We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

PricelineUS$114*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$119*
US$114*
Great Deal
US$119*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mount Somerset Hotel
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mount Somerset Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on a deal including 3 course dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful.grounds were enjoyable to walk around. Spa was small but had a good range of facilities, but no pool. The room was stunning with everything thought about and lots of nice little extras. Dinner unfortunatly, was dissapoining. I am not a fussy eater and never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlottebritten2
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charlottebritten2, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mount Somerset Hotel & Spa. We are happy to read that you ejoyed the hotel itself and the grounds however sorry to read that the our food was not to your liking but we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We hope...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for afternoon tea. The sandwiches were dry. The cakes average. The scones were delicious. The afternoon would have been a slight disappointment for the price but the sun came out and the gardens were delightful. This saved the day. Also, a word of advice, please ask your staff to shower, brush their hair and wash their clothes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britant1979
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Britant1979, Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea experience with us, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotels beautiful grounds and setting. Sorry to read that you did not find the afternoon tea to your liking, your comments have been passed on to the hotel teams. Kind Regards

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been to this hotel numerous times in the past for both dinner and cream teas we decided to come and have full afternoon tea for a special birthday treat. Our decision to come was largely based on the positive way the hotel had catered for a gluten free (coeliac) dietary requirement in our past visits, i.e. last year we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny B
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonny B, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for your letter to us directly with the review. A letter is on its way back to you in the post from us so you should recieve this soon. Apologies that you did not have the experience that you were expecting for your afternoon tea,...

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We stayed here twice in December, the first time for a Christmas meal so we got the chance to use the spa and eat in the restaurant. The spa was lovely and we each had a wonderful treatment. The main part with the jacuzzi etc was quite small but very nicely done. We were the only ones in there which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy S, Great to hear that you decided to stay with us twice in December, thank you for reviewing your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and got a chance to relax in the Spa. The staff will be glad to read that they looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for his birthday at the beginning of August. We were both very much looking forward to a night away with no children and no dogs! The grounds are beautiful, as is the hotel. Most of the staff (particularly in the restaurant) were friendly, kind and helpful. However...we stayed in one of the rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nikki J, Thank you for reviewing your stay from last August and thank you for writing to us directly last year also, as you have mentioned I am glad to read that you recieved our response to your email to us directly. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us last year but we do...

Coventry UK
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Booked a sunday night package for a birthday treat. We arrived prior to check in time for the lunch that was included and had a very warm welcome. We enjoyed a glass of champagne and some complimentary canapés in the lounge overlooking the gardens, very relaxing. The mini bacon muffins had been defrosted and were slightly cold and watery in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annemcp
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annemcp, Thank you for your recent review of your Sunday night stay with us. We are delighted to read that liked the hotel and your room, the chef will be happy to read that you enjoyed the food and great to see that you relaxed with some breakfast in bed! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel...

Wokingham
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Spent a night here with my wife. Really friendly staff on reception and in the restaurant. Nice pool and spa. Lovely meal and breakfast. Room was a bit tired. Plenty of parking. Would be a nice place to stay on a sunny day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin13Wokingham
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin13Wokingham, Many Thanks for your kind review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had the best afternoon tea we have ever had! The sandwiches, cakes and scones were divine with free flowing tea, coffee or any drinks of our choice. The staff were really friendly and very attentive. We sat on comfy sofas in front of a lovely roaring fire. A great afternoon in beautiful surroundings. Thank you so much Mount Somerset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathcass
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cathcass, Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad to hear that the staff looked after you so well and that it was teh best afternoon tea you have had! Kind Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

The setting of the hotel is in beautiful grounds and surrounded by countryside. The building is very well kept and looked after. The rooms are comfortably decorated, with high ceilings, but warm and spotless! Sadly the time we were there the spa, which was the sole reason for booking the trip to this hotel; had experienced a problem with their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesMc87
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JamesMc87, Many thanks for writing such a detailed review of your stay with us, this is very helpful when reviewing our offering and discussing any problems that guests may have had during their stays. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed most of the areas of your stay and that certain staff and expriences made a good impression...

Wrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Myself and my husband stayed here as a special treat and we were not disappointed. We paid to upgrade to the Deluxe Garden Room with private hot tub. It was certainly well worth paying extra to have this little bit of private heaven on your own patio outside of your bedroom, pure luxury. The room was spacious and very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny L
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Penny L, Thank you for your kind review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you decided to upgrade to the Garden Deluxe room with the Hot Tub! It is also nice to read that you enjoyed the food during your stay and that the staff looked after you well. We hope...

519 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Barrington (41)
Viewed
Corfe (39)
Viewed
Donyatt (43)
Viewed
Durston (35)
Viewed
Langport (31)
Viewed
Pitminster (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
4.9 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
618 reviews
3.9 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
14.4 km away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
374 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
31.4 km away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Mount Restaurant
The Mount Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: RM632 - RM1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mount Somerset Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Somerset Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with the outside hot tubs are lovely and quiet, private and with great view over the gardens.”
JuanitaHS, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure it really matters - there are simple rooms right up to 4 posters.”
harpersimon, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Even though we were above the reception it wasn't noisy.”
Holmesabroad, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Well worth an upgrade to the Delux Garen Room.”
pennyl249, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the front of the hotel”
64maritad, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$114* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
TripAdvisorUS$119
HOTEL.INFOUS$118
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates