We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 830: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
 Click to rate
england
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed for the weekend ..we had a warm welcome from the manager and staff all very pleasant and very helpful..room nice clean and spacious lovely and warm..food very nice good to see gluten free bread/buns available.. we were on all incl deal good value for money..leisure facilities a nice treat and relaxing ..great location! All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellchrisb1
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a good stay and thanks for the positive comments. Paul Rodgers

Bramhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well located good value for money hotel. Walking distance to both Altringham and Hale, close enough to the airport for a stop before of after flying and a change form typical airport hotels. Hale a few minutes stroll has many fine relaxing eating and drinking establishments. Only slight downside is the size of the bar and service was a little...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 103nigelk
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time given to writing this review and pleased that the location of the property was suitable for your needs and that the deal was of good value. Clearly there is little we can do about the size of the bar but noted the comment about service. Paul Rodgers General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was perfectly placed for what we needed. our first room on the lower ground floor was slightly cold due to heating not working efficiently enough. but the hotel took immediate care of moving us to another room first thing the next day. so excellent service all round. the Night Porter was very helpful when we need water or...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinmY8962GJ
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear that all was well with your stay and appreciate the time taken to post the review. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night before flying from Manchester to Spain. We had 2 weeks parking and taxi to and from the airport included in the price. This was all excellent and made our stay easy and allowed us to relax as everything was already taken care of. I am disabled (frequent use of a wheelchair) so the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppy-48213
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing the review, will get on to the replacement of the fan and apologise that this had failed. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Lyngby, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is good - in walking distance from the town center, where there are nice restaurants. I like the atmosphere at the hotel. At this stay at the hotel I had problems with the Wi-Fi in the room (too week signal). At the previous stay I had no problem.

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poul Erik S
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Appreciate the positive comments but regret that you experienced a problem with WiFi on this visit as generally this does not feature as an issue as we usually have strong and fast signal. That said we did experience total failure for several hours one day last week due to an external engineer breaking the cable somewhere along the road, fortunately...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy walk from Hale Station, Pleasant staff, good accommodation free parking and free wifi. Book breakfast before hand and get a discount for a full buffet breakfast and fresh toast delivered to order

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write. Always good to hear that are guests have enjoyed the stay and that the location was ideal. Also appreciate the advice you have posted about breakfast as I am sure this may help future guests Paul Rodgers General Manager

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I decided to book into the Mecure Altrinchham on the back of other Mercure hotels we had stopped at. Sadly the place (accommodation) did not live up to my expectations. It was almost as if someone had bought an old hotel decided to spruce it up and then ran out of money half way through the upgrade. My deduction for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McNutty712
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post the review. Fully accept that artex may be a sign of age but do not think this or standard radiators should be a major issue as both can be found in many buildings of this era. Whilst there are no plans to change either of these aspects in the near future but do...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The reception and bar area looked fine, the corridor to the room looked tired . Our room was very small, small double bed, room very tired . Mould in bathroom around the bath. The walls were paper thin we could hear everything the next room said . We booked this as a package which included airport parking but definitely wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katie-hj1409
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and regret we did not meet your personal expectation, clearly there are some elements that we can and will quickly correct but others such as soundproofing is a little more difficult. Perhaps fortunate for us that this is not a common cause for comment and can only apologise for the...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 162Peter
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel as plentiful parking. We again booked the romatic deal with 3 course meal, glass of prosecco, breakfast, chocies in room and late checkout. Hotel is obviously a franchise. Reception was pleasant but "hole in wall" reception desk very dated. Room was ok although lacked hair drier and bed was "tired". Chocolates were disappointing - no rose petals on bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul_Mastersrl
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and regret that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Unusual to hear comments such as yours regarding the food as dinner and particularly breakfast receive high praise but will discuss your comments with the team to see if there is improvements that can be made. Paul Rodgers

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
3.3 km away
Altrincham Lodge
Altrincham Lodge
#5 of 6 in Altrincham
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 km away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
6.7 km away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Price Range: RM306 - RM487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The steps up to the reception are very step but there is a ramp not clearly indicated and sadly the outer door is not always open .”
 of 5 bubbles Chris91_11, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor. Second floor rooms are in the eaves and cramped.”
  • room in the eaves did not feel spacious
  • Bathroom looked OK but shower leaked water everywhere
 of 5 bubbles NeilRBBath, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Langhan or Langham suite downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles mackem1971, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on Front of Hotel. No views just overlooking the road and car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Jude642014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure that there is a good tip I could give you. Best Of Luck.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianBeck, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5