We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Hotels.comUS$74*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 850: English reviews
Start your review of The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
 Click to rate
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for the night with my partner. I booked a little treat for after his 30th birthday. We stayed 31st March. The spa was great, we really enjoyed our treatments and two days of relaxation. Our goodie bag filled with creams and little mini wash room essentials was a great touch. We had a package deal for £155.00 which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Lauren H Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington for your partner's birthday celebrations. I am so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including your treatments, little extras and a hearty breakfast. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your dining expereince, this is not usual feedback for us and I do hope the staff...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff and good facility's, bar a bit limited and service slow but overall a nice hotel, good location for the most part a 4 star hotel but rooms not where they should be ours was good but friends had a room that was a little more dated

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovegoidnosh
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear ilovegoidnosh Thank you for your great 5* review following your recent stay with us. We offer 60 bedrooms each ranging in size, decor and furnishings and we do operate a schedule of redecoration and refurbishment, recently completing works to a number of rooms. By all means please contact me directly to oversee your next stay and I will try...

Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at this hotel during many owners and name changes for almost 30 years, we decided to enjoy a weekend there recently, our first return in quite a number of years. This hotel has always been a particular favourite of ours, one we consider as our 'special place'. It is indeed advertised as 'Duncan Bannatyne's Signature Hotel'. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Colin C Thank you for your loyal custom over the years and I am delighted that you have enjoyed, overall, consistently high standard across the board. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service from the team and some elements of your dining but I would like to offer my sincere apologies that the room did not meet your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here as part of a christening/ birthday party. The room which was hired was beautifully decorated and the buffet style food was amazing!!! I would like to give special mention to Ryan for the brilliant service, replenishing the hot food so quickly and clearing our plates so quickly and efficiently. He often stopped to talk to us, asked how...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alicerowan678
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear alicerowan678 Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your attendance at a function at the hotel. I am delighted that your enjoyed your day so much and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your special mention of Ryan and the service he provided to you, I look forward to...

Hull, England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quite a frustrating visit as there are some good positives and poor negatives. The check in was flawless. The layout of the rooms might have tested an explorer and perhaps a compass and a map should be issued at reception as the higher rooms are not easy to locate and a stay in a quality hotel should indeed be straightforward....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBoy1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear SunnyBoy1 Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the service from the team to be flawless, the food flavoursome and enjoyed the character of the hotel. However, I offer my apologies for the elements of your stay that were a disappointment...

Newcastle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 of us booked a Girls' Pamper night and it was fantastic. The hotel is lovely, staff very friendly and helpful. We had afternoon tea (which is the biggest I have ever seen!!), a two course dinner, and breakfast and every meal was delicious. The cocktails were pretty good too! We can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlondieNewcastle
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear BlondieNewcastle Thank you so much for your fantastic review following your girlie break away. I am delighted that you had such a fantastic stay ...especially our food offering. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Lucy Readshaw General Manager

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked to stay at the Bannatyne Hotel Darlington with my partner as a long weekend break in February 2017. From the pictures and majority of the Tripadvisor reviews, we were really expecting good things, especially as we paid extra for an executive room. The hotel itself was in a great location, with a supermarket across the road and being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger1408
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Ginger1408 Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and it would appear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the location, the grandeur of the building, large bathroom, hearty breakfast, delicious steak and use of the Spa facilities so I was disappointed that you felt the stay was only average and warranted...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a party here for 42 friends and family last weekend for my Mum's special birthday and it was really good - Food was lovely, staff were great as always - it was a really special afternoon. This is our 5th big family event here over the past 10 years and Ive always found the hotel to be really helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 193sue
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear 193sue Thank you for your lovely feedback following your Mum's special birthday celebrations. I am delighted that you all had such a lovely afternoon, enjoying the service, the food quality and a delightful setting. Thank you for choosing the hotel as the venue for so many of your family celebrations, this is appreciated and we look forward to seeing...

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here twice at the end of 2016 but was only prompted to review by an email from bannatyne. The first time we stayed we had a room upstairs in what seemed the older part of the hotel, the room was gorgeous. Really spacious, lovely bathroom. We had cocktails in the bar which was very busy due to a private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annietred
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Annietred Thank you for your feedback following your stay. I am thrilled that as a returning guest you enjoy consistently high standards of service from the team, a hearty breakfast and a high quality of rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Lucy Readshaw...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time booking the spa break the hotel is just beautiful very friendly & welcoming staff can't do enough for you the food is amazing freshly cooked to perfection the rooms where spacious clean and the beds are very comfy i will defiantly be returning me & my husband have loved the relaxing stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Donna P Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you had such a great time and found the staff to be so friendly and enjoyed our delicious menu. We do hope you will make this a regular treat and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again...

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
1.1 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
776 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
7.1 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,407 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
10.1 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Price Range: RM378 - RM496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose garden room. The other rooms are on a main road which is noisy.”
Ginger1408, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Executive had large en suite and garden view”
judithh977, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one at the back to avoid road noise.”
DavetheFisher, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“garden view”
Maeve123456, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Would recommend the double executive rooms - lots of space”
445janetr, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$74
Booking.comUS$76
Agoda.comUS$75
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates