We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ England
Getting there
Norwich Airport73 kmSee all flights
Southend Municipal Airport61 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
498Reviews0Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 149
  • 125
  • 61
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dave H wrote a review 18 Sep
Gosport, United Kingdom38 contributions7 helpful votes
Booking of the room was easy using the app and it may be me but was unable to book an accessible room. On visiting the bar mid afternoon and trying to pay cash for my drink I was informed there was no change in the till and that there was none in the hotel. Up to the room and the carpet in the hall looks very worn and tired and had patches in it. Entering the room and as clean as it appears the furnishings and decor is very old. Not quite what I had expected from a Premium brand hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Maybe try and book the premier inn across the road as it’s highly likely to be more up to date...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Stephen H wrote a review 6 Sep
Pulborough, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
I don't like leaving bad reviews and on this occasion it's not the actual individual hotel's fault or the management at this hotel, it's IHG group itself. Having also spent 40 minutes on a call to their Customer relations department this morning, I felt this is something I should tell people about. So we booked a last minute stay at this hotel due to a family bereavement and to be fair there wasn't a lot of choice anywhere, so we had to take whatever we could find for a one night stay. On arrival we were rather surprised to see the state of the building, absolutely rotten window frames, not just one but EVERY window frame, peeling paint , weeds, rubbish etc etc in the car park. The whole place in a very sorry state. We booked two rooms and to be fair they were very clean but everything in it quite old, however perfectly decent for a one night stay. Breakfast was average and staff again very attentive, clearing tables etc and all being very happy and helpful. One area of the restaurant was cordoned off due damp coming through the wall, looking around whilst having breakfast, the whole place needs so much work doing to it, very sorry state of repairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful which sort of made up for the hotels bad state of repair. However my beef isn't with the hotel or it's management, it's not their fault, I'm more annoyed with IHG senior management who would let one of their properties get into such a state of disrepair and still expect the hotel to charge full rate. Remember, the staff at the hotel can only do what they can with the facilities that are provided to them, so it's not their fault. I phoned IHG customer relations which is based overseas and logged my views, they said I would get a reply...which I didn't, I had to chase them again on several occasions but could never get through, this morning I managed to get hold of someone but was on the phone for 40 minutes discussing the fact that I hadn't had a reply. All they want to do is pass you around various staff who each want to repeat why I'm calling, to sum up though, they couldn't understand why I wanted a reply and that the management were aware of my complaint, what a load of rubbish. I asked if there was someone in the UK I could talk to, an area manager, regional manager, someone who is responsible for the upkeep of their properties but they said this wasn't possible. I told them that if this is how complaints are dealt with, and how difficult they are to log, I would simply never stay in another IHG property, they really aren't bothered. They offered me points, which I don't really want, they would not entertain a refund even though that wasn't why I was complaining and they wouldn't progress my call to anyone in the UK. So you can make up your own mind, an IHG hotel or go for a different brand.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Rudge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Stephen, I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the customer relations team at IHG, and that you have not had the outstanding stay that you or I would expect. I assure you this is not a reflection of our usual exceptional service. There are some structural characteristics of the building that are aging and this is something I am hoping to improve on. I hope you have the opportunity to try our hotel again sometime soon. Martin
Read more
Bathwickdave wrote a review Aug 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom86 contributions56 helpful votes
You can’t fault this hotel for service as the staff are amazing. I was blown away and the rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable indeed with an en-suite which is modern and spotless. Every single member of staff has been incredibly warm and helpful. The downside is that the public areas and outside just look neglected. I was quite disappointed as I walked up to check in as there are rotten window frames, dead plants and the public areas are in great need of some investment although clean and tidy. The rooms are good, the beds are comfy and clean, the staff are great and breakfast has great options but it all feels a bit neglected and in need of investment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Rudge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Bathwickdave, Thank you for the constructive review. I am so glad that you found your room and our staff so outstanding during your stay with us. Please accept my apologies with regards to the grounds, as we are in quite an old building some of the characteristics of the hotel are showing their age, this is something we are working on. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon. Martin Rudge
Read more
mrshayes0209 wrote a review Aug 2021
Portsmouth, United Kingdom28 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed one night in transit. So delighted to find such a warm welcome, immaculately clean room and 4 beds within to accommodate the family. Ate in restaurant which was tasty & very much appreciated on site after a long journey. Nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff. Lovely to see well behaved dogs also enjoying the experience too. We would definitely recommend to other families and be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
philguk wrote a review Jul 2021
Tideswell, United Kingdom208 contributions70 helpful votes
Perhaps in common with other guests we were somewhat taken aback by the dilapidated state of the outside of this hotel. The window woodwork, for example, doesn't so much need urgent attention as complete replacement! It looks like no-one really cares to look after this hotel Once inside though, the staff are unfailingly helpful and friendly. Yes, the rooms look a little tired compared with the public areas, but aren't all hotels a little like that? To our surprise (after seeing the outside) EVERYTHING in our room was in perfect working order - and our room at the end of a corridor was wonderfully quiet In fact the whole hotel is quiet, despite the A14 being right outside! Staff are still taking their Covid precautions seriously (which is more than can be said for some of the guests, but that's another story.....) Nice to have a breakfast buffet back again too For the price it's great value, and only a short drive into Ipswich. There are also a great range restaurants within a 5 minute driving radius
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 11 (ground floor) is VERY quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswich
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Avid Indoor Climbing (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chiquito, Frankie & Benny's, and The Raven.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (4.8 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (5.1 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (5.3 km).