We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 393: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Norbreck Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay for five days was good but you need to improve the food quality.Turkey was hard ,vegetables were frozen not fresh Chicken with rice was smothered in sauce so it was all slushy. The Shearings Royal Whitby could show you how you prepare and serve meals. Also asking guests to get their own drinks from the bar at mealtimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leslie j
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

stayed 3 night at the Norbreck at the beginning of this month The initial impression was good with a very efficient and friendly receptionist and a quick look at the restaurant and bar/ entertainment lounge made it seem quite impressive. Our room was smallish, with a separate shower and toilet but the wash basin was in the same room as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne H
Huddersfield
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed here a few times now, and have a previous review. I still think this is the best value for money hotel in Scarborough. Once again had a very nice room, with a good view, and enjoyed my meals. It is true that when busy there is a queue for toast, and the toasters seem a bit slow....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank metromanHuddersfield
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi metroman and thanks you for taking the time to write a second review. It is so nice to see returning customers and good to read your comments and know you will return. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

11 hours travelling 3 coaches from Cromer to Scarborough arrived very tired. Given room 107 with 2 single beds as requested . Horrendous. Had boiler room with outside noisy fan directly under window with accompanied noise from 6am until 11pm. Below is the bar/lounge without any sound proofing. To noisy to watch TV. Bathroom recently updated but room in need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyce S
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments you have made regarding your recent stay at the Norbreck Hotel. It is unfortunate that your stay was disrupted so much by the noise from our systems and that we were unable to offer a quieter room. We appreciate that some customers wish to have a quiet stay and will do all we can to...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean tidy very modern hotel but the food leaves a lot to be desired .Most of the food was rather tasteless. Staff aren't particularly friendly either . A lot of the rooms had a sea view with the hotel being on a corner . Good value though for a Shearings trip

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Linda H
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Linda H. I am sorry to read you did not find all of the elements of your stay up to standard and these will be investigated. I hope you will enjoy future breaks with us.

liverpol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

yes the hotel could do with up-dating, bedroom was nice with views of sea, clean bed linen, constant hot water and nice white fluffy towels, food needs to be looked at, was not always hot, breakfast was best meal of the day, staff very helpful and friendly, also would be better if evening meal time was extended, 7,30 finish is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank supergrannyfran
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Supergrannyfran for all of your comments. I am very proud of the team of staff I have here and it is always nice when a guest notices how friendly and helpful they are. I look forward to seeing you again.

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was small but had everything I needed as I was travelling alone, but the shower over the bath had to be held as it was a plastic hose and pointed in the wrong direction, the water kept changing temperature and took ages to rinse the soap off whilst trying to keep warm.The food was terrible except the deserts,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay R
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kay R, it is very much appreciated and we will use it to review our standards and what we have to offer our guests. We have a varied line up of entertainment so we hope to be able to find something that will suit everyone during their stay. We are working on the comments that...

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I, along with my Mum and her friend, stayed here from Monday to Friday with Shearings. The room we had was spacious apart from the fire exit being in the corner so if a fire occurred then people would have to come into our room and out the fire door. The hotel itself was outdated but rather...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marq H
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry the food was not up to standard during your break and assure you this is being addressed. It is nice to read you enjoyed the service from our staff and the entertainment which I will pass onto the individuals you mentioned personally.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

The hotel was ok - management very friendly - waiters/waitresses need to be more friendly and smile more. The food was awful. The breakfast was luke warm - the heating underneath must have been lit as we walked in the room. The evening meal was awful - nothing looked fresh especially the veg and the chips were soggy. The meals...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 723cmc
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The comments you have made will help us improve our standards and have been passed onto the kitchen and restaurant teams. I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

The food was mostly dreadful. I have never had fish and chips with pea purée served with new pots parsnips cauliflower and the worst excuse for Chips I have ever seen. There were 12 of them for 2 of us and they were completely inedible. Any chef worth the title would never send them out to a customer so I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ljmjlittle
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to learn that the food quality on your holiday was not satisfactory and you had the complaints you have made. Our Chefs welcome all feedback and we use this to improve our procedures and standards. Thank you for bringing your comments to my attention.

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
424 reviews
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,747 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,327 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM716 - RM716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea view at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea and beach”
778lesliej, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“first floor can hear music , higher floor better”
supergrannyfran, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“We paid extra for a sea view but I think nearly all the rooms had a sea view so don't waste your money”
723cmc, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if you want to eat”
ljmjlittle, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Floor 3 for views of bay.”
S628PHrobertg, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates