We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Maynard

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Maynard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Maynard
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Now don't get me wrong, perfect in the sense of this trip would qualify with; a low costing double bed in a room with ensuite that had the option to shovel a fry up down me in the morning if I didn't stay out too late the night before. The Maynard does all of those things hence my accolade of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt O
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review

Dear Mat, Thank you for your positive review, it was a pleasure to note that you left your room and made our housekeeping very easy by stripping your bed and folding everything ready for cleaning, i do wish every guest did!, you are obviously a 5* guest and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Friends were staying at a nearby hotel, which was full, so we booked at the Maynard. For the price (£60) you can't expect the Ritz - there are positives but also negatives & you make a choice by booking here. Hosts are very welcoming & helpful explaining parking. Breakfast was very good & they were helpful about an early start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornish_traveller43
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

My partner and myself spent one night here, originally booked through a groupon deal. The place is in a great location, walkable distance from the seafront/spa/shops. Our room was clean and tidy, tea and coffee provided in the rooms, tv, and a very very comfy bed! The welcome was friendly, and we were asked straight away to pick what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gomezhamham
halifax
Reviewed 4 February 2016

My wife's daughter bought a Groupon deal for one night's dinner, bed, and breakfast for two people at the Maynard, intending that she and her mum would go. Unfortunately, my wife's daughter was ill and couldn't go, and so, rather than waste the booking, I went along with my wife (having checked with the management that this was acceptable -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxThespian
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We are just back from a 2 night stay at the Maynard Hotel. We booked this with Groupon and I cant believe what a bargain it was. The hotel was very clean, the room was very comfortable, will definately be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristineD1957
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please contact us direct next time you would like a bargain break , as we always have special deals available to returning guests.

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at the Maynard. Groupon deal included bed breakfast and evening meal for bargain price of £49. Hotel itself is nice, room was nice with extraordinarily comfy bed, dinner was really good as was breakfast, both served up in pleasant surroundings by friendly and efficient host. All in all we enjoyed it :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gail653
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Booked a groupon. This hotel exceeded our expectations. The owner Stuart mad us feel very welcome. On the first evening a meal was included which was very enjoyable. The room was spotlessly clean and large. We were in room 2 which is a family room with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. As there was only two of us there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandy G
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please contact us direct next time you would like a bargain break , as we always have special deals available to returning guests.

Mirfield
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The owners are very friendly and welcoming, the food was lovely, home cooked and we'll presented. The room was clean and had all the facilities available. No complaints at all. A bit of a walk from the town and sea, but stunning views as you meander.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillywildwoman
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please contact us direct next time you would like a bargain break , as we always have special deals available to returning guests.

middlesbrough
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with a Groupon deal so really can't complain for 49 quid. Our room (8)was very spacious and had lots of cupboard and wardrobe space if staying longer. We only stayed one night. Had an excellent night sleep. Beds and pillows very comfy. Very quiet too. Only complaint would be that we couldn't shower as it was either boiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenanddave_10
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please contact us direct next time you would like a bargain break , as we always have special deals available to returning guests.

kingston upon hull
Reviewed 30 November 2015

My wife & I plus our 2 friends stayed overnight at The Maynard Hotel. .The hotel was very well situated for our visit to the Spa,the cliff lift being just a short distance away.We found the hotel & the owners to be very good indeed & the food we had was also very good.I can only endorse all the positive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trevarna
StuWalker, Owner at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please contact us direct next time you would like a bargain break , as we always have special deals available to returning guests.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
315 reviews
0.0 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
396 reviews
0.4 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#46 of 184 in Scarborough
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#21 of 184 in Scarborough
118 reviews
1.5 km away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#27 of 184 in Scarborough
134 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay House
Bay House
#47 of 184 in Scarborough
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM299 - RM446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maynard staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Maynard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room we have stayed in 1 this time a double. cannot remeber the room from our last visit,but even that was great”
 of 5 bubbles kantilafti, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not suitable for people with mobility problems as there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles H2662BHjamest, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't think there are any bad ones”
 of 5 bubbles HalifaxThespian, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 is very nice but right at the top of the hotel, best avoided if you can't climb many stairs”
 of 5 bubbles OurHolsAreFab, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 4 and 5 have no soundproofing so when used together give no privacy”
 of 5 bubbles redmin, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5