We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Enjoyed very much our 5 days stay: superb location in front of the beach on King Edwards parade, close to restaurants, shops and theatre, wonderful building in 1900 style, spacious rooms with fantastic view to the pier and sea. Warm and very efficient service from all the staff. Special thanks to Mr Winston and Alice for their help. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank phd11
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear phd11, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such fantastic feedback. It was a delight having you and your family here was us and I am so pleased to hear you had a great time. We very much look forward to having you return to The Alexandra Hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Alice

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Location, right on seafront & within easy walking distance of Congress & Devonshire theatres. Alice (as in Wonderland) gives wonderful & friendly service @ reception, Breakfast & dinner gr8 as was the entertainment during my 4 nite stay. Hotel is a little 'dated' but that also gives it charm & character (apart that is from the '2 passenger only' lift!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank howiebaby7
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Howiebaby7, Thank you for your kind feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear that the broken furniture was not replaced and I can assure you this isn't a regular occurrence. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the entertainment, thank you for your suggestions on these areas, this will be put forward for consideration in the...

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Hee we are again back at the Alexandra hotel in Eastbourne. And pleased to find everything efficiently run as it normally is. The admirable Winston at the helm. Nothing matters more than the happiness and contentment of his guests. The hotel itself cosy and welcoming. The food as always excellent. Served by very friendly and helpful staff. None other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you very much for this positive feedback. As usual it was fantastic having yourself and your family staying here at The Alexandra Hotel. It is always great to know our efforts are being appreciated and in turn recognized. Unfortunately we do get the odd unhappy guest despite our best efforts and I'm sorry to hear we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I traveled to Eastbourne over the bank holiday, we were pleasantly surprised by the service we Received. We felt at home and they were so kind and friendly going Beyond there jobs to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. Would defo recommend people to go here if going to Eastbourne.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayshore
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kayshore, Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback. Here at The Alexandra Hotel we like guests to feel like they are at a home away from home. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and everyone was as welcoming as usual. We hope you will come and stay again on your next...

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We only stayed one night at this hotel, and arrived late - so my view of this hotel is only based on approximately a 12 hour stay - 8 of which I was asleep. The staff at this hotel are absolutely fantastic - I can't speak highly enough. My wife is disabled (in a wheelchair) and we weren't expecting the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren D
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I travelled to Eastbourne with my son to visit relatives and to get my "Eastbourne Fix" as it's my home town. As it was a Bank Holiday weekend I had struggled to find any reasonably priced accommodation, and eventually chose the Alexandra Hotel which had received mixed reviews. On arrival at the hotel it was clear this was a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo A, I was concerned when reading this review because I had spoken to the member of staff that dealt with your compliant and this is a completely different version of events. Upon hearing you did not feel the cleanliness of the bathroom was up to standards a member of staff immediately went to clean the bathroom. Once he...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

One of the best budget hotels. Excellent food, service and accommodation. Staff very helpful and luggage taken to and from our rooms. Fabulous views, nothing too much trouble and definitely recommend. A hidden gem on the front. Our room was basic but very clean and lacked nothing. Great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garner43
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garner43, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great feedback. Here at The Alexandra Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service we can and I am glad to hear this is exactly what you received. It is always enjoyable reading nice reviews, it is nice to know what we are doing is appreciated....

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Just had a lovely weekend with my grandaughter we came with a coach trip we had a lovely sea view room and the food and waiting staff were very good .we were disappointed to find there was no entertainment but our coach driver Chris came to the rescue play the keyboard and sing to us he was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat g
London
Reviewed 16 August 2016

What a wonderful and pleasurable experience staying at The Alexandra Hotel in Eastbourne is. This is the third year in a row my Mum and I have stayed in The Alexandra Hotel for the Eastbourne Airbourne Airshow. We are already booked to return to The Alexandra Hotel for the 25th Eastbourne Airbourne Airshow 2017. We travel to the lovely sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crazycamper
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazycamper, Thank you for such a lovely review! We are all just about recovered from the fantastic event here! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you all here. At The Alexandra Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering the highest quality customer service to all of our guests and i'm pleased to hear...

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Sometimes, the heart of what's on offer isn't immediately visible. What appeared to be an average hotel on the seafront turned out to be a real find. The waiting staff were 5 star. I genuinely last saw this kind of individual at a top London hotel I stayed at recently (and reviewed). Awesome. It depends if you want to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glen, Thank you very much for this fantastic review. I'm glad to hear were doing a great job. It is always nice to know that our hard work and effort isn't going unappreciated. It was a pleasure to have such a brilliant guest and I hope you will return to stay with us in the future for another impressive...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 km away
Oban
Oban
#24 of 42 in Eastbourne
206 reviews
0.4 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
407 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 42 in Eastbourne
246 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,419 reviews
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: RM290 - RM504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a Sea view room the rooms at the back are terrible !”
 of 5 bubbles 44jaynel, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms next to the lift. Inside rooms are quieter (wind noise & seagulls!)”
 of 5 bubbles 907trick, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try to book a room overlooking sea”
 of 5 bubbles 111brian, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the sea view rooms have a very good view of the sea”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms with sea view are the best”
 of 5 bubbles phd11, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay