We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taunton House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taunton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taunton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A nice hotel with pleasant junior staff but when i arrived at breakfast at 0850 only to wait 45 mins for a coffee and then be told the owners son does what he wants and if he decides to leave early (ie 0850 when breakfast closes at 9am) then thats his perogative, It is clear that those who are senior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you liked the hotel, This incident is due to a misunderstanding between staff, I'm not sure why the other staff member who's on duty went into such detail regarding what the Male member of staff was doing whom was doing other hotel duties or on booking related calls,...

Staffs. UK.
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was almost put off by some of the more negative reviews ! However my impressions were really good ! Lovely, well modernised hotel in a great central location, room was very clean and well appointed, good car park, good breakfast and pleasant service. Great place to stay in Taunton !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardi
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for you review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the modern interior of the hotel, breakfast, and our friendly helpful staff, We hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We found this hotel while motoring down to Devon. Although on a main road the room interior was everything you could wish for perfect room. Standards of hygiene were impeccable. Not sure how many guests were staying, as we only saw six people at breakfast. Staff were polite, food was well cooked. We only stayed for one night, but would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avril M
General M, Owner at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, we always aim to provide excellent customer service and cleanliness at the hotel, We are pleased you liked the contemporary interior style of the rooms, we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards

Launceston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and found the hotel comfortable and clean. Staff attitude was a bit cold but once the customer engaged with them they were fine. Suggest you do some training on customer service- a smile and hello worth a lot. Breakfast good. Other meals not really available but try local Italian (excellent).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan B
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, the staff always do their best to provide excellent customer service, sorry if that wasn't the case that day, we have recently let a member of staff go. We offer light meals in the evening served either in the restaurant, bar or in your room. We are pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and clean...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

I booked into this hotel expecting it to be basic - it was. The decor was fine and the room clean. The staff were just strange and extremely unwelcoming. I can't remember the last time I booked into a hotel and wasn't welcomed. The lights only come on when you walk down the corridor which just isn't very warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very sorry that the staff on your arrival were unwelcoming, we have since moved this staff member on, we hope this will not deter you from staying again, We always aim to provide excellent customer service, we have the bell as it's a small hotel and staff are often busy at the bar or...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with some friends. The hotel is ideally located for the centre of town but is very basic. Checking in was an experience, the lady had a very bad attitude to customers, a simple smile and a 'good afternoon' doesn't cost anything. Our room had a window overlooking the road which meant we couldn't leave the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very sorry the staff were unwelcoming on your arrival, we have since moved this staff member on, we always aim to provide excellent customer service, We have lots of rooms at the back of the hotel, just a simple phone call asking to have a quiet room at the back is very possible. Breakfast...

Frequent Business Traveller
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Not sure how this hotel has gained three stars to be honest. Could be a nice hotel but let down by a number of factors. The staff just don't care and unfortunately do not seem to speak decent english. In error items got removed by housekeeping from my room as they thought I had checked out. After two days I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTIMan
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, the staff are very hard working and are often very busy, they do their best to provide excellent customer service, I'm sorry if that was not the case that day. The housekeeping gave all items back to you from the room, I apologise for the confusion in your checkout day. The room is spacious, modern and...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This hotel was clean modern and very comfortable. It was booked for me through the company. This turned out to be a great choice. The cooked breakfast was excellent.Although on a main road it was not that noisy. The bed was comfortable and helped me sleep well after some stressful business days. A spacious car park and the close proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickclarke2016
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for you review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and that you were more than satisfied with your stay.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel . Has everything you require , breakfast was good, rooms and bathroom very clean. Good car park , great location to town , helpful, accommodating. friendly staff. A little on the pricey side if I'm totally honest. Would stay again if visiting the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 230K123
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed you stay and your breakfast, we do our upmost best to provide customers with excellent service. The price is down to the season in the summer, please keep a look out on our website your find the best rates and lots of offers coming up.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Good location for the town center and events at the park with ample hotel parking. Very limited options for breakfast, which was poor. Room was dated. Service lacked professionalism. Poor value for money compared to some B&B's we have stayed. Would stay elsewhere if in the area ever again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGliau81
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are please you liked our excellent location in the town and our free car parking, we are saddened you did not enjoy the breakfast, we offer fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, museli, a cooked breakfast cooked to order with local fresh produce, choice of eggs etc. I'm sorry if this was not to your liking, I...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
617 reviews
0.8 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
773 reviews
0.9 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
8.1 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.0 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: RM467 - RM710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taunton House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Taunton House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room facing the town center”
andrewrobarts, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“a room at the back of the hotel.”
EnglandBriAnn, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The superior rooms are well worth the little extra.”
sim0nfreeman, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a superior room and it is well worth it.”
sim0nfreeman, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get to breakfast early in case the chef decides to clear off early.”
, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5