We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Start your review of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
 Click to rate
uk
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Lovely clean hotel & super breakfast Rooms with complimentary gin & sherry.great rooms and very obliging staff.Didnt have an evening meal at the hotel but what I saw looked good.Good Spa facilities also.would highly recommend for a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ukgriff
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I booked a short stay in this lovely seaside town and were not disappointed! This hotel enjoys an elevated position overlooking the town and is equally convenient for the various shops and amenities the town has to offer. Nothing was too much trouble for the superb staff who made us very welcome, in particular, bar manager, Robert...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie H
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Understated superb friendly good food immaculate clean not at all pretentious helpful staff. Hotel only a short walk from sea one way opposite the gardens with views of Jurassic coast and Jacobs ladder brilliant cakes at the clockwork cafe I cannot fault this area. The charm is antiquated quiet and dated and I don't care. It's an old England I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joesimister
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and for your five star rating. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found both the quality of the food and the service provided by the staff to be of a high standard. We look forward to seeing you again and welcoming you back...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sidmouth is a beautiful town and parts of this hotel are lovely. The room was comfortable and the shower excellent. The food was good but service in the restaurant was disorganised and at times poor. We had a drink in the lounge, were given menus and told some one would take our orders, they didn't. Two nights we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hips64
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us and I apologise for the issues that you experienced in our Upper Deck restaurant . I would like to reassure you that your comments have been taken on board and we will address the situation accordingly. I was glad to read that you found...

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked for a 2 night stay, bed, breakfast and dinner. Our room, No 21 was beautifully furnished but was very warm despite not having heating on. Dinner on both nights was excellent, good service and nicely presented. We used the spa, although the pool is on the small side the facilities were very good and had no problem in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor and for the five star review that you have awarded us. I am delighted to hear that you found both the food and service to be of an excellent standard and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit, perhaps later in the...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a 'special Telegraph deal' only to discover it was much cheaper booking direct with the hotel! However, we went ahead as it was non refundable and found that the upgrade to a Courtyard Room meant we overlooked the car park and refuge bins. The room was really small and the furniture too large for the size of room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenys w
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor and I apologise for any confusion with regards to the offer that you had booked. The allocation that you have goes towards the cost of your evening meal and is not a dinner inclusive rate, which should have been confirmed in your reservation confirmation letter. I am...

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We recently returned from a nights stay. We managed to get a last minute deal with a sea view room, £50 towards dinner and breakfast. The hotel is lovely, recently refurbished, the entrance is beautiful and had some nice finishing touches, fresh flowers and a fire place. The pool and spa area is well equipped, a brilliant gym, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxprincesskatexx
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor after your recent visit and I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologise for the levels of service you experienced in the restaurant. I can assure you that these issues will be addressed and I look forward to welcoming you back for a return...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The refurbishment of this hotel is very good . The new court yard rooms are luxurious but the hotel is badly let down by parts of its operation specifically breakfast service . Frankly the service of breakfast is awful. On all three mornings we waited up to 20 minutes for drinks and the continental selection was mainly fruit with yogurt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am sorry to read that you experienced a few issues with breakfast service for which I apologise and we will certainly take on board your comments and address the situation. Thank you also for your kind comments with regards to John our Hall Porter and...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have recently enjoyed a lovely stay at the Harbour Hotel in Sidmouth. Despite a number of negative reviews regarding the rooms, my wife and I had a lovely room (room 21). The room had been recently re-furbished and was very comfortable. The only slight negative was that despite having the window fully open we did find the room a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas Y
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor with regards to your recent stay with us and I so glad to hear that despite having a hot bedroom you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for you comments with regards to the level of service that you received in the restaurant and that that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night with a toddler and dog. Booking was confusing as Mr & Mrs Smith allow a one night stay online but when I called the hotel direct to check their dog policy I was told they only take 2 night bookings. After a bit of haggling I was allowed to book for one night over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lagage3
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor after your recent stay with us and I sincerely apologise for the levels of service that you experienced.This is not what we are about and I thank you for your feedback and we will certainly address the points that you have raised. I do look forward to...

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
780 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
469 reviews
0.4 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.4 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
413 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: RM622 - RM1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Redditch, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Gosport, United Kingdom
England
South Molton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 41glenysw, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 21 was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles nicholasy138, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the actual room size - you can’t tell from photos and be specific about what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles sarar233, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms in the main hotel building have sea views. Our courtyard room was excellent & quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 94karinc, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you pay for superior ask for Room 33 - do NOT be fobbed off with room 24!”
 of 5 bubbles ImiKof, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5