We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliffside Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cliffside Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Misterton
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel warm welcome but unfortunately was on top floor (4th) with a 1 year & 5 year grandchildren. Not good parking on limited spaces at hotel. Lovely breakfast but no highchairs. Would go again but not with grandchildren.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Thank you for taking time to post your review at the Cliffside. As your booking was online and last minute, we couldn't offer you an alternative room than on the third floor. But it's pleasing to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and you felt warmly received by us. I am sorry to hear that you won't bring...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Due to Tripadvisors rules I'm a bit late with this second review about our second visit of the year to the Cliffside. Once again we received a warm welcome from hosts Wendy and Paul, with the usual clean rooms with very comfy beds and Paul's now infamous home cooked breakfasts. As usual we had a room with a sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Regards Paul

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Booked a last minute break here as a 50th birthday present for my partner,stayed in room 18, lovely clean room, very friendly owners and staff,and a nice cooked breakfast, granddaughter said it was the best hotel ever, looking forward to our next break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph N
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Cliffside. Were really pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially your granddaughter who can definitely stay again :). We look forward to your next visit to the Cliffside. Many Thanks Paul

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

After driving to Scarborough on the spur of the moment my wife and I set about finding somewhere to stay. We drove to the North Shore and noticed the vacancies sign in the window. We were offered a room for a decent price and in we went. We were shown to our room by the owner who was very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garry w
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for leaving a nice review of your recent stay with us. Were delighted you enjoyed your stay especially the room and Breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to the Cliffside in the near future. Thanks Paul

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Close to where we wanted to be. Stayed one night on top floor. Rooms clean and big. Breakfast fantastic. Good parking. Do this trip once a year. Will defo stay again. Hosts were great # UTB.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThornhillLisa
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Paul #UTB.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

One night stay and had room number 24, lots of stairs to the top floor but well worth it for the beautiful sea view. Room clean and very comfy beds, tea/ coffee in room, and free wifi.Lovely cooked breakfast in the morning, and attentive staff.Parking at the front of the hotel too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty727
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your 1 night break with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Paul

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Just got back from our 1st visit of the year to the Cliffside, this time however instead of just me and my wife, we decided to take our grown up children with us for a change. Once again we received another warm welcome, with a substantial breakfast every morning and a very comfortable bed. Apart from the weather we all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin H
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kevin Thanks again for another wonderful review of your stay at the Cliffside. We look forward to seeing you again in August, hopefully the weather will be better for you. All the best Paul

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Just came back from from Scarbrough, stayed at Cliffside with my husband and our 2 and 5 years old daughters. We liked everything about the B&B, from a bit dated decor, as some would say, to the delicious breakfast every morning. The rooms were nice and clean, and Wendy and Paul are very nice and helpful. The position of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucia M
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer at the Cliffside and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Many Thanks Paul

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

-large hotel with views of North Bay -friendly & helpful owners -comfortable accommodations & good breakfast -good size private car park at front and ideal for the motorcyclist -a pleasant stay while on local mid-week business -highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NICHOLASGILROY
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were pleased with the facilities that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cliffside. Thanks Paul

Reviewed 21 October 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night stay here with our 2 year old son. As you do with small and energetic toddlers I was a little concerned at how we would be welcomed, but we couldn't have felt more invited at Cliffside. The owners Paul and Wendy were great with our little boy, and he enjoyed playing with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leanne1898
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Myself and Wendy are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Paul

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.4 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
18 reviews
1.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,144 reviews
0.6 km away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#41 of 185 in Scarborough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 185 in Scarborough
239 reviews
0.4 km away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 185 in Scarborough
607 reviews
7.7 km away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Cliffside Guest House

Address: 79-81 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffside Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
uk
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea View room is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles Leanne1898, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Seafront rooms have great views - quite a climb if on top-floor (3rd floor) so best to request a lower floor if climbing stairs a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles TrishJ183, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for en suite room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles lonnied160, 16 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view - you will not be disappointed!”
  • Sunset from room
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles heartsfan1874, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Flat comfy shoes a must, Scarborough is hilly.”
 of 5 bubbles SamKirkham, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5