We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$90
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Portuguese, Romanian
500Reviews0Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 128
  • 149
  • 125
  • 61
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jglo0813 wrote a review 22 Oct
Greater London, United Kingdom82 contributions58 helpful votes
Good size rooms which have always been clean and tidy. Plenty of parking space’s in a well lit car park with cctv. Pleasant staff - Laura is super helpful and polite, great customer service. Lots of variety at breakfast with comfortable seating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Mickey-Goujon wrote a review 18 Oct
London, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
I’ve been here a few times now and I’m m always happy to return. The staff are great (Laura always seems to remember people’s names and give us all a personal greeting) and the rooms are always clean well prepared. The food is always enjoyable and the bar area is nice and relaxing. The car park is has plenty of space and is well lit. I’m sure this won’t be my last visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dave H wrote a review Sep 2021
Gosport, United Kingdom39 contributions9 helpful votes
Booking of the room was easy using the app and it may be me but was unable to book an accessible room. On visiting the bar mid afternoon and trying to pay cash for my drink I was informed there was no change in the till and that there was none in the hotel. Up to the room and the carpet in the hall looks very worn and tired and had patches in it. Entering the room and as clean as it appears the furnishings and decor is very old. Not quite what I had expected from a Premium brand hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Maybe try and book the premier inn across the road as it’s highly likely to be more up to date...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi davehF1717PD, I appreciate you for staying and for leaving us feedback. It's quite frustrating to learn that we did not live up to your expectations because of the bar not accepting cash and the overall condition of our property. I'm so sorry for all the hassle that you've been through. Know that providing every guest's needs is our top priority and we are always trying our best to give you a great impression. I have already brought up your comments to the hotel's attention and necessary actions will be taken to avoid the same inconvenience in the future. Again, thank you for visiting us and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is. Best, Peter J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Stephen H wrote a review Sep 2021
Pulborough, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
I don't like leaving bad reviews and on this occasion it's not the actual individual hotel's fault or the management at this hotel, it's IHG group itself. Having also spent 40 minutes on a call to their Customer relations department this morning, I felt this is something I should tell people about. So we booked a last minute stay at this hotel due to a family bereavement and to be fair there wasn't a lot of choice anywhere, so we had to take whatever we could find for a one night stay. On arrival we were rather surprised to see the state of the building, absolutely rotten window frames, not just one but EVERY window frame, peeling paint , weeds, rubbish etc etc in the car park. The whole place in a very sorry state. We booked two rooms and to be fair they were very clean but everything in it quite old, however perfectly decent for a one night stay. Breakfast was average and staff again very attentive, clearing tables etc and all being very happy and helpful. One area of the restaurant was cordoned off due damp coming through the wall, looking around whilst having breakfast, the whole place needs so much work doing to it, very sorry state of repairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful which sort of made up for the hotels bad state of repair. However my beef isn't with the hotel or it's management, it's not their fault, I'm more annoyed with IHG senior management who would let one of their properties get into such a state of disrepair and still expect the hotel to charge full rate. Remember, the staff at the hotel can only do what they can with the facilities that are provided to them, so it's not their fault. I phoned IHG customer relations which is based overseas and logged my views, they said I would get a reply...which I didn't, I had to chase them again on several occasions but could never get through, this morning I managed to get hold of someone but was on the phone for 40 minutes discussing the fact that I hadn't had a reply. All they want to do is pass you around various staff who each want to repeat why I'm calling, to sum up though, they couldn't understand why I wanted a reply and that the management were aware of my complaint, what a load of rubbish. I asked if there was someone in the UK I could talk to, an area manager, regional manager, someone who is responsible for the upkeep of their properties but they said this wasn't possible. I told them that if this is how complaints are dealt with, and how difficult they are to log, I would simply never stay in another IHG property, they really aren't bothered. They offered me points, which I don't really want, they would not entertain a refund even though that wasn't why I was complaining and they wouldn't progress my call to anyone in the UK. So you can make up your own mind, an IHG hotel or go for a different brand.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Rudge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Stephen, I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the customer relations team at IHG, and that you have not had the outstanding stay that you or I would expect. I assure you this is not a reflection of our usual exceptional service. There are some structural characteristics of the building that are aging and this is something I am hoping to improve on. I hope you have the opportunity to try our hotel again sometime soon. Martin
Read more
Bathwickdave wrote a review Aug 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom89 contributions57 helpful votes
You can’t fault this hotel for service as the staff are amazing. I was blown away and the rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable indeed with an en-suite which is modern and spotless. Every single member of staff has been incredibly warm and helpful. The downside is that the public areas and outside just look neglected. I was quite disappointed as I walked up to check in as there are rotten window frames, dead plants and the public areas are in great need of some investment although clean and tidy. The rooms are good, the beds are comfy and clean, the staff are great and breakfast has great options but it all feels a bit neglected and in need of investment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Rudge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Responded 6 Sep 2021
Bathwickdave, Thank you for the constructive review. I am so glad that you found your room and our staff so outstanding during your stay with us. Please accept my apologies with regards to the grounds, as we are in quite an old building some of the characteristics of the hotel are showing their age, this is something we are working on. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon. Martin Rudge
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn ipswich-orwell hotel ipswich, ipswich holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Avid Indoor Climbing (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chiquito, Frankie & Benny's, and The Raven.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (4.8 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (5.1 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (5.3 km).