We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Corner House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Start your review of The Corner House Hotel
 Click to rate
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I use the hotel when I am running courses. The food and service is second to none. The food in the Retreat Restaurant lives up to the same standard and I would highly recommend it. The setting is charming and the service is unobtrusive and excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonneAH190730
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are lucky to have so many wonderful customers who are a pleasure to look after and this makes our jobs so enjoyable.

Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good hotel. I stayed one night. It's almost a boutique hotel. Designer in parts, and upstairs a bit run down in parts. My room was small but comfortable (and could have done with a bit more cleaning behind the wash basin taps). Nice modern bathroom. Evening meal was excellent and worthy of a decent restaurant. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank totnesbrian
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I note the comments about wash basin taps and will highlight this deficiency to my housekeeping team to rectify and keep on top of. Being diplomatic in nature I cannot usually comment on the driving skills of some reviewers who seem to find a stationary wall an issue, and so I am pleased you...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here two nights in late February. The hotel is in quite an interesting old building, handily located for Taunton town centre. It was reasonable value but the room was a bit small and what annoyed me was having to pay £10 for car parking - this cost was not mentioned at the time of booking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reg44
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do advertise car park charges on our website and I know that it is on all the major O.T.A. websites such as Booking.com. It is also highlighted on our confirmation letters. Most town centre hotels charge for car parking. It is certainly not something we hide.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent the weekend at this hotel, and bit disappointed tbh . The compact room was exactly that, not much room to move , the floor in the room and corridor outside were extremely squeaky . The bathroom was also tiny . The bar had decent selection of beers and wines . We had the Sunday Roast and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolmrobertmcgil
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am extremely disappointed that our Sunday Roast did live up to your expectations and I will certainly investigate as we very rarely get negative feedback and in fact we usually have rave reviews. I hope you mentioned this at the time as I am certain it would have been rectified. We highlight that compact...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Firstly paying for parking to stay at the hotel. I just think that is super cheeky. Secondly my purple throw that goes at the end of the bed had suspicious white crusty stains on it from what I can only assume was a randy precious occupant. Thirdly the noise was horrendous. I wss in 32 and the noise from any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I apologise that we did not live up to your expectations. Can I respond to the issues you have highlighted one by one. 1. Car Park charges As we are in a town centre location Car Parking is at a Premium and all the town centre hotels have charges...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at hotel for 5 nights. The breakfast choice was very good served in comfortable surroundings . We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and again there was a good choice of dishes which were very tasty. We were upgraded on our arrival from a compact room to a larger double room. It was clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I will have a look at the bathroom in the room you stayed in and see if we can install a heated towel rail. Thank you for letting me know about this.

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This has potential to be a lovely little hotel. Some great things going for it but not being able to have a proper shower in the morning is a major let down meaning I wouldn't stay here again until they sorted it. The good points - the food, it's excellent. The restaurant is cosy and well decorated and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brimbleberry
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to inform you that we are shortly going over to mains water pressure which we have been told will resolve the shower pressure issues as well as the wait for hot water which can take a little while when demand is not high.

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We booked 2 nights at this hotel through Buy a Gift to include breakfast and dinner on first night. Upon checking in, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and were swiftly given the key to our room (8). This was on the top floor and although heavily pregnant I would not recommend booking a room any further than the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicki19819
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the food. I am pleased to say that the water pressure issue is being resolved and the next few months will see the last rooms and coridoors receive a make over.

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The Corner House hotel is nicely located just a short walk from Taunton centre. Ideal for a night out. The hotel offers onsite parking (at a price of £5 per day) but the access in and out is tight to say the least. I drive a Renault Megane coupe and it felt tight so I can only image the available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Storm0573
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I believe I have covered car park access and exits on a number of occassions and I would certainly not recommend for transit vans and large vehicles (although Steve our maintenance man trundles in and out in a van) but it is good to highlight this to fellow readers. The room you were in...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful service, delicious food and a lovely atmosphere. Events like these, for approx 30 people, are always difficult to get right. We've had some bad experiences over the years and so are always nervous but we needn't have been! We had a fantastic time and are very happy to recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateWandSimon
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

A pleasure to have helped you party.

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Compact Double Room (24)
Viewed
Double Room (Disabled Access) (25)
Viewed
Executive Single Room (23)
Viewed
Large Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.6 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
610 reviews
0.1 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
369 reviews
8.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
172 reviews
0.7 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
145 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Wine and Sausage
Wine and Sausage
Cuisines: British, American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: RM330 - RM555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room and, if you are staying for more than a night, you may want to ask for one of the bigger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneAH190730, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Different room sizes at different prices. Compact room was fine for a short stay but if we stayed longer we would need a bigger room.”
 of 5 bubbles 610duffym, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was overlooking car park which I'm assuming is quiter than those facing the road”
 of 5 bubbles 475sarahd475, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Big room takes time to warm up”
 of 5 bubbles HenryG1965, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are small, first floor rooms are more ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles ayeshashas, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5