones Steak Grilla, and Illetas Boulevard Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Catalan.
All Ses Illetes HotelsSes Illetes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ses IlletesHotels near Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire