We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

PricelineUS$57*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$115*
US$57*
US$115*
US$57*
US$115*
US$57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

675 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 663: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I chose this hotel for its location and reputation of hotel group. I felt the quality of accommodation was disappointing. The bathroom was a victim of grotty, dirty grouting and filler. The hot water supply was dangerous with NO H & S warning. Fortunately I had put cold water in basin before I opened hot tap so after scolding a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arcus131
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, S.Moss

asturias
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Nice big room in the center of Darlo. Good price and very good breakfast. Lovely big shower. Night staff prepared us a sandwich at almost 00 pm that was very good because we hadn't eaten dinner. Not extra charge for the parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aida K
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, S.Moss

Reviewed 10 April 2017

Came to watch Darlington FC again......staff so nice,comfy beds,great location and parking on site.Receptionist even found us a room before official check in time,much appreciated after a long trip from Manchester.Maybe Mercure could sponsor a matchball at Darlington FC?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure Darlington. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, S.Moss

Reviewed 6 April 2017

I stayed here with my mum recently and couldn't fault it! all the staff were fantastic and friendly and chatty and just made our stay really! Jessica in the restaurant, the bar staff - wow loved all the cocktails, the reception staff you should all be really proud of how well you do your jobs. Sorry I can't remember any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, S.Moss

England
Reviewed 2 April 2017

A nice enough business hotel in the town centre although the pedestrian entrance on Priestgate is poorly signed and easily missed. I had to phone for help. The inside is also a bit of a warren and you need to pay careful attention to the signs to find your bedroom and the second floor breakfast room. But the only real...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worried_of_Guildford
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, S.Moss

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Really lovely place to stay - rooms were beautiful, the hotel is very central and breakfast was incredible. Thank you in particular to Jessica Blackburn who was a very friendly and helpful member of staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 176Cha
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable! S.Moss

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Check in was easy and quick, no forms to fill out! Free parking under the hotel. Contemporary decor, kept to a high standard. Very clean and modern. Main reason for review; the food in the Kings grill is divine! By far the tastiest lamb dish I have ever had! This chef deserves a medal and I will definitely be returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake H
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, S.Moss

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

A big team dinner at the mercure and accommodation. Private dining room which whilst big for our party, was made to feel warm and intimate. Great food, generous portions and well presented. Mix up with menu dealt with efficiently and with charm. None of us minded. Really great service from attentive staff, especially the young lady who oversaw our pre-dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aif109
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, S.Moss

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful stay with such attentive staff. The meal was amazing and our waitress Jessica Blackburn was so lovely what a refreshing change to have a waitress that is kind, polite and a pleasure to be around 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chezzytee
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Jessica, who I know will be delighted. Kind Regards, S.Moss

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We thought we'd try out Sunday roast after recommendation from friend. Wasn't disappointed - restaurant decor is really very pleasant and relaxed environment inside with a nice view out into the town centre. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The menu was very good value at I think £13.95 for 3 courses and was great quality with really decent portions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby D
Stewart M, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you at another Sunday Lunch soon, hopefully! Kind regards, S.Moss

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.6 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
776 reviews
0.6 km away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
5.3 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,411 reviews
0.3 km away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#8 of 21 in Darlington
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Price Range: RM291 - RM515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City Location”
tracyhF1703TL, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Take an electrical extension lead so you can plug your laptop and/or mobile phone chargers in.”
564ChrisB564, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“I wouLd get a room on top floor as in all central locations”
A3298WQmichaeld, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room service is £5 charge which I wasn't made aware of so be careful!”
176Cha, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from 'the clock bells'. Rather warm.”
aif109, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$57* /night
View Deal
MercureUS$57
Booking.comUS$57
AMOMAUS$115
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates