We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 778: English reviews
Thundersley
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked with Travelzoo. The price was extremely fair. Our double room was a good size and the twin room was even bigger. Both overlooked the back of the building but the value was exceptional. Our beds were firm and felt of good quality. Breakfasts were usual buffet followed by a good selection of cooked items. Our offer included dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda O, Thank you for posting your kind comments and FIVE STARS on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had a fair deal and felt well looked after. I am also pleased to hear that the room experienced was in good order and equipped to take a wheelchair. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel,...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight on a £79 Travelzoo deal (available until March - I think). Included 3 x course evening meal and breakfast and a nice room; plus we paid a £10 supplement for our dog. Receptionist was very engaging and helpful. Very impressed with our waitor from Barcelona, he was magnificent .......although the restuarant was quite he was so attentive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pete081
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pete081, Thank you for posting your kind comments and FIVE STARS on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you had a great stay at exceptional value for money. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman

London.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Elderly In-laws stayed at the Lansdowne Hotel in Eastbourne for Three Weeks over the Christmas and New Years period. They received excellent Service from all the Staff at the Hotel in particular the Dining Room Staff were very attentive. All the areas in the Hotel were spotlessly clean and well furnished with new equipment throughout. The Bedrooms are fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MINKEYRAT
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MINKEYRAT, Thank you for posting your kind comments and FIVE STARS on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had a great stay for three weeks, enjoying the excellent service and food. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel to celebrate an anniversary in December. Telephoned the hotel on three separate occasions to ensure it was accessible for wheelchair users and met all the needs which included a shower seat. Arrival was delayed whilst staff struggled to locate the remote control for disable access lift at entrance. Room was small and overcrowded with furniture and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tam4492017
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tam4492017, Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that you felt we were not disabled friendly. We do have disabled equipped bedrooms with fully equipped bathrooms with in the hotel. Unfortunately on this occasion none were available. The insect issue was isolated and now fully resolved. On behalf of myself and the Team...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing that hit us was the heat!!! It was so hot. I turned the heating off and opened the window to let some air in. We were booked into this on a 2 night special offer with Travelzoo. My husband's knee operation was called forward, so we were unable to stay both nights - the hotel was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn G, Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed dining with your dogs in the pets lounge. I am however disappointed that some aspects of your stay, were not to your satisfaction. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here Christmas 2016 for a short break and it was lovely, great Location right on the sea front in the quiet sea side retirement town that is Eastbourne. It's not the Grosvernor house, it's a quaint old place stuck in a distant era but it's clean and well run, the staff are friendly and helpful especially the very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KRColeman
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KRColeman, Thank you for posting your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the excellent service and attention to detail. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman

Andalucia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just spent 3 nights over Xmas there with my grandmother. My initial impression was good with tasteful Christmas decorations everywhere. We had a wheelchair access room which was spacious with proper invalid access bathroom. The room floors and room itself was a bit bland with browns and whites but very clean, very well appointed and in excellent condition...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lainglesa69
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iainglesa69, Thank you for posting your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had a great stay over the Christmas period and were very well looked after by our Wonderful Staff. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed with the afternoon tea on offer. Portions were not great and cakes were not as expected. For the price around £15 I had higher expectations. I had a sandwich and pot of tea at The Grand the week before which was cheaper, with better service and came with a small soup and a homemade biscuit. One of our party...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natalie123190722
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I must apologise sincerely that on this occasion our Afternoon Tea was not to your satisfaction. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we do hope you will change your opinion of the hotel and return sometime soon. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights this December 2016. Fantastic room, with a beautiful sea view. There is a feel of a welcome vintage setting. Many of the public areas being maintained / created in a 1920/30's style of décor and furnishings. Really friendly and courteous staff. The food was delightful, having savoured the self service breakfast twice and a bar meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M M
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian M M , Thank you for posting your kind comments and FIVE STARS on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the delightful service and food offerings. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the pleasure of taking my Mum out for a pre-Christmas treat and am so delighted we went to the Lansdowne Hotel for Vintage Afternoon Tea, with entertainment provided by the Silhouette Show. Food & service were fabulous and the entertainment was excellent. Certainly made us both feel very Christmassy!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mina O
Jamieson B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mina O, Thank you for posting your kind comments and FIVE STARS on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the Festive Vintage Afternoon Tea companied by the Silhouettes. I will pass on your thanks to the whole team. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon....

431 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Family Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Seaview Room (25)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (34)
Viewed
Superior Double Room II (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Twin Seaview Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.1 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,416 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#20 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,181 reviews
0.6 km away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
658 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: RM237 - RM705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Limoges, France
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are well worth booking.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyr737, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a seaview room on second floor. Well worth a bit extra for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles Seasidejon, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“higher floors less noise from squeaky floorboards”
 of 5 bubbles 889suen, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“346 not sea view but out of the way and no noise all week”
 of 5 bubbles Trip_staffordshire, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are a slight sleeper you may want to check if your room is above the Entrance as people can gather here to talk in the night.”
 of 5 bubbles francisjon46, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay