We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oban

Expedia.comUS$102*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

A very pleasant stay. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Staff very friendly. Very convenient location for Bible by the Beach Conference at the Congress Theatre. Hope to return next year. Good to be able to have a twin room as visiting with a friend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather Rachel P
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Hi Heather, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will visit again for the Conference in 2017. Please feel free to call us when you decide to make your reservation and I will arrange to provide a more 'preferential' rate for you. Vin

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I have had such a wonderful stay at the Oban the hotel is lovely with beautiful rooms lots of character with modern finish comfy beds great sea views. The staff are friendly and very helpful we will definitely be booking again especially for airborne as the hotel is right where it all takes place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayleymax83
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Hi Hayley, Its always a pleasure seeing you and the boys and Myles loves it when you visit We can't wait to see you all again so please don't hesitate to pay us a visit especially with the school holidays coming up. Thank you again for your review. I hope married life is bringing you both all the joys you...

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

A midweek break for our anniversary that we booked via groupon. Weren't expecting so much but the staff really went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. If you have dinner here you need to get the vegetable lasagne , even if your aren't a veggie. Food was great , lovely staff and they even sell some gorgeous handmade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgreer
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our hotel and its services. Our staff are very dedicated and are passionate about delivering the very best service. It means a great deal to them when they receive such praise. Thank you again for your kind words Vin

Paulton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I saw a deal with Groupon for 3 nights including dinner and breakfast for 3 nights. As I was going to be in Eastbourne for business I rang the hotel to see if there was availability of the nights of 2, 3 and 4 May 2016. The first time the phone rang and then the phone was picked up and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolyn H
Customerservices_obn, Owner at Oban, responded to this review

Dear Carol Thank you for taking the time in posting a review of the hotel We are sorry to learn of your experience. We find it very odd in what you say as none of our staff or management team has spoken to a customer regarding the enquiry you say you made. Please understand given you have made such alarming...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

A friendly family hotel with a good atmosphere. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Food was good and served promptly. Bedroom very disappointing and down at heel.The bathroom window had newspaper all around the edges to stop draught. Receptionist said she was aware, but no opportunity to fix it! Would have thought this was a priority! There was no central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your review I spoke to the assistant manager whom you also spoke to regarding the window in your bathroom. She mentioned to me that you had raised the issue regarding the paper around the window; which in turn she explained to you that the window itself was being replaced the following week (this week as...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This is an excellent family run hotel. The owner Vinnie and all of the staff could not have been more helpful and cheerful. The food was very good. We were half board and the breakfast was always of the highest standard and the choice of three or four main courses for the evening meal with a vegetarian option never failed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kencorbett2014
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Dear Ken, Thank you for your review and apologies for the late reply. Our staff are the real heroes of the hotel. They try very hard to please and are dedicated to delivering the best they can to all our guests. Thank you again for your recognition of their services Vin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I stayed one night as I was visiting. I must say, I did like this hotel. Room was comfortable, shower was good, breakfast was good and the price was very good value indeed. Parking is ok, in various locations but you may well have to pay and in peak season, it could be difficult (at any hotel, anywhere on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheDJCunningham
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We arrived late but no problem the staff were friendly & helpful. All the staff were friendly and made us feel very at home, enjoyed our weekend there. We had friends meet us there for a nightcap it was like we were home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank des19632015
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This is a difficult hotel to review as there are lots of positives but some negatives also. The room was large and had a wonderful sea view however the toilet shower was so small that you almost had your knees in the shower when sittin on the loo so beware if you are tall. The room had a balcony but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sunseeker979
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was lovely. Very clean and we had a sea view room.Very friendly staff and helpful nothing to much trouble. Would definitely stay here again ..As the hotel is on a main road you need a parking ticket but you can get these at the hotel for alot cheaper . A++

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
435 reviews
0.0 km away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
895 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
512 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,860 reviews
1.4 km away
Waterside Hotel
Waterside Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: RM342 - RM1,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a sea view but not a single room”
  • You can wash your feet while on the toilet !
102carolinew, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have small ensures with sink in the room, but still worth upgrading to.”
gene692017, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a sea view and was very nice”
mariacave27, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had room number 20 on the second floor near the lift”
MauriceIsleofWight, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sorry I could not recommend any room.”
inad950, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$102
Hotwire.comUS$102
Orbitz.comUS$102
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates