We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

0.8 km from Eastbourne centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 554: English reviews
Start your review of The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The receptionist was excellant upgraded us to a very large room with sea view without asking. As we have stayed many times was a lovely gesture. Enjoyed our stay and breakfast was just enough. But could have had full english for £4 which we have had and its brilliant value for money. Room was very clean with a lovely wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dudleysmum
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice room , good bathroom, very friendly staff, continental breakfast but you can order a full english for 4 pounds , straight opposite the sea front , parking brill , because you go into the hotel and get a parking permit for overnight for only 1 pound

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diggydegdegdeg
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear diggydegdegdeg, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I also note your comments about staff and parking. Thank you for taking the time to leave...

Somerset
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Probably the worst 'hotel' I have stayed in throughout the world - more like a back-packer's flop house ! The carpets throughout were like recycled Brillo pads (Brillo pads that have scrubbed the pans after a Sunday roast). The curtains were made from grey, grubby fake fur - ceiling to floor. The wardrobe was like a piece of open scaffolding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLCSomerset
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear JLCSomerset, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately the issue with on-street parking is out of our control and it does get affected...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for the first time choosing it as it was good value for money and looked modern. Friendly staff on arrival. We upgraded to a suite as it was our anniversary and was pleasantly pleased! The views over looking the wish tower and a roll top bath in the bedroom was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rreeoo
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear rreeoo, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about staff and cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave your...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor quality accommodation. Uncomfortable, but clean, bed. Carpets and curtains looked very grubby. Decor not just dated, but past it. Parking is on street on the sea front, so finding a space near the hotel isn't easy! I didn't enjoy staying there at all. Only good feature was the staff, especially on reception, who were really pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Jan T, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately the issue with on-street parking is out of our control and it does get...

, Kent. England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone at this Hotel was friendly and helpful from reception staff and waitresses to chamber maids, nothing was too much trouble.When we had a leak above our window we were moved immediately into a lovely big suite which we liked so much that we booked for a further 2 nights making a total of 5 nights. The hotel provides the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Tina S, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about staff. Apologies for having to move you due to a leak...

Patching, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night here and were upgraded to a suite with a lovely view. Decoration was modern but the carpet and curtains rather let the place down. Comfy bed and well appointed bathroom. The heating was very effective even in the huge room so that we had to open the window to let in fresh air.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulrich150
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Paulrich150, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am very glad you liked your upgraded room, I also note your comments about curtains and appreciate...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotels as it was listed as dog friendly. On arrival we were greeted by some extremely friendly and helpful staff. We were checked in in no time and given the keys to our room. The rooms were clean and warm and the bedding had crisp white sheets. We stayed for two nights in Feb 2017.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Chris N, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about staff and cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked this room as reviews and photos looked good. when we arranged we was given a cold dark room that looked like it faced a back ali (it was dark) was offered another room it was cold smelt of weed and another customer next door had loud music playing our only alternative was to pay £85 more for another room.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holliefb3
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Holliefb3, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your not so recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel from March 2016. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, surely if it was so bad you would've wanted to let us...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent experience, room clean and comfortable with great view of the sea. Staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast a bit basic and the full English available for a charge is not that great. Would definitely recommend this hotel though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FluffyBunny2017
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear FluffyBunny2017, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I also note your comments about staff and cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to leave your...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
812 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,544 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
413 reviews
0.6 km away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#35 of 42 in Eastbourne
123 reviews
0.3 km away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#34 of 42 in Eastbourne
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: RM205 - RM719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view suite would be my choice again.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulrich150, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a room with a view expect some traffic noise early in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisnS34QV, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have only stayed in a Suite, both Suites were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles FluffyBunny2017, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“In my opinion rooms on Third Floor are quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasD705, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 115 facing the sea and gardens very tastful”
 of 5 bubbles 194661ray, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5