We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Corner House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Corner House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 740: English reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2014

A friendly little hotel in the town centre. The room was on the smallish size but it was clean and all the linen and bathroom was clean. The staff were pleased to help and very friendly. A better than average breakfast before we checked out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kernowapple
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kernowapple, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Nigel.

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Went back to Taunton for work recently and decided to try the Corner House Hotel and its Wine & Sausage restaurant again (reviewed separately). Never certain that going back to somewhere that was favourable last time is a good idea - BUT the Corner House Hotel was great again - good room, good shower, good breakfast - great REAL ALE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hexhamambyth
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hexhamambyth, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We have passed your kind comments around the team. Kind regards, Nigel.

Stow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

I booked via a late bookings web portal, which is why I think, I was given the room I was Room 48 is not in the main building. It's an annex in the car park. It smells damp and the door opens on to the car park. The wine is expensive, the food at best average and waiting on staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernest2002
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manthony222, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. You are correct that Room 48 is of from the car park at the rear of the hotel - we have put in steps to ensure the the room is fully ventilated when guests have stayed. The benefit of this room is that...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Won't be staying here again. The room was small and noisy, with road-traffic noise, and in need of a major overhaul. The room was overpriced for the standard and size of the room. The keycard system wasn't working, so when I arrived back in the evening I had to wait a long time for a large group to check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squire_147
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Squire_147, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. We have just completed the refurbishment of our new Concept Room which has been well received and we are now planning the roll out across our bedrooms in the coming months. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused with the key card system...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a standard double room after being advised that the beds were the same size as the large rooms. The bed was tiny in our room. The room itself could do with modernisation and the bathroom was very poor. It was very basic and cheap looking and the shower curtain actually wraps around you whilst in the low...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulhnewcastle
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paulhnewcastle, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. We do believe that we offer value for money in providing an independent hotel with rooms from £49 in the heart of Taunton complimented by a unique Wine & Sausage Restaurant, Wine Bar and Wine Shop on the ground floor. We have just...

Witham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We booked this hotel after looking online and we travelled as a two couples. It looked better online than when we arrived - the entrance for cars being so very narrow - and the exit even narrower, we couldn't exit our 4 x 4 through that. One couple being disabled had the only "disabled" room. It certainly was! The wet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanne S, Thank you for taking the time to write such a constructive review as you have made some key points. We have just launched our new Concept Room (Room 4) which has been received extremely well and are in the final stages of rolling out the next ten bedrooms to be refurbished including Room 1 (Disabled Room). We...

perth
Reviewed 3 September 2014

on arrival was informed key card system for room entry was broken so no card.fresh linen in room every day toilet bit small. never had meals in so could not comment would have been worried if evacuation was required as corridors and stairs were rather narrow staff friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crazysaint
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazysaint, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback which we appreciate. On this occasion it is clear that we did not get things right and as such please may I offer you my personal apology. It is with regret to advise that our electronic key system is not currently working and is...

Poole, Dorset
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I travelled to Taunton in midweek for a funeral of a good friend. I arrived at 1.10 only to be told that the room would not be available until 3pm. I explained to the receptionist that I had to be at the crematorium at 2pm and I needed a room to change into a suit. No problem and he even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heights73
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heights73, Thank you taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. I am pleased to hear that the team looked after you in order for you to be able to pay your respects. As a team we do try our utmost to offer the best in customer service and be approachable and adaptable when possible....

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here with four other couples. We had travelled to Taunton as a party of 10 friends of ours have had a charity day / nights to raise money on behalf of their son who was killed in action in Afghanistan he would have been 40 this year and the money that was raised was presented to the Royal Marines...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole T
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole T, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. Royal Marines 40 Commando is such a worthwhile cause and we are proud to support them on many occasions throughout the year. On this occasion it is clear that you did not enjoy our usual guest experience and as such please may...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

So a stopover on our way down to Devon, we booked two rooms originally via a hotels search engine and found a good room only deal. We then cancelled that as, by booking direct with the hotel, we achieved a extra special evening meal, bed and breakfast deal - always worth checking. Not sure what makes a hotel 'boutique' rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 509Martin
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 509Martin, Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review which made interesting reading. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have very much taken note of your constructive comments. I have today been in discussion with the company that collects our refuge bins and hopefully will have a resolution...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Compact Double Room (24)
Viewed
Double Room (Disabled Access) (25)
Viewed
Executive Single Room (23)
Viewed
Large Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
351 reviews
0.6 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
575 reviews
8.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
167 reviews
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Wine and Sausage
Wine and Sausage
Cuisines: British, American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: RM235 - RM538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was overlooking car park which I'm assuming is quiter than those facing the road”
 of 5 bubbles 475sarahd475, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Big room takes time to warm up”
 of 5 bubbles HenryG1965, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are small, first floor rooms are more ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles ayeshashas, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 41 - The only funny thing is the nearly see-through bathroom door!”
 of 5 bubbles CPLimited, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't book any room above the function room on the ground floor, if you want a good night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ptlawto, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay