We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dukes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dukes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dukes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I stayed for 1 night in a single room. I cannot fault anything. All staff were polite, welcoming and helpful. The food was of an excellent standard, both evening meal and breakfast. My room had a lovely view and was extremely clean, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in. I can't wait to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seefood2016
Berkshire
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Chosen following previous Reviews and not disappointed. Only stayed one night but impressed with the warm welcome. Staff very helpful. Very pleased with the large bedroom and excellent bathroom both of which were very clean and well appointed. There is everything you need in the room and extra tea/coffee etc is on the landing. Bed and pillows both firm but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jehinch
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We stayed with fiends for 3 days. Service here was excellent but the room was very small. The dukes restaurant offers great local seafood dishes at reasonable prices but need to book ahead. Rooms were clean and well equipped even in our case though very small (really too small for more than a single night stay).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Where do you stay to review one of the most amazing hotels I have ever spent time in,I have been reviewing for so long . I have never come across such a wonderful establishment. Run by dan and his wonderful team (the list is too long to mention). From "TOT" time and those of those sailors who read this will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris504019
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I was sent to this hotel by my airline company after my flight from exeter to glasgow was cancelled on 2nd June. I was extremely stressed out after spending 4 hours of uncertainty hanging around the airport on my own. Upon arrival at the Dukes I was blown away by the proximity to the beautiful sea view and the esplanade....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy Q
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Had a very tasty evening meal recently with my parents. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a pizza and root vegetable gratin- the seasonal vegetables also went down a treat! The bread to begin with was a great addition! Definitely recommend Dukes for food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCHAMBERS25
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time with us!

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

As in previous years we head mostly for Dukes for lunchtime or evening meals during our week long stay in self catering accommodation. Nothing has changed, the food is of good quality, the staff are friendly and obliging, and the service very good in the restaurant areas. The menu is extensive whether it be for a snack or a main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3JHD
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! Hope you enjoyed your holiday in Sidmouth.

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We went there for a dinner few days ago , Saturday night. First of all waiting time was an hour for the starters to arrive ! Then we have found a bone in our burger and broken skewer mixed with burger meat . I have ordered monk fish with potato and vegetables . Everything was bland and had no taste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

We are really disappointed to read your review. Whilst we had an extremely busy bank holiday weekend, we did advise all our guests prior to ordering about the wait on food during our busy sessions. We cook all our food fresh to order. You did speak to one of our shift managers on the evening regarding finding a bone in...

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

I have eaten at Dukes many times in the past. I ate there on my birthday (March 31st) and when my sister was here from Wales we celebrated her birthday there as well. All four of us really enjoyed our meal- we all had different meals and they were all lovely. The service was brilliant and inside the tables aren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

Our Seafood nights have gone down a storm and we are pleased you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We like the fish and chip nights. Good food value and service. We regularly eat there & enjoy sitting in the conservatory. We will be back. The only ctiticism we have is that we don't rate their coffee. It is always busy so booking is advisable as we were disappointed they were full one time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
141 reviews
0.5 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.0 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
778 reviews
0.3 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
388 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and Esplanade, Dukes is a family friendly inn offering relaxed dining, drinks and accommodation all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dukes

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: RM531 - RM808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Dukes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Sidmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dukes staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
lancashire
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dukes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hold on to the handrails when climbing the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles graham196, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Large upgraded room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles victoria847, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles pammcnee1, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles richardmL5334VW, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms well worth extra”
 of 5 bubbles dianefT6968QJ, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5