We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sheldon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sheldon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sheldon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Swanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I booked a 4 night Superior En Suite Single room,with free breakfast.I asked on arrival of the free breakfast,you don't get with Special Offer.I contacted the booking website Venere.com.I was suppose to get a free breakfast for 4 days in the deal.The owner male said ask my wife.Advertising an advert that specifies something for free in a deal that does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

You were unable to produce your confirmation that you had booked a superior room with breakfast, and the confirmation I received had 'classic single' Room Only. Over night you poured a whole can of beer over the mattress, which along with the bedding had to be cleaned. I explained that I had taken money from your card to ever the...

Arundel, Maine
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

After spending 10 days walking from Winchester to Eastbourne, we were ready for some comforting....and we got it at The Sheldon! This little family- owned jewel, where we stayed two delightful nights, gave us a great room, wonderful English breakfasts, a helping hand when we needed to find a self-service laundry to wash our hiking clothes, and a great central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FinnegansFriend
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much, we really enjoyed meeting you

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I stayed at The Sheldon again, this time for 19 nights. It was perfect all round. I could not fault anything. Judith & Greg were just wonderful, making sure that my stay was comfortable, and that I had everything I needed. My room was lovely,and very clean with an en suite, plus free WiFi. There was also free off road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you so much... It is always a pleasure!

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Booked 4 rooms here as we had a family wedding all rooms were great especially the large one for the bridesmaids to get ready.the flowers were stored and looked after for us and our busy coming in and out was met with patience.great friendly helpful staff and lovely breakfast and a great welcome from the owners all of us enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank revalation1983
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much, and thank you for trusting us with your very special day!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed here over the late May bank holiday and had a comfortable stay. The rooms are spacious, bright and have all that you would expect. Our room had a small fridge with fresh milk which is a nice touch. We liked the breakfast which has a lot of variety including omelettes and boiled eggs which made my children happy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GroovyMamma
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights, our family room was really big, nice and clean. When we first heard that it is located in the basement we did not know what to expect but it turned out to be a perfect accommodation for us and two little children (at least they did not disturb anyone when they were jumping/running/making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AgataDosSantos
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much, we loved your children, they were gorgeous!

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

I booked this very last minute, an hour before arrival, friendly staff , great spacious room considering it was described as cosy and was good value I was pleasantly surprised. Great breakfast with everything available you could want. Thanks very much for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomwolfe1
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you so much!

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

This hotel is clean and with friendly staff. The breakfast was great and something for everyone. There are steps to the property so no good for the less able. The rooms are as described when booking. There is parking. One thing off putting is the sign on the locked door re booking in times so unable to drop off your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123linny
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Unfortunately, we were not contacted to be advised bags were being dropped off. Obviously we do have to go out (for buying breakfast, collecting or dropping our children etc) which is why we need to have the heads up! Had we known we would have planned our day accordingly. As it happened you did the right thing and simply pulled...

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that the location of this hotel was lovely, although we did not have a sea view the surrounding views that we did have was lovely. I was a bit disappointed with the sleeping arrangements as I booked a superior double bed and what we got was two large single beds joint together at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

As we explained the beds are zip and link and both zipped and linked for your stay, there was no fear of you slipping down between them. (this type of bed is common place in lots of hotels and guest houses). We are a period property and as such have period plumbing, we advise to start with cold and add...

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We pulled up at this hotel and thought it looked lovely .We were told that we were in superior room in the basement ,wasnt sure what to expect but the room was spacious and very clean and as in basement we had our own entrance to our room , unfortunately unable to get wifi in our room.The breakfaat was freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieshute270
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Many people are a bit tentative when we mention basement, however as you found the rooms are garden level, so you do feel they are bright and airy and of course they are exceptionally well proportioned and certainly suit those wanting large bathrooms! Wi-fi does reach all the rooms, sometimes the equipment can't get the signal (particularly apple and samsung)...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 km away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#16 of 78 in Eastbourne
320 reviews
1.0 km away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#3 of 78 in Eastbourne
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Gyves House
Gyves House
#9 of 78 in Eastbourne
394 reviews
1.3 km away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#8 of 78 in Eastbourne
459 reviews
0.4 km away
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#60 of 78 in Eastbourne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. It has 20 lovely en-suite bedrooms with FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in the hotel, FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, towels and Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletries. We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 adults now available! We have a spacious dining room and 2x guest lounges. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sheldon

Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: RM286 - RM543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sheldon staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sheldon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in room 29 which was very good just over the drive going to the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Laurie02, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 and 18 are in quiet zones”
 of 5 bubbles 570JanetH, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 15, most expensive but large room, very quiet apart from seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles Cassiespon, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“don't go for a budget room!! Not good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles SharonAtkins, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were in 31 which is very large with a bath and separate shower”
 of 5 bubbles JennyH669, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay