We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 962: English reviews
Start your review of Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
 Click to rate
glasgow
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself is fine but is in desperate need of updating. The bathroom in our room wouldn't be out of place in the 1980's - does anyone still have a beige bathroom suite? And the black plastic toilet seat looks very cheap as tacky. The size of the bathroom was very small. You couldn't lean over the sink without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angeliad
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We can't rate the hotel as they were overbooked and had to except alternative accommodation act the Ibis hotel, even though we had a confirmation, they did offer two singles. As this stay was for medical emergency to my wife's farther, this was not exceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

I hope you will contact us directly to try to address your issues as we would never of purposefully upset you, I believe there was issue with the 3rd party booking and we truly regret that you were inconvenienced.

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Firstly when I made initial enquiry, I was quoted 84 GBP, but then on arrival ten minutes later I was advised the tariff was 106 GBP, and the only two rooms were 'executive' rooms. What a joke - it was difficult to get hot water, had much more difficulty getting the toilet to flush, the furniture was shabby, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen10352
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Such a shame you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rates are updated constantly according to the market and I do regret that this was not as you had hoped. We will certainly look into your feedback regarding the bedrooms at the hotel, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is located right in the city centre next to the train station. I drove to the hotel and had to abandon my car in the 20min free parking zone for the station to quickly pop in to discuss the parking arrangements. I found out that you travel through the barriers on court square (picking up a ticket) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive and helpful review. We will certainly work on the points you have raised and hopefully if you give us another chance you will see some progress from us.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had afternoon tea as a guest of a friend. Although we were the only ones in the dining room, the food was delicious and the staff friendly and very pleasant. All the food was fresh and very well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we sincerely hope that you will be back to see us again in the very near future.

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This looked a good option as the hotel I usually use in Carlisle was fully booked. As it turned out it was old and poorly modernised. I had a room at the back of the hotel and was wakened at 4.00 by the noise of deliveries being made. The shower was over the bath and the water temperature had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M6015LZcharlesf
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not totally enjoy your visit with us. We do have a constant challenge in keeping the hotel modern due to the age and style of the building and the restrictions that this leaves us, however of course we would not want any of our guests leaving us dissatisfied and we truly regret that you were...

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and stayed for one night in the Hallmark hotel. It didn't start well waiting 15 minutes for a member of staff to turn up at check-in. I had booked a standard double room. The room was tried, not particularly clean and in need of an update (think 1970s bathroom. The mattress was shocking, sagging down to the head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim599
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Such a shame that your experience was so far away from how we would have wished. I do hope you will contact us directly so that we can work to improve your lasting impression of us. I sincerely apologise that your stay was not as it should have been and we promise to improve in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an old hotel with some character, but there does not appear to have been much investment in it over the years. My room was quite small and it was all very dated and rather tired. We had a meeting in a large room, but it was rather dark and not conducive to a positive meeting. That being said...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 160traveller
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for your balanced review, we do have an ongoing investment plan and over the last 12 months have spent considerable amounts on the fabric of the hotel, hopefully you will see more and more progress in the future.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shabby outside and in. Noisy bedrooms over kitchens. Unappealing restaurant and bar. Poor service. Have requested reprinted bill on multiple occasions all week, without response. Needs to drop its price point quite a bit to become value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SRE22
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Deeply disappointed with the afternoon tea at the hallmark hotel in Carlisle. I had booked afternoon tea the day before but was informed when we arrived that the chef didn't realise we were coming so there would be a 25mins wait. I understand these things happen and so did the rest of my party. However communication clearly needs to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KathrynRoutledge
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

I am sorry all was not as it should have been during your recent visit. We would never want our guests to leave us with such a poor reflection. I hope you will contact us directly so we can work to improve your lasting impression of us.

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 km away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
921 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,330 reviews
1.6 km away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
205 reviews
6.5 km away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
936 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square and next door to the railway station, the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is truly one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests will benefit from free WiFi, excellent customer service and delicious food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range: RM339 - RM665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle Cumbria
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Hotel Carlisle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Hotel Carlisle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not make a booking at this hotel.”
Maureen10352, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a suite it's worth it”
christina19672013, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
dawn123vallily, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
311ruth58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the decor before you accept the room”
nouveau27, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5