We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$84
View deal
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Destinia.com
US$77
View deal
Hotels.comUS$84
PricelineUS$79
getaroom.comUS$100
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (31)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA England
Getting there
Norwich Airport72 kmSee all flights
Southend Municipal Airport60 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
779Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 183
  • 295
  • 186
  • 56
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
john m wrote a review 12 Sep
58 contributions51 helpful votes
In our opinion deserves a 3 star rating at best. Very retro feel to whole establishment but not in a good way. Rooms are tired and need a complete refurbishment as does the public areas. Bathrooms are ridiculously small and our room had a distinct odour which we mentioned to reception. Staff were excellent very friendly shame the hotel lets them down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Qwerty123xp wrote a review 5 Sep
Bristol6 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed here as part of a group of cyclists (70 people) undertaking a charity cycle around East Anglia in mid August 2021. After cycling over 100 miles a day, the evening meal was essential to the next day's cycling. Our organisers had been informed and re-assured several times that the Holiday Inn could provide an adequate buffet for our group size. However we unfortunately found out in the evening that there was a 'new chef' who was only able to cater for half of us. As the venue was located in the sticks, there were no nearby restaurants and half of us had to order take away pizza which was far from adequate for carb loading. Clearly a very badly managed hotel with poor communication. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
thedrumdoctoruk wrote a review Aug 2021
Meols, United Kingdom33 contributions11 helpful votes
We normally stay at Premier Inns for weekend visits to Suffolk but this time we had to take our dogs and Premier Inns are not dog-friendly. The only dog-friendly available hotel we could book was the Holiday Inn just outside the centre of Ipswich, a stone’s throw from the A14. Holiday Inns are more expensive than Premier Inns but do offer free access to their spa and swimming pool facilities, none of which we needed. Dogs cost an extra £10 per dog per night on top of your room. You don’t get anything extra for the dog’s stay like other places do, such as a mat for bowls, towels, treats, etc so the extra money probably reflects the extra cleaning. In fact, there are no personal acknowledgements made to recognise you have a dog staying with you, whereas other places I’ve stayed make the effort with a few thoughtful touches because you have pets travelling with you. It literally is, just a boarding fee scenario and that’s the end of it. The hotel itself is clean and well kept within a large space. You can walk around the perimeter of the site on grass areas and there are some lovely mature trees in situ. This is great for walking a dog first thing in the morning and last thing at night. As for our room, I booked a double but we got a twin, but no big deal. Unlike Premier Inns, every room has an iron and ironing board plus free biscuits with the tea & coffee. The room itself seemed smaller than the Premier Inn rooms we are used to and the bathroom was really pushing it for space. The door opened leaving about 6 inches of clearance from the toilet and it was pretty cramped in there. An overweight person would struggle to turn around in such a confined space as it was bad enough for people with normal BMIs. Mind you, seeing as it was a Holiday Inn where all things gym and spa take centre-stage, perhaps they don’t have overweight people staying there? Food, we didn’t have thanks to the high price-tag on the breakfast - nearly twice as much as the Premier Inn’s all-you-can-eat continental breakfast! There are no lifts at this location either, so if you are travelling with a disability you would better to make sure you get a ground-floor room. One of my dogs is geriatric and had to be lifted down the staircases. So whilst I’ve no real complaints, I just feel it wasn’t as suitable for us as a Premier Inn and a little underwhelming, considering the price-point. If Premier Inn ever decide to take dogs, they’ll definitely take some Holiday Inn business because not everyone needs the extra free facilities. If I was a gym monkey I’d no doubt be in fitness heaven in a Holiday Inn, but I simply needed a Premier Inn level dog-friendly hotel and nothing more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking space is great, loads of fitness stuff goes on there.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Siobhan L wrote a review Aug 2021
Ashford, United Kingdom21 contributions10 helpful votes
Just returned from a trip never to be repeated at Holiday Inn London road Ipswich You get the message as you arrive at the inaccessible area all plants at front of hotel dead in the planters no care for the outside and no care on the inside . A wedding party is in the communal bar/seating area so no chance to blend in Up to room double room single beds who sleeps in a single as an adult ? Why ? Advertising pillow menu so did not bring my own no pillow menu House keeper will deliver chosen pillow We go out to dinner bet on if pillow will have arrived I win it’s a no show we complain as we are being mis sold a service which does not exist no explanation why it’s on website but not available A huge spider and web in room so not clean Bathroom door does not shut why ? So pillow like a brick or sandbag very uncomfortable Wedding party noisy no sleep Ordered room service breakfast did not arrive as requested 2 phone call needed Inedible cold food served all left I believe a stay in a prison would be better this is not cheap meant to be 4 star ⭐️ Anything but it’s a disgrace never to return The cold beans The grey dry scramble eggs The uncooked frozen rolls
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Clement wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Sadly the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. Wondering why it is worth being an elite IHG member? The room hadn't been serviced for 2 occupants, there was inadequate tea and milk, and the towels were thin and rough. On the plus side the reception team were helpful and the bed was clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Churchlee, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay, and thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards members. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to that our room was not serviced, the towels and that there was not enough tea in the room. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the service of our staff and the cleanliness, as well as the comfort of our bed, were still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswich
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ipswich Escape Rooms (3.9 km), New Wolsey Theatre (3.2 km), and Ipswich Transport Museum (6.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Fish Platter, Takayama, and Mariners.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Polish, Romanian, Filipino, Lithuanian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (3.4 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (3.7 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (3.3 km).
Is Holiday Inn Ipswich, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.