We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Merrion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Merrion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

lovely staff, great sea view's. lovely for a relaxed lunch, in a comfortable surround. a good lunch time menu, with in easy walking distance from the town centre. you are not rushed, and the service is very good nothing is to much trouble

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soulcity52
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi soulcity52 Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Paul Bream

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Booked a weekend away with hubby. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. We found our bedroom with ensuite which was a sea view with a small balcony very comfortable and very clean. Nice that the hotel has two lifts. We booked the evening meal and weren't disappointed. The evening menu changed each day and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MARGARET K
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret K. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves during your stay. I am pleased you mentioned the second lift which was completed have completed this June, it has become a wonderful asset to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Paul...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the merrion specifically because they offered disabled room & facilities Our room 307 was very clean and spacious with a terrific sea view which was lovely, room was clean , plenty of tea & coffee , did have to hunt the draws for the hair dryer, My parents stayed in G1 as it was on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anne b
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi anne B Thank you for your review of your recent stay with your parents, I am very pleased to read your father managed with the facilities in G1 whilst not fully adapted for disabled, the room has easy access, nearly level open shower, and is a firm favourite with many guests. I am pleased you also enjoyed the food...

Birmingham
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and found it very comfortable and roomy with very friendly staff. The location was excellent for all local amenities. The bar was also very nice. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicky W Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Paul Bream

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. £236 for a double room. Parking was a bit of a nightmare because there were no spaces left at the rear of the hotel or in their garage. Parking is not guaranteed however. This was mainly because the last night's residents had not removed their cars when they checked out. My husband was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharklady44
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharklady44 Thank you for your reviewing your stay over the Bank Holiday, I am sorry you had so much trouble parking, bank holidays really are a nightmare. We are fortunate to have parking to the rear of the hotel and also a secure car park with another 19 spaces, this is usually sufficient however over weekends and holiday weekends...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We recently stayed at the Merrion Hotel the staff are lovely especially the receptionists , the food is excellent, the room was clean and tidy, would definitely go back there again it's ideally situated just by the pier and Town just round the corner

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suezy2013
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Suezy 2013 Thank you for your recent review and kind words about our reception staff, We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Paul Bream

New Broughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Great room 203 love this hotel have stayed a few times love this hotel. The staff are first class and very helpful but was very put off on arrival as the lady on reception I believe she is the head of reception was most rude and very unhelpful She really could do with some training in people skills. But I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John C. Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to read that your experience at reception was not as good as I would have wished, we listen to all comments and try to use them to raise standards in the hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience with us and we hope to see you...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

stayed here from 21st to 23rd with my gran daughter and her step brother,first thoughts were ok ...stayed in room 211 as apparently all family rooms are at rear of hotel and although view was horrid,i do understand every hotel has a rear view thats not always nice,i feel the price should reflect this though... Bed first night i shared...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank janeys46
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi janeys46 Thank you for posting your recent review, I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations. With regard to room 211 as you say the family rooms are on the rear of the hotel and the view cannot be changed, however I thank you for raising the issue with the mattress and that will be replaced with a...

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Stayed in the Merrion Hotel from 10th August until the 14th I stayed in a single room 301 what lovely room it was spotlessly clean with a seaview the staff were friendly and helpful and the menu was outstanding so many choices it was decision time every evening what dessert to have as there was a choice of 17 on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary M
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary M. Thank you for writing a review of your recent holiday with us, the views from the top floor rooms are spectacular and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon, Many thanks Paul Bream.

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Superb hotel in every way ,all staff were very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble for them ,room sevice exellent towels changed bathroom cleaned by 9am every day the meals were cooked to perfection and nicely presented they really treat guests as special. Thank you all .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colli2015
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi colli2015 Thank you for writing your review of your recent holiday with us, I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Llandudno and that all was well in the hotel, we are delighted to have our new second lift working in the hotel, it serves the second half of the hotel and exits directly into the...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Seaview Twin Room (25)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
1,279 reviews
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
417 reviews
0.4 km away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,073 reviews
0.2 km away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
501 reviews
1.3 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: RM544 - RM776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merrion Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Oswestry, United Kingdom
over a year ago
south wales
2 months ago
6 months ago
Stafford, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Merrion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view or great ground floor rooms for persons who are not too mobile”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretAdamson, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground room has excellent disabled facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Friendofjersey, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“214 on the second floor over looking the beach and pier”
 of 5 bubbles marymV43ME, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 208 or 212”
 of 5 bubbles andreawilliams23, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First and second floor rooms have the best sea views, but choice may be dictated by whether you want a bath or walk-in shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Thackwray, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5