We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mount Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mount Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 318: English reviews
Start your review of The Mount Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bar drinks snacks food dining here is excellent rooms are delightfully furnished as our the bedrooms ive seen. The bar room has good choice of drinks and good dining room choices of food on menus there is parking outside and rooms have good views at front as well as hotel is in very quiet area near centre of town but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Simmo S
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simones, Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on here and I am so pleased to see you had a lovely experience troughout. See you again soon. All the best. R. Ramirez General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Mount for Afternoon Tea & it was superb. Sandwiches were fresh, varied, & beautifully presented & the pastries a medley of home-made mini works of art - just perfect in size to enable a taste of everything without being overfaced. Delicious scones & individual chocolate mousses were also included. We received outstandingly friendly, attentive service plus the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, What a lovely review and I am so pleased you and your Mum & Father had great afternoon Tea with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Mount Hotel soon. Best Wishes R. Ramirez General Manager

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After the swearing receptionist finally got her computer working we booked in only to find parking was an extra £3 per day. The decor and service is out of date, but that is a sign of the times at these seaside destinations that nobody wants as much as they did years ago. The breakfast was just amazing and maybe the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m3ajg
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Use, Thank you for your review and contructive comments it is always nice to see where we can learn and inprove our service and great to see although there were a couple of issues that overall you had a nice stay with us. I would like to assure you that that this will no happen again and hope to...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Just had the worst lunch ever at The Mount. Hope this is a one off as for many years have had excellent food and service. My friends and I are not abandoning The Mount after one bad meal but will do so if the food doesn't not improve to its usual good standard. After complaining about the beef and fish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry R
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, Thank you for your review . It's a shame you felt your Sunday lunch was not up to your expectations. After I took the extra effort and time to discuss this with you I have found your comments on Trip Advisor to be extremely upsetting as I thought this had all been dealt with in the house!. All...

Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Bit of a strange review this as we did not actually stay at the hotel BUT their kindness and consideration must be noted and applauded. From the other reviews seen I'm sure we would have enjoyed our stay, perhaps next time. Thank you Janine et al.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pipmasters
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janine, Thank you strange review, however we all love to see you son and look after you here at the Mount Hotel next time. Kind Regards R. Ramirez General Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Just spent a couple of days here, what a find, such a wonderful hotel. Fantastic views, great location, and a comfortable bed, what could one ask more for, but it didn't stop there, hospitality second to none, the staff couldn't do enough for you. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a while. I would certainly stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank friley1970
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Friley 1970, Thank you for your lovely review of the food and staff, it is pleasure to read positive comments and have feedback from our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspect of your stay with us. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Best wishes R Ramirez General Manager

UK
Reviewed 1 February 2017

My second visit to this lovely gem of a hotel, perfect for my business trip. A full hearty breakfast set me up perfectly for my business meeting followed by a peaceful sleep in my delightful room. Thank you again to all the staff of The Mount Hotel for making my brief stay so comfortable and I look very forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TashR76
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TashR76, I was delighted that you returned to Th Mount Hotel and I am pleased that we were able to prove how seriously we take our guests' views and work to correct our mistakes whenever necessary. Our guests are our ambassadors and it is rewarding to hear that you will be pleased to recommend and return to, us in...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Around 18 of us visited the hotel for Sunday lunch, having frequently visited in the past. Each of us were looking forward to the Christmas lunch, only to be absolutely horrified and appalled by the quality, quantity and service of the food. Having preordered our courses, presumably to make the process easier for the staff, we were served our starter....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your meal on Sunday. I was disappointed to read about the difficulties you experienced with several aspects of your Sunday lunch. First and foremost may I say how sorry I am that you should have left the hotel less than satisfied with the services you had received....

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

3 Wonderful nights at the Mount, The breakfast is the best hotel one in Scarborough freshly cooked to order, Served in lovely dining room with fabulous views over the sea, First visit , look forward to many more visits in the near future, Big thanks to General Manager and very friendly staff, Well worth a visit,,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajack2016
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, What a lovely review, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are trilled you had a lovely stay with us. I would like to thank you in particular to the comments in relation to the standard of our Breakfast which have been passed onto the kitchen brigade. I hope you have the opportunity...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The Mount hotel is well maintained, clean and very comfortable, with 3 separate lounges to choose from for a relaxing quiet read or drink from the bar. We had one of the suite bedrooms, with a spectacular view over the south bay. Our stay was during November, but the hotel was still warm and cosy. Breakfast was good and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven e
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steve E, It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met and exceed our guest expectations and I would like to thank you for your kind comments. Our guests are our best ambassadors and it is rewarding to hear that you will be pleased to recommend, and return to us in the future. Kind Regards R....

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Single Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
The Morris Room (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,648 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
566 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
606 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
4.8 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM344 - RM749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mount Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
eastmids
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite well worth the extra.”
stevene623, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask or pay for a sea view”
julieF21, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms higher up on the seaward side have a great view of the coast.”
965MarkS, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a sea view room, worth the extra”
580FrankF, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a larger room as there seems to substantial variation for the same price”
Inghamlady, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5