We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

751 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 669: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Just returned from my second visit ( 28 nights ) to the Flamingo hotel. Since last year the reception, lounge, bar area and shops have been totally renovated and look superb. This is a mid priced hotel on the beach at Tanjung Bungah situated at the north end of the island. The staff are superb, friendly and helpful. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian R
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Reviewed 8 March 2015

Nice hotel but needs some update to their info as we asked for a late check out at 2.00 & were told we had to pay after 1.00 , this is not stated in their info, it says until 2.00 is free.Internet very slow but ok.Safes in both our rooms didn't work & had to ask 3 times to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Langkawi, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 February 2015

The design of the door closing for the rooms requires that one MUST slam the door to lock when leaving the room. Each floor has 2 wings, each wing has 14 rooms. Slamming a door is noisy, granted security is important but slamming a door is not necessary to achieve this. Since each floor of every wing is tiled sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 37BluesMan62
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us and do apologize on the sleepless nights that you had. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservations please free to contact me directly....

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Ok, its not the Sheraton, but you're not paying their prices either. At Chinese new year the resort was at capacity and breakfast was like eating in a crowded subway station, but there was always something good to eat after battling the crowds. Beach is only so-so, as it is mud flats at low tide and used by a water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BearOnVacation
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will work to improve on the issues you have mentioned. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel...

Macau, China
Reviewed 11 February 2015

The hotel is very nice, and the service too...I will be back, because the staff have pleasure for help the tourists and the place is beautifull, clean and the breakfast is amazing, but careful with crows, because these can eat your food...hehehe.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank camargomilano
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Stayed 3 nights from 27th to 30th Jan 2015. Rooms are good, airy & great view. Decent location, but beach is not worth mentioning. Average breakfast spread. Don't ask for any room service, either they will forget or will take days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpjena
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservations please free to contact me directly. Thank you Best regards Suresh Kumar Nagaiah Front Office Manager...

Klang, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

As we arrive I forgot to print out my booking voucher. Receptionist very helpful. They direct me to their computer room to print out the voucher with no charge. Our room are in very good condition. It just that the lift area was creepy. There's a variant breakfast choices including lamb (yummy) Dining area near pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

Located at the popular beach area in Penang, you can walk straight to the beach from the hotel. Good value for money.Well kept & good service. Rooms are fairly big. Adopt a tile flooring in rooms hence avoided the mustiness smell of most beach side hotels. Con's:- WiFi is weak in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YeeLL
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will work to improve on the wifi issue you have mentioned. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 January 2015

As above title, so I guess I'll give 3.5 or 3.8? Just need improvement to reach 4. I can see the building used to be 4 start facility but it is getting old, it is old. Staff are polite and kind, I'll say they are willing to help but you seriously need more than 2 people on the frontdesk. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siauhwa
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will work to improve on the issues you have mentioned. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager...

Reviewed 28 January 2015

I'd been stayed here once in year 2012 and after 2 years I decided to stay here again due having good experience in past, so I was expecting good things happen to me. Unfortunately, it makes me feel disappointed in my second visit. Even though the lobby area and restaurants have been renovated recently and giving stylish and new experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservations please free to contact me directly. Thank you Best regards Suresh Kumar Nagaiah Front Office Manager...

1,014 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (520)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,611 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
710 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
751 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
2,041 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: RM191 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for seaview rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Lovejeep, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for rooms on the high floors and directly facing the sea (full view) if not you will get partial view or slightly obstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles SIanchong, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the beach”
 of 5 bubbles PanizAmani, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do Not waste your holidays and your money here!”
 of 5 bubbles mohatravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea view room Hill view rooms are near to busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles car0lc0chrane, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5