We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Expedia.comUS$42*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
US$42*
US$100*
US$42*
US$100*
US$42*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,161: English reviews
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Stayed at the Grand as part of a National Holidays Coach Tour. Arrived at 5.30pm to be told dinner was at 6pm. Room was on 5th floor but did have a sea view of sorts. Room was basically clean but did need the edges deep cleaning. It was very warm but window only opened a couple of inches. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petercrawf
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Petercrawf Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment which is updating our hotel throughout. All your comments have been taken on board and will be discussed with the relevant teams to improve. We are sorry...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I stayed here for one night as a birthday surprise the entrance is the only thing grand about it . The lift was disgusting dirty and smelly the room was mouldy and the wallpaper was falling down . the head board had fallen down the back of the bed and the dirt mark replaced it . the main sewer pipe...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bizzybizzy44
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear bizzybizzy44 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We take food hygiene extremely seriously within the hotel, as you may have seen we hold a 4 Star Food Hygiene from the local environmental health team. Regular audits are conducted internally and externally to...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Visited for 1 night on a coach trip. The hotel has had its day, it's shabby and tired looking and is in desperate need of a total makeover. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the bathroom, the curtains were hanging off the tracks and the beds were so old and worn it resembled sleeping on a block of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rachel H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Rachel H Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment, we are replacing beds, re-carpeting, flat screen TV's and redecoration in bedrooms and all public areas. We do hope to welcome you back in the near...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

On the outside,The hotel look's great,But once you get inside,What a disappointment.It need's refurbishing throughout.The room I stayed in was appalling, The hotel food just about eatable,Would not recommend this hotel to friend's or family.Should be taken out of holiday brochures.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pauld652015
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear pauld652015 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. Our Harbour Lights restaurant offers amazing views of South Bay Harbour, our best of British menu is designed to cater for our many guests we have within the hotel. The hotel is currently undergoing a...

Malton
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Such a majestic building, but so in need of refurbishment. The view from the verandah is exquisite and is very relaxing. The single rooms are very small and I had to change my room on the 2nd floor as it had no windows, ( very clostrophobic). Everything seems very run down, the carpets leading to the rooms are old and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janainley
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear janainley Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment which is updating our hotel throughout. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so you can experience the enhancements.

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

I booked this break over a month ago I'd read the site properlly and understood there were no windows in the lower area. I new this and the day before I rang up and paid to upgraded to room with a view that I had no problem with as you get what you pay for. I'd picked this hotel as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Simon L Thank you for your review. Another happy guest!, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with the traveller community, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please do say hello to our team so we can thank...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Nice looking olde world hotel from the outside. Inside cheap but very cheerful staff. Paid £89 for 2 adults and 2 children. Glad it was no more. Room dusty. No shower just a bath with hairs from the previous occupants. Hotel in need of a . Lot of money spending on it but probably not worth these days. Ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gazpotts72
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Gazpotts72 Thank you for your review. Britannia Hotels is all about offering great value, in great locations, in addition restoring listed buildings like the Grand Hotel. We continue with our refurbishment across the hotel to enhance our amazing old lady making her available to all. Our team work hard day in day out to ensure we offer amazing service....

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015

In a prime location the Grand Hotel is screaming for refurbishment. I have stayed in tired looking hotels before but this one is tired and dirty. We stayed in a standard twin room, very small and basic but the shower was good. Fortunately we were only there on a B&B basis. The food was horrendous. I did not realise that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra F
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Sandra F Thank you for your review. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the traveller community. The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment, we are replacing beds, re-carpeting, flat screen TV's and redecoration in bedrooms and all public areas. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so you...

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights in this hotel. Really relaxing time. All staff curteous, friendly and helpful. Bedroom very clean. Slept like a log every night. Food good. Not fancy, but then that suits me just fine. Would definitely go back. Really enjoyable time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank medsecy1
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear medscey1 Thank you for your review. It certainty sounds like you had an amazing holiday experience with us and were about to fully relax during your break. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the traveller community. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Booked a superior double room at the Grand Hotel for a few days but was given anything but superior, the room was a small double down 3 flights of stairs, the sea view was very good, the room was clean nice and comfortable but not the superior spacious room I was expecting disappointed me. Meals were average and the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eddie B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Eddie B Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. Due to the Victorian nature of the hotel all our bedrooms vary in shape size and design and location within the hotel. We are glad to read you had an amazing sea view room....

2,187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2059)
Viewed
Room/Suite (405)
Viewed
Bathroom (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (419)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (103)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (916)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,327 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,747 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
817 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM199 - RM653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
122 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (122)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel has many inside rooms with no windows so if you can book online or phone and book this way you can choose the room you want.”
  • balconey
  • big double room
  • huge bathroom
  • double room with a balconey
748davep, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Insist on windows to get rid of any unwanted smells from previous occupants. Fresh sheets might be an idea too, think I might have Scabies”
6stuartp, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else...”
  • This is how the bed was made, I only removed 2 red pillows
  • Ah! The mould and hair in the bathroom tiles. I didn't shower that night!
  • Mould in the bathroom tiles, almost all the bathroom tiles were like this
  • Another mould patch.
  • Rusty toilet roll holder
  • Mould in our room
  • This spider is alive and kicking and is near the shower tap.
  • The - fossil probably- of a dead spider in the cupboard
martsiak, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“dont bother”
C4874HRmariem, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“sea views are lovely”
minx59, 18 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$42* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$42
PricelineUS$42
HotelQuicklyUS$100
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates