We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mount Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mount Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 313: English reviews
Start your review of The Mount Hotel
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent a couple of days here, what a find, such a wonderful hotel. Fantastic views, great location, and a comfortable bed, what could one ask more for, but it didn't stop there, hospitality second to none, the staff couldn't do enough for you. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a while. I would certainly stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank friley1970
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Friley 1970, Thank you for your lovely review of the food and staff, it is pleasure to read positive comments and have feedback from our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspect of your stay with us. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Best wishes R Ramirez General Manager

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My second visit to this lovely gem of a hotel, perfect for my business trip. A full hearty breakfast set me up perfectly for my business meeting followed by a peaceful sleep in my delightful room. Thank you again to all the staff of The Mount Hotel for making my brief stay so comfortable and I look very forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TashR76
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TashR76, I was delighted that you returned to Th Mount Hotel and I am pleased that we were able to prove how seriously we take our guests' views and work to correct our mistakes whenever necessary. Our guests are our ambassadors and it is rewarding to hear that you will be pleased to recommend and return to, us in...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Around 18 of us visited the hotel for Sunday lunch, having frequently visited in the past. Each of us were looking forward to the Christmas lunch, only to be absolutely horrified and appalled by the quality, quantity and service of the food. Having preordered our courses, presumably to make the process easier for the staff, we were served our starter....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your meal on Sunday. I was disappointed to read about the difficulties you experienced with several aspects of your Sunday lunch. First and foremost may I say how sorry I am that you should have left the hotel less than satisfied with the services you had received....

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

3 Wonderful nights at the Mount, The breakfast is the best hotel one in Scarborough freshly cooked to order, Served in lovely dining room with fabulous views over the sea, First visit , look forward to many more visits in the near future, Big thanks to General Manager and very friendly staff, Well worth a visit,,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajack2016
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, What a lovely review, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are trilled you had a lovely stay with us. I would like to thank you in particular to the comments in relation to the standard of our Breakfast which have been passed onto the kitchen brigade. I hope you have the opportunity...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The Mount hotel is well maintained, clean and very comfortable, with 3 separate lounges to choose from for a relaxing quiet read or drink from the bar. We had one of the suite bedrooms, with a spectacular view over the south bay. Our stay was during November, but the hotel was still warm and cosy. Breakfast was good and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven e
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steve E, It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met and exceed our guest expectations and I would like to thank you for your kind comments. Our guests are our best ambassadors and it is rewarding to hear that you will be pleased to recommend, and return to us in the future. Kind Regards R....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We arrived here early 11.30 to be exact and so we told the reception we was here not expecting it to be ready but the lovely receptionist told us we could go straight up to our room. The room was a sea view, which I had booked and the views were fabulous. A bit dated but that made it so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieF21
Management response:

Dear Julie F21, What a lovely review. Thank you for takingthe time to post your comments and we are trilled you had a lovely stay with us. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon andplease bring Tillie with you. Kind Regards R. Ramirez General Manager

UK
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Firstly the hotel is perfectly located to allow you to head to the shops or simply take a casual stroll on the promenade. The staff and all of the management of the hotel where 5 star and we had the most delicious breakfast with exquisite cutlery and beautiful tea pots to match! All in all a great stay, our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TashR76
Management response:

Dear User Tash 76, Wow, what a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on here. We have built a strong reputation for excellent customer service and the quality of our food to ensure all our guests have a very enjoyable visit to The Mount Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

My review will echo a number of others, namely the Mount Hotel is well located in regards to the tourist sites of Scarborough and many of the rooms have a great view of the coast. On the other hand, the Mount Hotel is much like many old-fashioned British seaside hotels namely that it has seen better days and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Management response:

Dear User, Thank you for your lovely comment and taking the time to post your review, yes we are planing some-time next year to up grade our rooms, I look forward to welcoming you to The Mount Hotel again in the future. Kind Regards R. Ramirez General Manager

Reviewed 5 October 2016

This hotel has outstanding views over the bay and bridge.Easy access to the pavilion for entertainment at a conference. This hotel has old fashioned style and prides itself on the service provided. Easy access via lift to most bedrooms. Extensive lounges with views over the Bay which make it an ideal meeting point to meet, gossip and celebrate. Parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
Management response:

Dear User, What a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on here.We have built a strong reputation for excellent customer service and the quality of our food to ensure all our guests have a very enjoyable visit to The Mount Hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a night whilst attending a convention. Really easy check in and our room was lovely and spacious (room 22). It had a beautiful view over to the sea. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable but a little soft for us. Breakfast was somewhat chaotic. Ken was charging around as there were too many people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Management response:

Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding breakfast, son time is very difficult to know the service of breakfast specially when all the guest arrive at the same time. I will be sure we take your comments to ensure this doesn't happen again and hope to see you again at The Mount Hotel in...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Single Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
The Morris Room (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,389 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
557 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
591 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM312 - RM637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mount Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
over a year ago
eastmids
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite well worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles stevene623, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask or pay for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles julieF21, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms higher up on the seaward side have a great view of the coast.”
 of 5 bubbles 965MarkS, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a sea view room, worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles 580FrankF, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a larger room as there seems to substantial variation for the same price”
 of 5 bubbles Inghamlady, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5